Wymondham Windmill

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Blown-in

We arrived in a torrent of rain and 60mph winds we mad? "yes" but then no one can say we are good weather caravanners can they? The owner Vincent assisted by another chap got me setup, not many owners would turn out in that weather to do that. Views off this CL are fantastic being high above Wymondham village even in the grip of a storm, it was stunning. Solarlights now line the route in to the CL (nice touch) I had a heart shaped cake made, this being Valentines night! me being the only male in our unit, it was proved to be a shrewed move..... thanks SarahJayne, who is the owners wife and owner of the on site Tearooms. We had a meal at the Berkeley Arms, not cheap but locally Sourced and top quality. Beers are well kept as well. The pub is only 10 minutes walk from the CL and a 20 minute stagger back! We also had breakfast in the Tearooms, which was good value for money and freshly made. Would we come back again? The East family say "YES YOU BET" Happy

Mackeralman

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 16/02/2014 14:33

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent!

Totally agree with the other reviews. Cannot fault this lovely site, peaceful and quiet, within walking distance to a charming little village with a good pub. Will definitely recommend and return. Good access roads also.

MrTedJR

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 28/10/2013 19:07

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Windy millers retreat!

We stayed 4 nights at this 200 year old Windmill,but far younger site, come Tea rooms and small shop outlets. Sarahjayne and Vincent(The owners) will give you a good welcome and smile. We were taking a break, but also marking my daughters 18th birthday. When we found this site we noted that Sarahjayne home cooked most of her products, so we asked her would she be able to bake a cake for my daughter and boy did she rise to the challange(watch out Mary Berry GBBO) she produced a fantastic chocolate cake decorated with a choc rich cream, service at its best brought to our caravan door. The site sits on a hill with views all around, the owners have leveled the top quite well, so we did not need blocks as advised. The Windmill was open to view foc with a kind request to donate towards its on going retoration, something we were happy to do. We also had a meal down the Berkeley Arms within walking distance of the site, good beer and food enjoyed by us. Sarahjayne also did meals at the Tea rooms, so we had dinner there one day as well! it was top class freshly produced. This site is going to be popular and is already seeing returning members, I will for sure be going back, as soon as I can. Take a walk round this charming village indeed follow the historic walk, its a gem.

Mackeralman

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 28/10/2013 14:04

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site

Stayed on this CL for 5 nights in October (2013)and found it to be peaceful. We were given a warm welcome and all the help one could require on arrival. The site is slightly sloping and levelling blocks could be required. Fresh water and chemical emptying point are away from the vans but nearby.On the one clear day that we had the views were picturesque, looking out over the nearby village and Leicestershire countryside. On site there are numerous craft shops and a lovely shop for the ladies selling clothing accessories. The windmill is certainly worth a visit. The owners run a café on the shop site which serves good food and there are toilets next to the café. There are also areas set aside for children to play in. Overall this is a lovely site which we will be visiting again.

Farrierman

Reviewed on 25/10/2013 20:06

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site, lovely people.

Had almost a week here, lovely quiet site, Owners very friendly, Windmill very interesting, will be nice when finished. Midway between Melton & Oakham. Hope to visit again soon. Recommended.

Ridgeyman

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 10/10/2013 18:00

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant Site

Spent 5 nights in September 2013. This is their first year of trading as a CL. The site is slightly sloping, all grass, but no problems. Wonderful views and sunsets. Extension leads needed for hookup (supplied by friendly owners). Main bugbear is that the toilet is a bit of a trek, as it is actually for the use of visitors to the windmill and shops and there can be a queue. Shower block and toilets for the CL exlusive use sounds perfect and would make this attractive site even better. Re: grey waste - after checking with the owners it went in the bushes as per usual. Overall a nice place to stay for the Rutland Water experience!

Heathens

Reviewed on 11/09/2013 16:46

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely And Peaceful

Spent 3 nights here at August Bank Holiday. Lovely site, great welcome from the owners. Had lunch in the cafe on site and it was lovely,Cafe gets busy most of the day with cyclists but doesn't interfere with us caravaners.. Will be returning in the near future,

sallydadog

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 06/09/2013 10:56

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

We stayed for a week in July and loved this site. Great location for Rutland Water and surrounding area. Bit of levelling required but not a problem . Had a mixture of sunshine and some very heavy rain and storms but the ground drained really well - never got muddy. Tea rooms lovely and Sarah Jayne told us about her plans to extend so will be even better. Recommend the nearby Nags Head for good value meal (fantastic steaks) and Sarah Jayne has cards so you can book. Will return and absolutely recommend

BJHammer

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 20/08/2013 20:51

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Highly recommmended

Full agreement with the previous reviews. We spent a week there (in the glorious July sun!), choosing it mainly because it is close to Melton Mowbray where most of my family live. The owners had not really sorted out all the intended power points - no problem, they ran extra cables from the main building! We were pitched on a level area at the top of a large south-sloping field, perfect for exersizing dogs, with a great countryside view. Room there for 4 caravans, in addition to the pitch near the road (3 there whilst we visited). We mentioned to the owners that a ground-level grey-waste outlet would be nice in addition to the other facilities. They had not thought of this, but promised they would get it done - how refreshing! Lots of good local walks (rural Leicestershire has an amazing number of public footpaths across the typical small farm fields). The tearoom facilities are a popular local attraction, especially with cyclists, but do not interfere with privacy. The tearoom toilets are available for use until the owners complete the plans mentioned by ""bucklej". Definitely our pick for future visits to the area. Well worth the trek from South Wales!

MickSantana

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/08/2013 01:40

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Friendly, Relaxing CL

In general agreement with the previous review. Owners very friendly and welcoming. Lovely views from the CL field, which was more than large enough and fairly even. Facilities were good and handy. We pitched near the hedge and experienced a little noise from the road, but only during the day and early evening - much of the time it wasn't really noticeable. The dogs enjoyed the woodland walk - so much to sniff at. TV reception and mobile phone reception was good. All the shop owners were friendly and helpful, and the cafe seemed reasonably priced, even though we didn't try it. The windmill is very popular with cyclists - the cafe was packed on Sunday morning! The owners explained some of the plans they've got for the site - as well as more hookup points, they're considering a toilet and shower block. Well placed for the areas attractions - like Rutland Water. Would we go back? Most definitely!

bucklej

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/06/2013 21:42

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer