Yew Tree Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

In need of TLC

We used the site as a stopover on a longer holiday, very glad it was no longer. The CL sig was almosr totally obscured by a 'Support the NHS sticker' - not a very safe idea! The access drive is narrow betweenan old greenhouse and the first pitch and bends sharply. Despite being instructed in our email to pitch on a particular plot this was occupied when we arrived by what looked like a caravan in the process of restoration. Having sought out the owner we were directed to a narrow unnumbered pitch alongside the access road. Despite only having a fairly small 'van we would have struggled to site it without a motor-mover and even then we had to trim over-hanging branches so as not to damage the roof. We then had to park in a small gap on the other side of the road so narrow we could open only one door of the car. The pitch was surrounded by overgrown grass and nettles and had no hook-up. We had to borrow an extension hook-up to join to ours to access a socket across the access road so every vehicle passing us drove over our cable. We never found the toilet or shower but judging by the rubbish,broken down trailer and generally run down state of the site we wouldn't have used it! There is a great view of what appear to be lorry containers used as changing rooms on the adjacent sports field. It's a shame as this site could be very nice and a great asset with the new RHS Garden openimng only a few miles away and its easy access to the M6/M62 but it is woefully in need of some attention and updating. I'm surprised that the Club considers the elctrical arrangements to be acceptable.

twojays

Reviewed on 31/05/2021 11:22

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Small quiet site close to M6 / M62

Site close to M6 / M62 Motorway network. Due to just coming out of Lockdown 3, all comms had been done by Email. Fine. 5 pitches, 3 with decent size for 7.3m units. Two pitches have shared power on pitch. Other pitches require long leads that are provided and found in the tack shed (Walk towards house, as passing stables, look left, door to left). Power connections and water on end of stables. Chemical disposal and waste bin at end of drive. Location next to fields with trees sheltering pitches. Slightly overgrown and unkempt in places but that adds to the adventure.. Don't feed the horses in the field, "special diet" we were told. Despite road nearby, relatively quiet but it was a weekend. Industrial estate opposite. Some have mentioned finding entrance difficult, it is directly opposite industrial estate entrance.

Gordontheterrible

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/04/2021 16:11

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fair for the price.

We stopped overnight when travelling North. We couldn't find the site to start with but realised the directions are for the M62 and not the M6! Could do with a bigger site notice as we drove past it twice! Upon arrival we were met by the owner who was perfectly nice and pleasant and walked up to the site with me to show us our pitch. It was quite small and overhung but as they had had torrential rain it had no standing water like the other pitches. A motor mover is a must to get on and off the pitch. The weather being atrocious we had rain dripping on the roof of the van all night. The toilets and shower were clean, adequate and a bit dated but as you only pay £14 one can't really complain. All in all a good site for stopover but as we didn't research the area we don't know what attractions are nearby. We think it would be quite pleasant in good weather. We would certainly stay again if we were in the area.

Atkinbrown

Caravanner from Durham

Reviewed on 05/10/2019 13:42

35 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointing

Overall about the worst site we have ever stayed on. It felt like camping in a lay-by. The owners were friendly, but the site needs attention. The road access to the site was good, but the farm lane was exceedingly narrow with a greenhouse on one side and a motorhome on the first pitch, whose front end had to be negotiated. Positioning of the caravan on the pitch and subsequent towing off would have been impossible without a motor- mover even for a single-axle 'van. We were warned by the owner to keep the unit within the gravel area to avoid any ambiguity of fault should someone hit us when trying to manoever. The pitch was massively overgrown, dark and with no views- only that of the road and caravan opposite. Just walking from 'van to car involved walking into the hedge. The toilet block , though clean, was mixed sex and very tired, made up of recycled kitchen units. The owner warned us about the shower, but it took far too long to run warm. We gave up trying to use it. At one point in our 3 night stay, there were 8 units on this CL. It was also a very crowded site. I am not surprised that the owner has not supplied a photo. How this site was ever allowed it's Club certification, I cannot see! My advice is to avoid!

Countrymouse

Reviewed on 31/08/2019 16:49

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rare site in the area

The reviews are correct. The site needs a lot of TLC. The trees overhang and all visitors agreed with this.It was difficult to get in and out without catching the van. The pitches are small except for the one were on, as we arrived first. The site was full so was cramped. No chance for a twin axle long van. Cables had to pass through all the pitches.The loo block is fair for the price.The house area we had to pass through to see the owners was a shambles of rubbish. What a pity, could be a gem in an area where CL's are desperately needed.

noelene

Reviewed on 06/08/2019 18:30

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Overnight stop

We made a call early evening to make an unplanned stopover having been stuck on the M6 for a road closure so we arrived feeling fed up. The owner could not have been more welcoming and helpful showing us around at a time of day she could reasonably have hoped to be eating dinner or relaxing. The site was private and quiet in spite of being so close to the motorway. We relaxed watching sheep in the field and listening to the birds. We were able to restart our holiday feeling relaxed. A good site but if you have energetic children it is short of space to play.

DebD

Motorhomer from Kent

Reviewed on 08/07/2019 08:53

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointed

Why has this site got such good reviews!! Just spent 5 nights here and the reviews bear no resemblance to the reality. There are only 3 things going for this site, the location; a good TV signal and excellent toilet and shower facilities. Everything else is rundown, overgrown, dirty and full of rubbish. Pitches are extremely small, not room for an awning and car. Hookups are not on the pitches so hookup extensions are required. Overhanging trees cut out almost all natural light and sun. Indeed we needed lights on all the time we were in the caravan, even when the sun was shining. DO NOT LOOK ON GOOGLE EARTH!! Looks nothing like that. We were not on our own with our views, neighbouring caravanners agreed with us. I can honestly say that this is the worst CL I have stayed on in 25 years of caravanning.

Response from the Club:

The CL Owner has been in touch as he works very hard to ensure everyone has a wonderful time on his site and as such was disappointed to read your review and would like to address your concerns. There are 7 hard standing pitches on the site for members to choose from. Of these, 5 are within a standard 25m cable of the socket, in one case, there is an outlet box on the pitch. The site inspector asked the site to provide longer continuous cables for safety reasons, which they have done.

Several pitches are in excess of 30 foot length. Two have adjacent areas of grass if requested for awnings. Guests advising that they wish awnings are told that steel pegs may be needed.

Please note the site is kept tidy and free from rubbish. The trees offer shade which is often appreciated by guests on the site. One full edge of each pitch is open to the roadway for access. We hope this helps address your concerns and please note if you have any issues when staying on the site please speak to the site owners who will always do their utmost to help where they can.

Andybat

Reviewed on 07/06/2019 16:17

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A good site

As with other rewiewers we were pleasantly surprised at how a site in this part of the U.K. nearer to busy roads and larger cities could be as quiet as it was. Site quite narrow for manoeuvring but all pitches were hard standing. Owners away when we stayed but they had warned us and their family/contacts did drop in to see how we had settled in. Good loo and shower block. Very convenient for Manchester : would certainly return.

History Boy

Reviewed on 02/07/2018 08:27

34 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Sweet Songs

Just returned from a nine wonderful nights at Mr & Mrs Ferguson’s CL. The site is just off the M62 and M6 so conveniently placed for those wanting an overnight stop. But the site has much more to offer being well placed for visits to Warrington, Manchester City Centre, Salford Keys, the Trafford Centre and Liverpool as well as a number of NT properties. Culcheth is the local village where you’ll find a Sainsbury’s as well as some small shops, pubs, coffee shops ext all just a twenty stroll from the site and there’s a bus stop just outside. The huge Bents Garden Centre is worth a visit about three miles away. The site itself is set in a wooded area behind the farm with hard standing pitches well spaced and the layout means good privacy. The site is a bird spotters paradise although the dawn and evening chorus can be irritating if you’re a light sleeper but the variety of birds is awesome. The five pitches all have electric hookups and there are toilets and a shower in a spotless facility room and there are waste disposal facilities at the entrance. Whether you’re looking for an overnight halt or longer stay to explore the area this popular site has something for everyone.

firefly580

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 26/04/2018 12:15

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazingly quiet considering location

We had 3 lovely nights here. Small site but well secluded. Very friendly owners who went out of their way to help us with local transport information. Very clean loos and shower. Despite being off the main road from Warrington it was very quiet. Bus stops very close by. Easy to get to nearby places as good bus interchange at Leigh and Warrington. Access a bit tight for long vehicles but possible. Will be returning. No need to worry about need for long cable for electrics, owner will supply.

margsmit

Campervanner

Reviewed on 26/04/2018 06:34

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer