Woodstock

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful location on edge of St Albans

I’ve used this site several times over the years as it’s it’s peaceful yet on the edge of the city. It has a lot of charm and Chris and the owners make you feel very welcome.

Smiley61

Motorhomer from Middlesex

Reviewed on 09/08/2020 10:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Improving slowly

This is the only viable CL at or near St Albans. We have stayed several times. It has been rather neglected and the entrance is rather narrow with tatty sheds and overhanging branches. The field is large and sloping but manageable for levelling with blocks. Once set up it is a good quiet spacious site on the edge of the city so it is a good base for a short stay. The good news is that the owner is now actively starting to clear the entrance. It’s early days so far but he has good intentions. We will continue to use the CL because it is handy for our visits and hope to see continued improvement.

RichieV

Reviewed on 25/07/2020 21:05

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

pleasant stay as a stopover

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way further south - really convenient for the A1. It reminded me of CLs we used to stay on may years ago - a field that had been cut, with water & loo disposal. (grey water into the hedge) The site does have a slope & most pitching areas (lots of choice) will need levelling blocks. We were advised to pitch nose pointing down the slope (we are a motorhome) in case there was heavy rain. This was to reduce amount of manouvering in wet conditions. Whilst we were there it was dry and filed seemed well drained. There was plenty of room - far more spacious than your average Club site. 5 outfits on filed whilst we were there. The track from the road up to the CL field at the top is a bit rough in places, and a bit narrow through one or two old gateways. But mostly it is paved with paving slabs, so easier than on grass. There are some rundown outbuildings near the entrance, and there was some rubbish near the bins that needed clearing up. The site is run by two different people - and arrangements are a bit haphazard - but it works! And this is a CL, not a Club site. Really handy for St Albans - bus every 20 mins from near entrance - takes about 25 mins to get in to city - lots to see. We were there on a market day (Wednesday & Saturday, I think), which was great. A bit of non-intrusive aircraft noise - but otherwise really quiet.

hja

Motorhomer from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 12/07/2019 20:50

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not Up to The Usual Standards

The site is well elevated above the surrounding St Albans greenbelt. Access to the A1 north is good but the A1 south access to London is messy. The field itself is a tight squeeze with five motorhomes/vans on site as the emptying point ,dustbins and water tap take up he whole of one corner. Upon arrival you are greeted with a message to call at the bungalow. The friendly host told us about all amenities and I paid him up front as we were only staying for the three nights. The access from the arrival point to the top field consists of going up a slabbed track which is narrow in places with many broken slabs causing pot holes. The access is very untidy with a few caravans not part of the CL. Not a great first impression. The host came over as we were leaving to say goodbye but I was not impressed when he made out that we had not yet paid him for our stay ! The whole experience is not what we would expect from a site appearing on the Motorhome and Caravan Club website.

andydriver61b

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/10/2018 13:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

perfect, just perfect!

If, like me, you travel a lot then you will appreciate that living in a caravan for one or two weeks at a time can be awful if the conditions are wrong, like noise, no electric hook-up and not too welcoming a host, well this is one of the best cl sites I have ever had the pleasure to stay at and I cannot understand the gripes that others have left. This is quiet, convenient, well kept and the people there are fantastic, accommodating and genuinely nice people. You should go nowhere else if you need to be near to St Albans.

ianoneill

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 05/09/2018 13:54

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A handy site to visit St. Albans

Directions to site easy to follow. Entrance OK, be very careful driving up the made up track it has broken slabs and a few pot holes. First expressions when driving onto site are what a mess, piles of rubbish and derelict sheds and greenhouses etc.One of our pet hates is the grass has been cut but not picked up, and it ends up in the caravan. A quite site. I have said this ever time NO NOTICE BOARD FOR EMERGENCY SERVICES. You can catch the bus to St Albans across the road to site every 20 minutes the other side to Hatfield,Welwyn garden City. We do feel that this site is not worth £14 a night.

Hat2til

Reviewed on 27/04/2017 14:18

20 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet and convenient

Very friendly reception which continued throughout our stay. Excellent location within very easy reach of A1M and M25 as well as St Albans city centre. Site is basic but has the required facilities and is very spacious and delighfully peaceful. Will have no hesitation in staying here again when next need access to London.

pedropickering

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/10/2016 16:13

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

our 1st cl

This was our 1st cl site and it was a lovely site. we stayed for a wedding in Enfield and was easy to get to...would definatly stay again

sadon09

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/09/2014 14:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good for visits to London

We stayed on this site for 5 nights we discovered on arrival that the owner was away on holiday but his family (father, sister and son) were very helpful. We agreed with other reviewers that the driveway up to the field was a little narrow and that the trees and bushes alongside the drive needed trimming as they caught on the caravan as we were driving up to the field. Ideal for travelling into London, we went from Cockfosters Tube Station it took about 15mins to get to the station with plenty of parking close by. Lots of other interesting local attractions, St Albans was a pleasant surprise would like to spend longer there, the market on Wednesday was a delight, gave the City a real buzz. Agreed with other reviewers that the site could do with a bit of a tidy up but this would not stop us booking again.

mevihedi

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/08/2014 22:50

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

London by tube… seriously!

I stayed for 4 nights as a base for central London. Its 20 minutes drive to Cockfosters.  OK, I know that High Barnet (Northern Line) is nearer… but I wanted the Piccadilly Line and the parking at Cockfosters is cheap at the weekend (£2.00 all day Sat. and £1.50 Sun.).  Tubes run every 3 minutes. Access is easy from the road to the top field and the view is worth the climb.  The ground was wet when we arrived but no problem on front wheel drive across the grass.  Four days (of torrential rain) later I could only move the ’van off the grass with the mover. Much is made of a mover’s ability to squeeze a van into small spaces… but the ability to drive through a bog (well, nearly) is even more impressive.  It saves you the necessity of shelling out for a 4WD. The site facilities (hook-up, water, waste) are well positioned and easy to use… a bit eccentric (chemical waste) perhaps, but its always interesting to see the imaginative ways that CL owners make provision. Even in the rain the areas around the taps/waste pipe remained firm underfoot.  ’Phone reception for Vodaphone and 3 were first rate; I didn’t try the telly. There was a bit of aeroplane noise.. Stanstead?  Luton?  I don’t know – but it didn’t bother me.  More interesting was the donkey in the next field. He had quite a lot to say each morning.  It was the week before Christmas, so maybe he was rehearsing his lines for the nativity play. Would I go again… definite yes.  

Vernon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/12/2013 22:03

21 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer