Ayr Craigie Gardens Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very Clean well run site

This is our second visit to this site and it didn’t disappoint. The site is kept in an immaculate condition and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We were greeted like royalty when we arrived with a no fuss and friendly reception. The pitch was amply sized and in a great location. The site is close to Ayr town but as with many of the larger towns in the UK there are some older areas. We will definitely be back for our third visit. Great site, very clean facilities and very friendly staff all round..

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

We stayed here for 3 nights and could easily have stayed longer, other bookings wouldn't allow. Very friendly welcome and, unusually, we were allowed entry 10 minutes early. What a refreshing change from having to wait at the barrier until 1pm! Anyway, we picked pitch 43 and from what we saw we both thought it was a prime pitch with a grass area behind and at the side allowing us to make the most of the sunshine (many other pitches sheltered by trees) and close to the facilities. The site itself is about 10 mins walk away from town but if you want to take a drive out go and visit the stunning Ayr beach. We were so surprised at the glorious long sandy beach, totally unexpected. Also Castle Culzean is within easy driving distance (National Trust). No complaints whatsoever about the site or location and would happily make a return visit.

PeeBee149

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 12:15

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Third Visit

This was our third visit to Ayr and again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The site is in a good location for a walk into Ayr and is kept in an immaculate condition. Looking forward to our next visit.

ScreenName266D220BF9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 17:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Clean site poor location

This site is clean and well run. However it is located in the rough part of Ayr . The description does not tell you it’s near a large housing estate , tenement housing etc. We walked into Town and found it to be rough and run down. A lot of drunks around the town . Walked in and right back out again. We were to stay here two nights but left after one . It’s worthy of one night if you want to see the Robert Burns museum ( the other side of Ayr and in a beautiful setting.) Or as one night passing through only .

ScreenName8832BF137C

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/08/2021 17:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Will use again

Had a one night stay to allow my wife to redeem a voucher to ride a Clydesdale Horse at Cumnock, about 30 minutes away. Friendly greeting by staff, well presented and peaceful site. Intend to return for a longer stay to explore the area in future. Was worried about proximity of Prestwick airport but wasn't aware of plane noise. Site proved very peaceful.

Forfarian

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/08/2021 16:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good location for walking to town or along the river

We enjoyed our stay at this site, it is very well located for walking or cycling into the town. The town itself seems to have been hit hard by the pandemic and needs time to recover but we enjoyed exploring and had a great meal and fantastic service at the Waterfront Bar / Restaurant - highly recommended, even have a dog menu!

marpleweb

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/08/2021 07:06

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Great site, wardens all very friendly ,pitches spacious. The toilets are kept immaculate. Easy walk into ayr, directions printed out for you when you book in. Will definitely come back here.

Redlac

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/08/2021 11:53

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Janet Whincup caravanner from Colne, Lancashire. We have spent a week here at Ayr and think it’s a great site, handy for the town as it’s walking distance and handy for all of the surrounding area. We have been up the coast as far as Largs and down the coast to Girvan, stopping off at places on the way. It’s close to the Galloway Forest, Glasgow and some of the islands should you wish to visit. We’ve been here 3 years ago and did many things then. New to us this time was a visit to Eglington Castle and country park, free entry. The shower block is a bit old but when we last stayed the site was under threat from non renewal of their lease so we are glad that the site is still here. The shower block was clean everytime I used it and I had lovely showers with plenty of water power. I think the last people to review have been a bit harsh, ok their pitch might have been noisy but they could have moved the next day. The wardens here are really friendly and work hard. We will visit again.

Janet W

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 08/08/2021 18:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Will not return

Arrived 4.30pm and the site was busy. Ended up with a pitch which is possibly the worst we’ve ever seen on a club site in 12 years and numerous sites. Extremely narrow entry to an oddly shaped pitch which was right next to the service point. The only way to actually get our outfit onto the pitch was to remove a post from the grass before pulling in; we were then accused of knocking said post out of the ground. Hardly a warm welcome! There was constant flow of people emptying the chemical toilet right next to the pitch which is incredibly unpleasant, particularly if down wind. If not emptying chemical waste, others coming to the service point were banging the lids of the metal bins at all hours as they disposed of their rubbish. Whilst we appreciate that it tries to maximise space on the site, it is disappointing that the club would site a pitch in such an inhospitable location. The toilet block is tired and cleanliness falls below the standards we would expect from a club site. Furthermore, water pressure is variable in the showers and the water isn’t particularly warm. We certainly shan’t return to this site.

HeidiVan

Reviewed on 06/08/2021 10:56

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good campsite but town is quite run down

The campsite at Craigie gardens is good and well situated for the town and seafront. But I found the town itself to be quite run down and scruffy. Which is a shame. Good cycling along the promenade though and Belleisle park is to be recommended.

ScreenName895186A904

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/07/2021 17:26

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer