Wykeham Grange

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

One of the most peaceful sites we have found Good value for money. Yes the road is a little narrow but sight lines and passing places are good. Very friendly Lovely hardstanding pitches with grass for awnings. Need levelling blocks for motorcaravan. Terrific for dogs as Wykeham forest within a few hundred yards with great forest walks. My dogs are worn out. Good Supermarket and petrol station 10 mins away + fish and chips Would recommend Lee's Chinese takeaway in Pickering just 20 mins We hope to return in the Autumn

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice BUT

We have just come back from 1 week at this site, the first time we have visited. The owners were very nice,and didnt over power you, but were there if you needed help. As someone has mentioned the road to the site very narrow, but passing places.We did think however, for the amenities on the site it was a bit overpriced, sorry to say we will not be coming to this site again.

blackpool te-jay

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/09/2017 14:09

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another little gem

What can you say, this CL is amazing! Access is via a 1.5 mile narrowish road with passing places but as with a lot of rural places the people who use the road are courteous. The reception from Karen and her daughter, along with the 10 month old Greyhound, was first class and the hard-standing pitches are long enough so the 26' caravan and car could be parked in line so avoiding obstruction or parking on the grass. The turn into the actual CL is a 90 deg' but the yard is large enough to allow for manoeuvring. The views are spectacular and the loudest noise for most of our stay was the rustling of leaves on the trees, this is helped by the CL being adults only. Good water and waste facilities and the quiet lane at the top of the drive allows for a short walk to Wykeham Forrest to exercise the dogs, perfect. The only minor moan I would make is that at £16.00 per night without any facilities apart from hook-up it is a little on the high side compare to other CL's we have been on. That said we wouldn't rule it out for a second visit.

Janca

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 07/09/2017 15:40

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful location.

Stayed at this CL for 4 nights, wish it could have been longer! A peaceful location with fantastic views. Site was very clean and well maintained. Levelling blocks required, but hard standing pitches made for an easy pitch, and hard ground pegs were used for pegging out the awning. Access to the site from the B road is narrow with passing places, but it was never a problem, as people were very friendly and pulled over if required. The site location is great with easy access to the coast and the open spaces and villages of the North York moors.

CarlGadd

Caravanner from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 31/05/2017 19:13

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An excellent CL

We stayed here for a few days while touring the area. It is an excellent site- well laid out and with wonderful views. A bonus is that it is adults only! As motorhomers the hard standing pitches were most useful. The owners are most helpful.

HerbiesOulFolks

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/05/2017 08:29

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a gem

What a gem!!!!. Don't know why I'm doing this because we might not get on again if they get busy lol!!!??. But a fantastic site lovely couple Karen and Kevin we went in august for three night but immediately we got there asked Karen for first refusal on any cancellations. We were lucky enough to get one but due to work commitments could only extend our stay for an extra night otherwise we would still be there now. Hoping to return very soon

daveywayvey

Reviewed on 22/10/2016 11:15

5 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Worth Considering

We booked 3 nights on this site in May and enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay. The site is easily found from the directions provided and is readily accessible from the main Scarborough/Pickering Road. Sadly the Club 'site search by map' does not show a marker for the site and this should be addressed. The access road is single lane but wider than many and has plenty of passing places. The farm itself is easily seen on approach, the grass is kept short around the entrance which is wide and clearly signed as a CL. The CL area is behind the farm and very quiet. Pitches are well spaced and generally level across their width. Services are close to the pitches, in good condition, and easily identified. Freshest free range eggs we've every had, anywhere! The owners are helpful and very welcoming. They are busy during the day but readily contactable by mobile, if required. TV reception [if your interested] was good. Excellent walks and scenery and well worth a visit

bphil24

Reviewed on 30/07/2016 21:46

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful sight

We recently spent a wonderful 4 days at this beautiful sight. Karen and Kevin were very helpful but not intrusive. Kevin even came and had a look at our water pump inside the caravan as we had a small leak and he advised us on the part we needed. Karen was at hand with any advice we needed and even brought us fresh eggs one morning, shame we had already had breakfast!!  The sight was immaculate with 5 hardstanding pitches with amazing views. The waste disposal area and water points were kept very clean and plenty of recycling bins available. The wildlife around the site was fantastic. Pheasants, rabbits, wagtails were in abundance and we were lucky enough to spot an Osprey circling above us as we sat outside the local pub with a well earned drink after a long hike. The walks from the sight were great. Lots of forest walks and Cayton Bay and Filey only a short drive away for the dog to have a splash in the sea. Karen and Kevin only took over the CL in October and we think it will be a huge success. One small tip for the future would be to have an information box on-sight with local attractions and walks etc from the sight for people who are unsure of the area.    Our dog had a great time as well as us and we will be returning very soon.....cant wait :)  

TONY STEPHENSON

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/05/2016 19:09

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Spot on

A lovely site with very friendly owners. They also run a caravan service and repair shop on site ( no noise though) . Some customers book the site and whilst they are out exploring this wonderful area have the caravan serviced. At the moment a holiday rental is being finished off attached to the main farm . They also have plans to renovate a small out building into a toilet and shower block. Personally In these days when most caravans have them I don't see the point as all what happens is the cost to stay go up which could put people off.  The site is great place to stay and I can now see it getting booked up fast.

Ourmonty

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/03/2016 11:24

29 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super Views

Stopped for seven nights at back end of Easter. Super CS with hardstanding and EHU. Only lack of toilet block stops a 5 star review . Potential new owners may rectify this for next year.Lovely views over the Vale and central for Scarboro ,Filey,Whitby, and Moors and Wolds. Super trip to RSPB Bempton highlight of the week

alhun

Motorhomer from Durham

Reviewed on 17/04/2015 16:36

14 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer