Wymondham Windmill

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil site in a beautiful location

Stayed for a weekend on 25th & 26th March 2017, after a period of some heavy rain. On arrival, we had to find the owner working in the cafe, but she immediately showed us to the pitches. We were the only unit on arrival but had to use a grass pitch as another unit was due to arrive that had booked a hardstanding. This made manoeuvring into a suitable position a little difficult as we were not on one of the "regular" pitches (numbers 1 to 3 look the most level) and our front-wheel drive car did cut up the grass a little ! (Used the motor mover when leaving and it coped fine !) There are plenty of blocks to use under the feet if needed and the groundsman was very helpful, offering to carry them for us. The windmill and its cafe are lovely and the food was well worth trying on one night of our stay (saved me cooking as well !). A lovely site that is well worth visiting. Watch out for the cyclists when travelling to & from the site !

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideal site for winter excursions

We stayed at Wymondham Windmill from Christmas Eve for 6 nights (2016). Our visit was preceded by heavy rain which meant that the most level area was also the muddiest. We opted for the "off level" and were glad we did so. The field slopes a little but we had no real issue levelling the van (8m long). There are blocks around for ones' use if needed. Jamie the groundsman was very helpful and we were able to put our bikes in the barn, thus saving us pitching the awning. Just ask, it ofte works, especially in winter. The toilets are open 7.30 am - 10pm but Sara Jayne mentioned to us that this year will see the development of an exclusive use toilet and shower block. There are hook ups on the field for 5 vans now but 4 of them are located in one spot and our 25m cable wasn't long enough, Jamie provided an additional one so we had no problem. There is a possibility that the standpipe would freeze in cold weather as it is not frost protected. We had overnight temperatures of -4 but the pipes had been defrosted by the time we got up. All the other comments made previously still stand, access is good, no noise, not much light pollution so fabulous for stargazing. Point to note, the site is south facing (lovely) may be very hot and no shade if you are lucky enough to be there during the odd days of mediteranean type weather :-)

Fleetwood1954

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/12/2016 17:54

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rural views in the heart of England

Visited in September 2014. All the advantages of a good CL - peaceful, quiet, only a few other caravans, excellent value. Plus great views across the valley.

Wirral Wanderer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/08/2016 16:17

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Windmill view

Nice place to chill out for a couple of days, friendly hosts, great views and the option to look around the shops and use the cafe. Kids have a playground and plenty of toys. We will visit again for market days.

Clive Proctor

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/07/2016 16:14

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delightful

A wonderful site, plenty of room on the field which was well cared for and great views. Very good waste etc. Tea rooms and cycle shop excellent with a good selection of Gluten Free cakes. Nearby pub 2 or 3 minutes walk. Ideal for Rutland Water and Melton Mowbray. Will definitely visit again. 

Lloydies

Caravanner from Warwickshire

Reviewed on 08/05/2016 17:42

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Worth it

Third time here! Excuse is visiting my 90yr old mother and other family members. Not the cheapest choice (up since last time) but is still our favourite in these parts. Sara also runs the "tea-room", which is a 7-day a week restaurant, and was happy to arrange a delicious take-out meal when we were'nt up to cooking or eating out. Again, not the cheapest, but good value for genuine home-grown cooking. Gets busy at times, especially weekends, but hey, other people like it too! One downside, the toilets (part of the tea-room building) are closed overnight (late 'til early though), so don't wait too long...

MickSantana

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/11/2015 05:44

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very friendly hosts

Spent a long wkend on this lovely site. Sarah made us very welcome the perfect host. The cakes in the coffee shop are to die for. The site is fairly level  and easy access to the water points. Close to melton and rutland water. We will definately be returning

Bezza123

Reviewed on 27/10/2015 18:38

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Price has changed

Forgot to add in my review below, the charge per night when we went in July 2015 had gone up to £15. The CC book shows it as £13.

Skiphunter

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 14/07/2015 18:50

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Real Gem

Booked this site at short notice as we fancied a couple of nights away and its only about 45 minutes from our house. We were not sure what to expect but found a real gem of a place. The sight is easy to get to as most of the roads are wide enough to pass with care. The site is accessed through the main entrance to the Windmill Tea rooms. Turn sharp left as soon as you pass through the gates and then drive down to the field. You will pass the water and waste points as you do. There is a space by the hedge as you enter the field, the other spaces are along the top of the field. The owners, who are very friendly and helpful will put an electric lead out for you if you are not near an EHU. The top of the field is reasonably level but then drops off so levelling blocks are a must. The view from the field is lovely and looks over towards the Vale of Belvoir. At the bottom of the field is an old railway line which I think was Wymondham Junction. Unfortunatley you cannot walk along it. On site there are several very interesting shops and a very good tea room, run by Sarah-Jane, which serves homemade food at sensible prices. There is also a stonemason on site, Neil, who is very interesting to talk to and also James the Plantsman. Meton Mobray is not far and worth a visit, market day is Tuesday but the car park charges double then. Good way to encourage shoppers, not. In all a 5 star CL in our opinion and a place that we shall be returning to I am sure.

Skiphunter

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 14/07/2015 18:47

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful, welcoming CL

Spent 4 nights here in March 2015. Received a very warm welcome. Excellent, well kept, spotless CL and facilities. Handy for Melton and surrounding areas. Lovely coffee shop and restaurant on site, plus interesting old mill. Very quiet and peaceful, with glorious views. Looking forward to visiting again.

Reviewed on 28/06/2015 15:54

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer