Ayr Craigie Gardens Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful haven close to centre of town

We stayed for 2 nights, to visit the local area and found this the perfect base. Quiet, despite being close to everything on offer in Ayr and it's seafront. Facilities on site were sufficient, clean and tidy. You may wish to avoid driving through Ayr's rush hour traffic.

Stephen Rice

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/07/2021 10:22

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic Ayr club site

We stayed here for four days from 15th to 19th July, from the moment we pulled up Mick was there to greet us, he was so welcoming and helpful. We found a lovely pitch and went to reception to tell Christine which pitch, yet another friendly encounter. In the past three months we have visited eight club sites and met some nice wardens, but Mick and Christine were the best ever, Mick would be out working before eight in the morning keeping the site in pristine condition. The site is a leisurely 15 minute walk to the centre of Ayr, Mark gives easy directions. The only thing I would mention is the toilet block could do with some Tlc having said that they were spotlessly clean, this has been mentioned in other reviews. Well done Mick and Christine, we will be back

geoff88

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 20:06

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Loved it just needs some TLC

We spent five days at this site and loved it. The wardens were lovely and very helpful when the RAC man needed to attend top our vehicle. Its a pleasant walk into Ayr provided you follow the river and cross over the second bridge down, the walk up the river is stunning. Facilities were limited due to Covid 19 and although we knew how to use the band system on the toilets etc we felt other members just ignored them this was a pity. All in all a lovely stay which would benefit from a small investment by the CAMH Club.

Roger D57

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 16:28

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Facilities in need of updating and a simpler map into town.

A lovely site, but as with many club sites the toilet and shower block needs updating. One minor point is the map to town took us through a very run down part of Ayr. If they had told us to go along the river it would have been more pleasant and direct.

Edwin Brewer

Reviewed on 08/07/2021 21:29

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

May / June 2021

As always, Ayr Craigie Gardens is a very peaceful site where we stay every year. This year we stayed for 3 weeks in May and another 3 weeks in June (2021). The Wardens this year (Micheal,Christine,Rob and Jenny) really made our stay very enjoyable. Micheal has a really good sense of humour, they all work hard to maintain the site in pristine condition even working outside their normal hours. The site is a 20 minute walk along the river Ayr to town centre and it is good for cycling and dog walks. We will definitely be returning again very soon this year. Hope we have the same Wardens next year JB and CBB

Jaybee16

Reviewed on 30/06/2021 20:08

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Nice clean site with friendly staff

Although covid restrictions are getting us all down this site complied with all rules but without being over the top. Staff were friendly and welcoming and the site was very clean and tidy. Unfortunately I was just passing through so can only base my review on one night. Ayr itself is nothing to write home about but there are some lovely places around about. Great for cycling. I can’t base an opinion on the children’s facilities available because I was traveling alone.

BarbieK

Campervanner

Reviewed on 19/06/2021 21:31

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely tidy site and friendly wardens in a well situated site

This site is well laid out, nice pitches and we had the benefit of great weather. The wardens are magnificient, even although I was caught going the wrong way up the one way system I was reprimanded hilariously. Their Covid practices made you feel secure. We had a very pleasant stay and the site is well located for walking into town, also well served by taxis. The facilities may be a little dated but everything is spotlessly clean and the grounds and gardens are immaculatly manicured. The wardens never stopped working, literally all the time, yet still time for a chat. It may be 60 years since I was last here as a child but as approaching retirement now, we found it very handy for town, beach etc and will be back soon. Thank You!

Alan Cardwell

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/06/2021 18:09

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Stayed here for one night on 3/6 2021. Site is handy for the centre of Ayr. Used the satnav which took us into the university so need to be careful. Nice and handy for the centre of Ayr and supermarkets.

ScreenNameB1834636B6

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/06/2021 17:40

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of our favourite club sites

We visit this site at least once a year. It’s definitely one of our favourites. The site location is great for easy access to the town, beach, supermarkets, country parks. It is well maintained and the facilities are spotless. Dog walks just off site are excellent and it’s an easy walk into the town and the beach. There are plenty supermarkets within a short drive. We can also recommend Marcos fish and chip shop and you can sit and eat them in nearby Wellington Square weather permitting! One beach worth visiting as well as Ayr beach itself is Irvine beach. Both have plenty free parking and are dog friendly. Country parks within an easy drive are Roselle, Eglington and Dean country park. Great for a casual walk especially if you have dogs.

egrant23

Caravanner from Perthshire

Reviewed on 20/05/2021 18:33

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellently Managed by a dream team

I am presently staying at the Ayr site and can recommend any member try it for a lovely peaceful and relaxed stay. We unfortunately arrived early 12.03 pm but the warden remarked, I think this could be your first outing since Covid. He was right, and he added you haven’t read your sites directory. He was right again as we were used to the 12.00 rule. No problem he said, as he had just returned from toilet cleaning he needed a break. He let us in a bit earlier and the whole stay was a delight with all four staff being welcoming, informative and having a great sense of humour. We felt this was a dream team as not only were they very member friendly but also the site is immaculate, well managed and toilet block spotless with double cleaning periods every day ensuring low risk to Covid. We will return and enjoy meeting them again and what a recommendation for the club with people like this giving us such personal service.

Thurlestone

Reviewed on 18/05/2021 17:40

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer