Baltic Wharf Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great little gem

Like everyone else I would love for this site to remain open. What a little gem in heart of everything going on in Bristol. You don't need a car here, so having a motorhome is not a problem, everything is within walking distance, so long as you don't mind walking that is! Site is small and cosy, and the facilities are dated, but obvioulsly this site has been due to close for years so why invest. It is on a busy road, and there are significant roadworks outside the gate, but they didn't bother us one little bit and we were parked right next to them. OK for dogs, but no access to any space where they can be off lead. There is a backgate with easy access onto Baltic Wharf where you can stroll along the river, watch the world go by, admire the boats in the marina and eat some wonderful food. Not sure about the pub which is so very close as we didn't go there, but can recommend The Clifton Sausage/pub/restaurant in Clifton - about 25 minute walk. The M Shed is definately worth a visit as is SS Great Britain, where you can easily spend a day. There is art everywhere (some better than others) but worth strolling around Bristol to discover it. Leigh Woods is worth the effort of walking to, and you can spend hours exploring and having a picnic and its on the edge of the Clifton Suspenson Bridge, where you get a fabulous view of Bristol and the River Avon. Fingers crossed this site stays open, cause we definately want to come back!

jackiew99

Reviewed on 22/01/2022 15:05

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Please don’t close

Lovely one night stay at Baltic Wharf. Correspondence was great. We arrived a little late but key and instructions left for us. Then paid up in the morning. So central for everything Bristol has to offer. And close to family which is a bonus. Didn’t use amenities but they all looked clean. Site staff very friendly. Please don’t close this site!

ScreenNameEA4F506EB9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/12/2021 19:13

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Long stay

This is one of our favourite sites and it's a pity it is scheduled to close soon. The position is ideally sited on the harbourside with easy access to all the attractions of Bristol and the local area. But we have seen a change recently where it is becoming increasingly difficult to book more than 2 or 3 days. On our most recent visit we managed to get 4 nights because there were so many cancellations. We are currently caravans but have previously owned motorcaravans. The site now seems to be monopolised by motorcaravaners who nowadays seem to stay only 2 or 3 nights which very much limits longer stays which are preferred by caravaners - there were only 3 caravans when we stayed. To ensure caravaners are not squeezed out entirely it might be sensible to allocate at least 50% of the pitches to a minimum stay of 4 or 5 nights.

jlseagull

Caravanner from Oxfordshire

Reviewed on 13/12/2021 16:05

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Amazingly located.

Before I start the review,if you follow the "new" route in ,this is because of the road works outside the site,where it states sign post for Bedminster and a railway sign to Temple Meads I was unable to see this sign and missed the turning on the left,so just follow the new route given and keeping large self storage building on your left. Missing this left turn,did cause a approach from the other direction amidst busy traffic. I think all that has been said about this site has been said before,with the location so handily placed for visiting Bristol.We did all the normal touristy bits plus a walking tour.This actually was quite good ,with a tour guide showing area's not known to the normal tourist without knowledge. Again much has been said about the Club losing this site,for yet more building,and yet is there is yet more housing,being flats or apartments galore being built now behind the SS Great Britain.We also popped in the Orchard Pub at the rear of SS Great Britain,and on the notice board was a local campaign to save the trees around the Baltic Wharf campsite. I just hope this is not our last visit.

Fozzie

from Kent

Reviewed on 16/11/2021 17:10

39 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Had to come

Had to come to this site as it has been on my list for some time and with the sad news that it’s almost had its day I couldn’t leave it any longer. Such a fantastic little site even with the road works right outside ( that’s why I had to go low with question 2 ) so if this site is on your list of places make the most of the time it has left you will not be disappointed.

Wardopepper

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/11/2021 21:33

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Will really miss this site. Shame on the council for wanting to develop the land

Really hoping this campsite doesn’t close. Such a lot of development in the area you’d think they could leave this popular campsite to remain a campsite to encourage diversity in tourism. Have stayed here several times and have booked another stay before its due to close. So convenient for all that Bristol has to offer just outside the campsite gate.

peacheysue

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/10/2021 22:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Please don’t close this site

This site is an absolute gem. Sadly there are plans to close it as Bristol Council want to build even more apartments in the area. Some things should be left alone. This end of the Wharf is so nice where you can walk through the old boat yard and is accessible to all. If it were to move to the proposed site further up the river then those less mobile would have quite a trek down to the Wharf, especially at night. So take advantage of the extensions and let’s hope the proposed plans to close Baltic Wharf fall through. 🤞

Ranger5

Caravanner from West Glamorgan

Reviewed on 24/10/2021 16:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic location!

This is a site in a fantastic location on the floating harbour. The special thing about the site is that there is a little gate leading directly on to the harbour. At the moment however the lock on this gate is broken. Please Baltic Wharf - get the lock mended ASAP - it really will not cost much! A whip round on the site would probably raise enough! We will really miss this site when it goes as there is no where else within walking distance of the centre if Bristol. I hope the club will be able to find another site nearby. Thanks Baltic Wharf for another great stay, we will be back very soon!

ScreenNameE89FD8D450

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/10/2021 09:20

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Here again.

Take advantage of extensions while you can.Noticed in good time to get 4 suitable nights while weather OK. Good choice of pitch which makes a change. Never seen so many outfits not pitched to pegs.space is tight here and correct pitching makes a lot of difference. Still no shower curtains so floors very wet. Work on road outside wasnt as bad as we expected. Handy buses from by the shop.nice drivers. Good to sit by great britain and watch the world go by with good tea and cake. Already rebooked for March just need July now !! (Heres hoping ).

52 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Gem of a site right in Bristol

Just had our first visit to this brilliant little site. Other reviews say it all . Will be a sorry loss when Bristol City Council end the lease so they can build on it. Only marked it down on peace and quiet because of the noisy roadworks currently going on.

GypsyLou

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/10/2021 00:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer