Wymondham Windmill

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Relaxing Site

Stayed at Wymondham Windmill in May for 9 nights & had a glorious relaxing time. The site field is slightly sloping but the the large caravan pitches at the top of the field are level. The grass is short & facilities very clean & tidy. There are only a couple of EHU's but the owners supply & run an extension lead down to the pitches when required. There are super views from the site & the windmill. The tearoom & craft shops are well worth a visit.    

Raney5761

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 20/06/2015 12:10

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

lovely tea room bonus

Very peaceful site, good walks and cycle rides from the site. The tea rooms were an extra bonus and the windmill well worth the climb to the top. Nice welcome, very friendly. Just be warned the toilet is not 24 hr, open 7.30am to 10.00pm approx. We will be back. 

Golden Girl

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/06/2015 06:29

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

May 2015

Enjoyed a restful stay at the Windmill, and the prevous reviews were accurate in the warm welcome, views and local sights. Well worth a short or even longer stay,

easyonthegas

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/05/2015 16:25

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Had a great stay here

After reading several reviews, and looking for somewhere fairly close to home to stay for personal reasons, we decided to book here for 8 nights for the last week in September. I must say, the weather that week was NOT the only thing that was great. This site has it all. We had a lovely welcome from Sarah Jane, who was actually busy organising a children's birthday party in her back garden but still took time out to ensure we had everything we needed. The views are stunning, pitch sizes are large and flat and everywhere is clean & tidy, plus, the price was right. The tea room is a must for a visit as is the windmill for the view. Dont forget to call in the craft shops in the courtyard and have a browse.There are lots of birds to watch as you sip your fave tipple, and the owl is a joy to hear.Will we return ? .......of course. Thank you SJ for a fantastic peaceful week.

Mallane

Motorhomer from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 30/11/2014 21:42

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Owl/Ornithologists Delight.

Very welcoming, well maintained site, lots of space. Extensive Views. Information available about surrounding area. Wymondham Heritage Trail well worth doing a, gentle stroll about an hour plus a stop at the village pub. Shop in village but does not open Friday/Saturday/ Sunday. The tea rooms and other little shops great. Views from the top of Windmill not to be missed. Lots of lovely walks, birds in abundance. I am sure we will be returning.

Hal208

Reviewed on 22/09/2014 16:03

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Idyllic CL

A second visit here. Although a small issue with one of the hook ups, the owners loaned a cable to extend ours. Super views and the café is very reasonable with fine food. The wildlife is immense, with owls galore at night! Wymondham is a quintessential English village. A mapped village walk is available from the café and really recommended - especially if you have a dog! This trip we ate in the neighbouring village of Market Overton in the Black Bull pub. Dog friendly and superb ales and food. Guaranteed to return!

aalg425

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/09/2014 16:07

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our first time here

We are sat on this CL as I write this review. We was greeted on arrival and  shown to the field and had the facilities pointed out to us.  Hook ups are not installed yet so the owner runs a cable to you from the out building which works a treat.  Once we got set up we popped into the cafe to pay and got another welcoming reception. You can pay by card if need be and cash back is available if needed.  The toilet is here and open from about 7.30-22.00  The view is great from our van and yes if you have a dog there is plenty of room to exercise them.  No complaints from us.  We are here August 28-29

deneoo1

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 28/08/2014 23:06

31 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

National Trust and other stuff!

Picked this CL based on location for the NT properties - Belton and Woolsthorpe.  Welcomed by owners at the Tea Room and directed to the available pitches to choose from. Very helpful.  Picked ours which sloped slightly but easily sorted with blocks. Good views over the village and beyond. Easy routing to Belton House and Woolsthorpe Manor.  Cycling and walking opportunities looked good but didn't have time to explore on this visit. WC's are available but only during the Tea Room opening times - not an issue for us and can't imagine this would be a problem for most. Dog loved it with plenty of room to exercise. Would recommend.

Red Bob

Reviewed on 02/05/2014 18:58

34 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good find

Second time at this lovely CL. Owners very welcoming. Quite high up so lovely views of surrounding countryside. Tea rooms and small selection of shops on site. Berkeley Arms at bottom of hill  really good beer and super food.

IKE

Reviewed on 25/04/2014 14:00

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Idyllically English!

Just spent lovely weekend here, great views from your bed! Lovely little shops on site - great tea rooms (gets very busy weekends particularly with cyclists) - The Berkeley Arms is excellent (need to book) - overall would say the owners have done a great job with this little gem :-)

JoGrimbo

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/04/2014 21:48

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer