Whitehall Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

Nelson's birthplace. We have stayed here a couple of times before and will be happy to come again. Situated close to Holkham Hall, it is very peaceful and the upgraded showers and toilets are very good and it's great to have good wifi. The grass is kept well shorn. The owners have clearly made a lot of effort to improve the facilities and we appreciate it. The Whitehall Box breakfast baps were excellent. The Lord Nelson pub in the village has reopened at long last and there are a number of good eateries nearby in Burnham Market, Wells-next-the-Sea and elsewhere and plenty of places selling good quality food - fish, meat, vegetables.

Corkym

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/06/2021 20:42

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and well situated.

Peaceful. Beautiful location if you like countryside, the Norfolk coast, walking, and cycling. Superb facilities too - all very new. We enjoyed two nights here in our motor home. We walked to the coast, and cycled to Burnham Market. Didn't meet anyone officially when we arrived, but gave them a call, and they just said "pitch where you like". Very clean and well kept. No complaints. Fresh water so easy to get to, and toilet disposal also very handy. Geese and ducks coming in to land both evenings. Worth an idyllic short walk to Nelson's birth place. Useful information board too. Would recommend this site to anyone.

J and K

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/05/2021 17:05

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Relaxed and peaceful.

No complaints. This is a quite CL in glorious North Norfolk. The owners were themselves away on holiday but all our correspondence was dealt with by a family member who was holding the fort. Before our arrival we were told to pitch we we chose, and as it happened we were the last of 5 to get there. Grass pitches with plenty of space between each hook up. Single fresh water standpipe in the field but easy to park next to in order to fill the motorhome tank. Discreet chemical disposal point in the corner of the field. We enjoyed 3 nights here and would stay again.

BetsyBago321

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/04/2021 16:46

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil spot of Norfolk

Stayed here from Sept 4-7, 2020, and was pleasantly surprised. As it was a last minute booking I was not able to get on the CL part of the site but with a good leisure battery and a solar panel my VWT6 had all the power I needed. Camping in the main field with the tents, glamping pods and mini cabins etc also made mixing with other campers easy even in those social distancing times. The site owners had antivax dispensers everywhere and the toilets, showers and wash areas were immaculate. Unlike some of the other reviewers we found the staff very helpful and friendly and the addition of the Whitehall Box where you can buy a cooked breakfast bap and a homemade curry with chips in the evening was the answer to a first day hunger after setting up Under the threat of rain clouds. The owners also rent out portable fire pits which were a good idea with the dodgy summer weather. Locally Burnham Thorpe parsonage is Nelson’s birthplace. The position of the site made it perfect for walking into Burnham Market, which we strolled in 30 minutes picking blackberries along the way and the nearby bridle paths made walking with a dog easy. The Victoria pub at New Holkham was within walking distance as was the fantastic beach. The views from the main camping field of the surrounding countryside were magnificent and the resident horses and a large owl added to the atmosphere. Every night we had the added sound and sight of the flights of geese coming in to settle for the night. We will definitely be back.

Konparde

Campervanner

Reviewed on 07/09/2020 19:07

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointing.

Stayed for 2 nights in May. Site was very quiet, just 2 units on the CL. At this time of year the campsite was nearly empty - so we had to give it 5 stars for peace and tranquility. Other reviews have mentioned the disruption from campers, they have to access their field via a track that is very close to the CL so it could be very noisy. Website stated that the CL has exclusive use of a toilet and shower (next to the farmhouse) this is not the case as people from the stables also use this. The website does not mention a £1 per night charge for dogs, only found about this when the invoice arrived. The photograph is rather misleading, there are no views from this site at caravan level - a barn on one side, brick wall on the other, tall hedge towards road and finally the access road to the tent camp site and another large barn. Expensive with the additional costs for children, dogs etc. When I paid by debit card (full amount) I was told to come into the farmhouse when we arrived, when I did this the owner was indifferent to say the least, just told to go and pitch up. It would have been nice to have been told where the facilities were, the toilet was right next door to the farmhouse front door and I had to ask her if it was the CL toilet. I would not have gone wandering round the farmhouse area looking for the shower/toilet. There is a block of 4 other toilets at the back of the barn, we found these later, these are much closer to the CL, but would have been busy had there been more tents. Access roads to the site are very narrow. We only stay on site at night, we are out during the day in the camper van, so it had all we needed, but we have stayed on much better sites & at cheaper prices. Would we stay here again - not sure.

DaveSueS

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/05/2019 13:05

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

getting too busy

We have been coming to this cl for years and loved it. Recently a field has been opened to campers and it is now just too busy and noisy. The campers have to drive along side of the cl field to get to their pitches and they travel well above a 5 mph limit. The route is gravel so very noisy and the toilet and showers are over run at weekends and during the summer.  It was a fabulous site but we are now looking for somewhere else in the area that would suit us better. The owners have never been very sociable or available but I think it is because they are too busy. Such a pity because it was one of our favourite sites.??

colnanne

Caravanner from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 15/09/2015 21:07

4 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Sadly not what it was !!!!

Having visited this site over a number of years we were very disappointed that the need to earn a living from the land has taken over from running a quiet little CL. The CL is just inside the farm entrance with all the farm and visitor traffic passing by, not a problem out of season but our last visit there was 6 Caravans on the CL and a further 48 pitches and Glamping pods in a field through the farm (50m from the CL) with every mix of unit but mainly campers who put enormous demand on the 4 showers and 4 toilets, sadly the new toilets they installed were of a portacabin nature and not new. There is also a Farm Stay B&B run from the farmhouse and a livery / stabling business in the barns. Out of season I'm sure this would still be a great place to stay but avoid during the school holidays and hot summer weekends. As others have noted the warm reception from Val has sadly gone as they struggle to keep all the balls in the air. I note that it has gone up again and is now £16/night which frankly makes it too expensive !!!

GrahamT

Caravanner from Norfolk

Reviewed on 26/01/2015 22:03

7 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Getting expensive

Went to this site last year and went on the rear where the views are excellent but that is for none members and they have built pods there now. Stayed on the official CL.The view was very poor with barns, a grain silo and the toilets being our view with a small gap to the open country. The CL would be very quiet and peaceful at certain times of the year and was during the week but at weekend the non CL site gets packed (there were 30-40 tents and vans there) and the toilets and showers are shared between the cl and the non cl. There was a lot of noise from someone riding a motor bike , and on the Saturday low flying planes, non stop from a field more or less next door. The site was £12 last year with ehu and toilets and showers but has now gone up to £14. We parked infront of the hedge and were inundated with earwigs. The site is flat. It will be our last visit.

LyntonGarth

Reviewed on 15/09/2013 16:44

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good site shame about the welcome

Unfortunately we got the impression that Mrs Southerland did not have any time for us and we were just left to be shown round by one of the campers which was fine as she was running late but there was no further communication. She runs a very busy operation but is not very welcoming. Such a shame as the area and facilities of the site are very good

denmer

Reviewed on 30/05/2013 10:25

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

England Expects!

The location of this CL is a haven for 'Nelson' admirers. Situated 1mile past The Lord Nelson pub in Burnham Thorpe with single lane approach road. Quite isolated and quiet. The site itself is lawned, with some limited HS available just off the CL. Showers, toilets are available and recycling is very good. The Lord Nelson pub is 10 minute walk away and a must for Nelson aficionados - but it is a shame it does not do more to sell itself. The food is excellent. Across the road is the church where Nelson was christened and his father worked as the rector. Lots of history here. Overall: Nice tidy site, nice views and yes, we would re visit if in the area. Thank you.

Seymour

Motorhomer from Devon

Reviewed on 23/09/2012 16:26

51 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer