Woolpack Inn

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Gone downhill

This was a return visit to this site. Convenient location snd lots to do locally. Unfortunately the site has gone downhill. There is a large colony of rabbits which whilst cute to look at have made the site very rutted with mini pot holes everywhere. There are a couple of units on site which look permanent and the old pub garden has been left to rot. The other pub garden is ok and the owners friendly. I probably wouldn’t return.

Tintopper

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2021 10:19

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely pub and garden, large field site

Spent one night here and it is worth considering a few nights, possible in future. Large field site with 6 electric points, slightly uneven but we did manage to get a spot for our campervan where we didnt need to level it. Some road noise but not more than most. Toilet facility available. Basic, convenient site, located owner in pub, friendly. Lovely pub garden and food looked great! If you visit in august mon-wed they are in the eat out to help out initiative :)

Yachtiewest

Reviewed on 07/08/2020 12:36

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

OK - good value for the money

Easy access and the pub food was good. Owners friendly. As other reviews, the facilities were adequate. But, the field is not level, lots of holes and bumps. We Eventually found a flat piece and didn't need our levelling blocks but the caravan was at an odd angle. The toilet was attached to the pub but not a walk you would want to do in the dark. Had to ask where the rubbish went. Although the owners were friendly they didn't explain the facilities and no leaflets of what to do or see.

Owletts

Reviewed on 01/10/2019 17:07

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

So-so

A previous review mentioned a large field behind the site, I think this is slightly misleading. The site is in a large field, but there is no separate area for exercising dogs. We arrived on a Monday, when the pub doesn't open, so we didn't see anybody until I went in to pay the fees on the Tuesday, and then we didn't see anybody again before we left. The site is not quite as level as it looks, but levelling the van was no great problem. There were six outfits on site one night, but the field is big enough to take dozens. The path to the toilet takes you through the beer garden, which was not cleared up at night, so there were glasses left on the tables and a high-chair left out overnight. Having said all that, £12 a night is not bad, but we'd think twice about going again.

LexiLexi

Reviewed on 30/07/2018 13:27

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

will return again

charming pub with excellent food at reasonable prices. nice large field with electric hookup. great value for money. 1st Sunday of the month they have a classic car meeting. unfortunately we had to leave before it started but will return to see it and have another good meal in the pub

mrhthebear

Motorhomer from Essex

Reviewed on 01/07/2018 19:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic!!

This site is absolutely fabulous. It is flat, very spacious, great welcome, perfect for dogs including a field behind the site. Lovely food at the pub. Water not marked as drinking water. We will definitely be back!

emmax001

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 09/09/2017 17:44

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best weekend ever!

The location was easy to find with easy access to the field. Sign-in and payment was easy via the pub. I believe the site only accepts up to 5 caravans/campers but not tents so it was really quiet. Went with friends so had two caravans on site and were able to pitch wherever suited us both with electric hook up. The site is not overlooked at all and safe for our dogs. It's basic with just an outside loo ( attached to the pub), water tap and electric and although we have a dry caravan it was absolutely fine. Ate in the pub on Saturday night and was great food and only had to walk a couple of yards and obviously could take the dogs too. They had a big bowl of water outside for dogs. Close to Teapot Island where we went for a good walk along the river and had tea and ice cream when we came back. Would not hesititate to recommend the site or to go back ourselves. Fantastic value for money.

TansyFlower

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/07/2017 12:38

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best weekend ever!

The location was easy to find with easy access to the field. Sign-in and payment was easy via the pub. I believe the site only accepts up to 5 caravans/campers but not tents so it was really quiet. Went with friends so had two caravans on site and were able to pitch wherever suited us both with electric hook up. The site is not overlooked at all and safe for our dogs. It's basic with just an outside loo ( attached to the pub), water tap and electric and although we have a dry caravan it was absolutely fine. Ate in the pub on Saturday night and was great food and only had to walk a couple of yards and obviously could take the dogs too. They had a big bowl of water outside for dogs. Close to Teapot Island where we went for a good walk along the river and had tea and ice cream when we came back. Would not hesititate to recommend the site or to go back ourselves. Fantastic value for money.

TansyFlower

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/07/2017 12:38

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good location and food

Spent 4 nights here over Easter weekend. Pleased the parking has changed so much easier to get in and out. The site is fairly flat so minimal adjusting. We had a lovely meal on Saturday night so booked again for Sunday.

lunar530

Reviewed on 01/05/2017 20:07

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very pleasant week

Have just spent a very good week at this CL. Very friendly welcome. Easy to visit surrounding places of interest. Pub serving great food with a warm welcome from landlord, staff and locals alike. Highly recommend. Only one point that should be mentioned, if you arrive when pub is open cars in cark park can hinder entrance to site, but just pop in and that will be quickly sorted!!

antinady

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/10/2015 19:06

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer