Whitehead Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

This is a really nice CL The pitch is flat (it's the Fens after all!) and each unit has a private water supply. Site entrance is wide enough even for large units without having awkward turns. Lovely dog walking area at the site (just grass, but planted up with trees, and ideal for the early morning outing). Very welcoming host, with a lovely fruit and veg stall at the entrance. In general, we found dog walking (trails and tracks) in this area very poor, and had to go to March or Chatteris before we could find something decent. The old railway line at Chatteris is perfect. Very handy location for bird watching at Welney, or a bit further away at Wicken Fen (we spent a full day there and say loads, including a Bittern). Ely is worth a visit; Wisbech is not! Just beware that the roads in this part of the world are terrible, as they are built on peat, so it's like a rollercoaster. Tie your crockery down well! Lovely site, lovely host, we would happily come back.

jimwillsher

Reviewed on 06/05/2022 11:58

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Whitehead Farm CL

This is one of the nicest CL’s we can remember staying at. Jackie was lovely when we arrived, very welcoming. Incredible night sky! Lovely peaceful well equipped site. Great to have water at each pitch. Would definitely recommend. Thank you Jackie

ralphandshirley

Reviewed on 08/11/2021 19:41

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We'll be back.

This was only our second CL after a disappointing first one a few months ago. There is nothing bad to say about Whitehead Farm or John and Jackie. Every other review is correct. Huge site with all the facilities you need. John and Jackie are very welcoming and friendly without being overbearing or intrusive. We will definitely be returning.

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site, Lovely People

Stayed on this CL for one week. One of the friendliest sites we have ever been too. Immaculately well kept and the owners extremely friendly and accommodating. Definitely will be returning.

Simmons46500

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2021 18:21

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delightful

A late booking so we were lucky and much appreciated quick response from Jackie. In 15 yrs of staying on CLs, the welcome , help and information has to be one of our best experiences so our thanks to both John and Jackie for what be turned out to be a little eventful. Beautifully kept site, quiet and a specially assigned paddock for dog walking. Highly recommended CL

Glen Hodkinson

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 23:58

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

I can’t believe this site isn’t permanently full!

Having had to cancel our original holiday at the last minute due to covid, we desperately looked to find somewhere, anywhere, that would allow us to have a fortnight family holiday and we did some research but www.clbooking.co.uk/ came to the rescue and we found a site that fitted most of our criteria admittedly in an area we wouldn’t have initially chosen but we decided to give it a go and we were not disappointed! While the local roads are not great for towing (some of the minor roads are unbelievably bumpy) the site itself is open, spacious, well-maintained with grass kept like a lawn, each of the pitches has its own water tap, and with grey waste going into the hedge it was like a bargain service pitch! There was some road noise from the A1101 but mainly farm traffic but wasn’t obtrusive - it was in August in the Fen Country! There is also no light pollution making star gazing on clear nights very good! There is an adjacent dog walk/childrens adventure field for pets and kids to let off steam. The pitch in itself isn’t small so you don’t feel on top of each other anyway and whilst there aren’t far reaching views, you can see over several fields so it’s sheltered but doesn’t feel claustrophobic. The owners, John and Jackie are so friendly and instantly made us and the children feel very welcome. They are on hand (and sell locally produced delicious sausages!) but are in no way intrusive. This site really has so much going for it that I was so surprised that for our 14 night stay there were never more than 3 units on site - in fact for the last few days it was just us and the owner’s daughter and her family! The family were very easy to get on with too so adults and kids all made new friends. We are all looking forward to visiting again in the future. A sensibly priced awesome site for families and well worth a visit.

tadhatter

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/08/2021 17:42

9 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just what we wanted

We have had a relaxing and peaceful stay. As the week has been very hot we have not moved far. The sheep have kept us company and we helped Jackie and John to move them. The field is level well mown with its own water tap and very spacious. The little veg stall is useful and our dog has enjoyed the off lead field. We have walked a little of banks of the Middle Level Drain when cooler. Otters and kingfishers are about if you are lucky enough to see them. Russell Butchers stock great meat and other delicacies. Jackie has just started an Airbnb so you could have great family get togethers. Very friendly hosts and the CL ifeels very secure.

SallyV

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 11:38

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Last minute find

We at to change our plans at the last minute due to arrival of a new grandson ,tried the new cl booking site and came across this little gem only booked the week before . Arrived on the Thursday and the owner was waiting for me with gate open a nice wide entrance a friendly greeting and told we could pitch were we wanted as only ones on for the weekend. Why we were the only ones on is other people’s loss as water to every pitch A nice level field with sheep next door , a big field behind to walk dogs the owners are very friendly but leave you in peace but there if you need them .they do own a Airbnb next door so added advantage if want non caravaners to join you . Plenty of places to visit downham market is a attractive little town and we found a nice walk down a old railway line at March a few miles away . A lovely relaxing weekend.

spam58

Reviewed on 05/07/2021 09:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We thought it a hidden gem

We were seeking a good base for Geocaching in Downham Market and the surrounding area, Whitehead farm ticked all the boxes. John and Jackie were very welcoming and were full of local knowledge, always ready to answer any questions we might have and generally make it a lovely three week stay with them. The large lawned site is well maintained, water to each pitch with electric hook ups at hand. The waste disposal point is very hygienic with hand sanitizer strategically placed as required. The information shed has local maps, books and games and suggested trips out if that’s your thing. The dog walk is a pooches paradise so a Cockapoo told us. Sensible pricing and the location brought us here, we certainly hope to be back sometime in the near future. Almost forgot to mention the farm shop here! The sausages are delicious and we timed our stay nicely for the delicious asparagus too.

mallykay

from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 18:53

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just as good

Just spent another week at this lovely site. As always, the welcome from Jackie and John cannot be faulted. The weather was glorious, the amount of birdsong was unbelievable and the piece and quiet was just what we needed. The site is as immaculate as ever and the "dog walk" was much appreciated. A map around it would have been helpful but it was manageable with my sat nav. The dog loved it too. (Private joke). We have stayed here a number of times and cannot fault it. If you want to stay in Fenland, give it a try. You won't regret it. Thanks for the loan of the household appliance, we will see you again as soon as we can. Steve, Jackie and Blue

shadwell

Caravanner from Pembrokeshire

Reviewed on 06/06/2021 11:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer