Yanwath Woodhouse

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Too many outfits

Arrived for a one night stop on Friday afternoon to find five vans and three tents already on site. Was assured by owner it was ok and we were only there for one night. However through the evening more outfits kept arriving resulting in seven caravans, two motorhomes and three tents. Didn't bother us as we were only there one night but if we had been staying any longer the overcrowding would have forced us to go some where else especially with kids playing and dogs roaming free and not enough space for them. Doesn't seem like it was a one off according to other people on site and other reviews. Wouldn't book this site again.

catty247

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/07/2022 16:17

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Still amazing site..

From looking at the reviews, we feel it’s right to give another point of view. We’ve stayed here countless times and it’s always been fabulous.. we were also there when the last reviewer put their review and there were too many caravans at that time. Everyone is allowed to make mistakes and the farmer had overbooked but there were also 1 or 2 who had arrived and set up without having booked so the genuine ones couldn’t be let down and the farmers son offered to host any just down the track at his site. The farmer has also had a v turbulent times recently so we can fully understand what happened and feel some slack should be given. The site is amazing, overlooking Lowther Holiday Park and the paths through to Lowther Castle are superb. There’s many returning people who visit and there’s a v v good reason for that!

SazSteve

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/01/2022 10:47

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A nine-van free-for-all.

There were already six vans on the site when we arrived, so I spoke to the owner's son as I was concerned we would not be allowed to remain, despite booking a month previously. He said not to worry, and blamed his father. Another van arrived that night making eight, one left the next day but another two came the following day, making nine. The field is quite large, although only two hook-up posts each with 4 connectors, so the ninth van used a solar panel. The problem was that the ninth van parked too close to us, less than five metres, which meant we felt overlooked, and claustrophobic. Had we been on site when they arrived I would have asked them to move further away, but they were already set up when we arrived back that day. And they were friends of the owner, in and out of the farmhouse, so when I complained to the son again and said the ninth van was illegally positioned and he risked a report to the club, nothing was done. He said he knew they would be in trouble if the club inspector paid them a visit. This was all such a shame as the field is easily big enough to accommodate nine, if there were more hook-ups, but in the end we were not sorry to leave. In over ten years of using CL's, this is the only site where I felt it necessary to contact the club.

Aggie Pirate

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/07/2021 21:45

36 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lowther castle Yanwath woodhouse farm

Great little site, on a working farm. The location is walking distance to Lowther Castle and gardens (~ 1.5 miles) which has some great gardens and highland cows. Its a lovely walk down through the woods and over the river. Theres some nice pubs nearby, bee hive (local boozer) and George and Dragon (posh foody), there was more pubs nearby too, the punch bowl, we missed but looked great. It's not far from pooley bridge (~5 miles) as we popped down for a pint. All in all a nice spot, only stayed 1 night, I'd recommend staying at the top bit of the orchard field if it's been raining. Would happily return, owner friendly and helpful.

Adam Mcr

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/09/2020 16:10

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous Weekend

July 2020 after a very strange few months of "lockdown" we booked this site for ourselves and some close friends and had the most lovely experience despite the weather. We had the whole site to ourselves (4 units in total) as there was no one else there on the other pitch. The site is beautifully located not far from Eamont Bridge and Askham, directly above the large Lowther Caravan site. This place was, in our opinion, so so much better in EVERY respect. The owners were lovely and even lent us some chairs on the first night as one of the couples had forgotten to bring theirs. The large field is slightly sloping but relatively flat, mostly grass pitches but there is a small hardstanding near the elsan and water point and a single toilet. TV reception is excellent and EHU was very much appreciated. Having the site to ourselves was a bonus we'd not really anticipated, meaning we could sit out at night until after dark chatting and catching up without the risk of disturbing anyone else. We only live an hour away and I do hope we can get to visit again soon, In short, we loved the place!

GBOT

Campervanner from Cumberland

Reviewed on 26/07/2020 18:45

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely site in a great location

We stayed here one night and enjoyed our stay. The site is very well-maintained. It's situated in a grass field next to the farmhouse and buildings, with some fruit trees. It's in a brilliant location for exploring the eastern side of the Lake District. Our only reservation was the traffic noise from the nearby M6. This may not bother others (as,indeed, previous reviews indicate( If traffic noise does bother you then take this into consideration. Following the instructions re access to the site, we drove along a very dusty and bumpy road for quite a distance. We then realised the importance of the advice provided by a previous reviewer. It's best to access the site through the Lowther Estate veering off right up the road that leads to the site!

Dawdler

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/07/2019 14:09

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

An immaculate CL with plenty of options for choosing where to pitch, the grass area was well looked after. The fresh water tap, grey waste emptying and chemical toilet point all easy to use, plus a very clean toilet as well. We noticed signs at the Lowther Estate saying the dog walk was for residents of the park only, which seems different from previous reviews - we didn't check this out so unsure what it really meant. The CL was peaceful and as on a working farm had lots to see! We only stayed one night as passing through, but would recommend this CL as it was clean and so well looked after.

jpauld

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/07/2019 23:11

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Repeat visit and no doubt many more...

Returned to this site and found it as enjoyable. As we were arriving we came across a deer and a badger foraging in the orchard where we were bases. We saw the deer several times which made the stay even more enjoyable. Located amongst the geese and also being on a working farm so seeing the cows and hens just adds to the visit. For anyone coming, definitely use the entrance to Lowther holiday park and then veer off to the right near the hut and near their bins. It’s located so well to Penrith, Ullswater and Lowther Park and Castle. The latter is a fabulous walk through the holiday park adjacent their own camping pitches and then a path which leads into estate - v much recommended. We walk into Arkham where there’s a couple decent pubs. Mr Fisher is so nice - even leaving us a box of eggs and a bag of apples. Definitely coming back soon.

SazSteve

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/10/2018 17:00

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil and peaceful site .we loved it

We booked this site as it was the nearest to Lowther Castle and Estate were we were attending the Lowther Country Show. The site set in a good size grasse field with a couple of hard standings. Jamie the farmer was so friendly had many chats with him when he was feeding his Geese which were adjacent to were we chose to park our van. The views of the surrounding countryside were amazing. We were also lucky to catch the Roe Deer visiting in the late evening to snack on the fallen apples and early morning. The area has an abundance of wildlife. Although it is a working farm it didn't bother us as we used to live on one. Was great catching a glimpse of the cows with their new born cows in the barns then a couple of days later seeing them out in the field . We walked for miles around the area with our dogs straight from the site through the woods and down through Lowther Holiday Park and through on to the estate. We enjoyed the walks by the river and loved finding different routes to walk following the map at the beginning of the estate. You can use the shop and the pub on the holiday park which we did infact we only used our car twice whilst we were there to get a couple of essentials and a trip in to Penrith. We have come home feeling really relaxed. We will definatley be booking on this site again..

Hettyfeather

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/08/2018 20:40

19 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site, views and so friendly

Recently stayed here and nothing but praise. Both hard and grass standings and was lovely being around a working farm. Couldn’t hear anything though which was good. Lovely views over the lowther estate. The family who owned / worked the farm were really friendly. Being elevated over lowther holiday park meant could hear Kendal calling so a free music festival as a bonus! Would definitely use the Lowther Park Drive and veer off to the right rather than the designated route which isn’t ideal. Overall great break and 100% coming back!

SazSteve

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/08/2018 08:08

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer