Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful long weekend break

We were excited to visit the Bath Chew Valley site, it is a very well kept and pretty place which is obviously cared for by the owners. Your caravan is towed to your pitch for you which is no problem at all and everything is explained up front about the site. I was surprised that Bath is 30 mins away but no big deal. We visited the Red Lion pub which serves classic tasty pub grub and a great roast on a Sunday. This was ideally placed just a 5 minute walk from the campsite, as was a well stocked shop. We did the walk to the lake to took in the wonderful views (and sampled some chips from the Salt & Malt chippie). There seems more to explore in the local area so will definitely be back one day.

Popeye17

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/09/2021 09:45

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

DISSAPOINTED

We didn't realise before paying upfront, that our van would be unhitched and towed to where the site wanted to position you, we had a very unfriendly welcome (you have to arrive after 2pm and NOT before). We were made to sit in the car and given a list of instructions and rules in a military fashion before we were allowed to exit the vehicle. You cannot park your car next to your caravan only to unload or unload, so its a little frustrating if you've forgotten something and need to return to the car in the carpark.The site is supposed to be dog friendly, there are little signs on the well kept grass saying NO! for dog poops and you have to keep your dog on a 2 metre tether. The dog walk area is small, again NO dogs off leads. And you will be reminded of this by the staff. The gardens are beautifully kept and not all the members of staff were as unfriendly as the chap we accountered. The unisex washrooms are satisfactory too. There is a lot of signage on the site, with rules and regulations that you must follow, you will be reminded of them by some of the staff. We had no TV signal, along with our neighbours on both sides of us, luckily we had some DVDS spare, which we lent to our neighbours. I know being out in the country we should expect a little noise, we unfortunately had two cocks that 'Cock-a-doodle dood' from sunrise to late into the afternoon over the hedge from the adjoining field. We were a long way from Bath - its a bit of a car ride. We were very disappointed with our 4 night stay here, especially as it was the most expensive part of our two week holiday. Until customer service improves and the rules relaxed, we won't be back.

PHIL AND RICH

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 20:16

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Underwhelmed

Stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of August. Approach to the site even with a twin axle caravan was no problem. The gentleman who moved our caravan to the pitch was very friendly. The other 2 staff members that we encountered are certainly lacking in customer service skills. We can make no further comment about the staff as the reception was closed “due to the COVID situation”. Our advice to anyone staying here is try to avoid pitch 4 at all costs. There is a gravel walkway through to the car park and the toilets and showers which is unnecessarily close to the pitch. Not only is this an invasion of privacy with people walking past within 2 - 3 feet of your front window at all times of day but also every step can be heard. We feel that this site is substantially overpriced when compared to other sites we have been on who offer so much more. A further word of advice. Make sure you read the terms and conditions before booking a stay here. Remember it is not a CMC site.

BaggieMart

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2021 19:33

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

A stunning site

Once again we have had a fabulous break here .As usual the site was in marvellous condition and the facilities were spotlessly clean. The team there were all friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble .We would recommend Bath Chew Valley unreservedly.

RufusAiredale1

Reviewed on 23/07/2021 18:59

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely and Quiet

We stayed at this lovely site for a week. The super location were complimented by the warm and kind hospitality of our hosts, clean and very hygienic facilities and the use of the hire-car onsite. The local pub, the Red Lion offers traditional home cooked meals and if you fancy something really special try the Lazy Lobster at Chew Magna. Woodford little lodge and the main restaurant, offer good food with breath-taking scenery of the lake Our visit to Bath and Clevedon were a delight. Our drive through Cheddar Gorge was also an experience to be cherished for a long time. This is MUST visit site for adults only (No kids allowed)

A Sab

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/07/2021 15:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Superb and would recommend

Having read the reviews for this site after booking, to be honest we were thinking of cancelling due to the negatives. We are so glad we didn't. The site was superb, very clean and beautiful. Grass and gardens are immaculate and a lot of hard work has gone into this site to maintain the good standards. Loved the valet caravan parking, some of the pitches would be quite tight to manoeuvre into so the valet option is the best one, and you can park on the road to load and unload. They don't want you to park on the grass and as an example of this whilst we were there, one person drove his car on the grass and got stuck, as we had rain the night before and the tractor had to come and rescue him! There is no space to park a car on the pitches if you have an awning and it does minimise noise levels anyway. No hardship to park in the car park, its not far at all to walk to and we found plenty of large spaces available for larger cars. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating, so not sure why previous reviews had stated they were rude. We had no issues at all. There was a slight electrical problem on site, so rang the emergency number at 8.30 a.m. and they came straight away it was sorted in no time, very efficiently. They had a young lady, Ellie who was selling home made chocolate brownies, doughnuts, flapjacks etc on the Thursday, her first time on the site, and we so recommend. They were delicious and reasonably priced. All the negative reviews on this site, we don't really understand. We don't have a dog, so could not comment on anything regarding this. Lanes to site entrance is narrow yes, but they have managed this by the no right turn as you leave the site so you dont 'bump' into any other caravans and NE Somerset is known for small narrow lanes, that is the beauty and countryside of Somerset. Bushes had been cut back a few days before we left. This is the councils department, not the sites responsibility I would suspect. Phone signal was very good. Covid restrictions were very good. Loved the Adult Only element, didn't notice any noise from planes. Nice pub on corner and local shop within walking distance which is well stocked, and a Spa only a 5 minute drive too. Will definitely be back and yes I would recommend.

di47

Reviewed on 19/07/2021 11:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Great Site! Great Location! Great Staff!

Congratulations to all the Bath Chew Valley Caravan Site on the exceptional quality of your park and all the facilities that were provided. We found the site very easily with the directions provided and the signage as we approached the site.Without exception all the staff were brilliant! From the very welcome greeting to the personal direction to our pitch. We had no difficulties during our stay and the facilities were second to none with absolute cleanliness throughout, and top quality management. The site went far beyond our expectations. We went to the Red Lion Pub a couple of times, and although we didn’t eat there we would not hesitate to call in again for food. The staff there were fantastically welcoming. We would be delighted to return in the future and we cannot think of one thing that would improve the already superbly well managed site. Thank you to all the staff at Chew Valley Caravan Park! Kind regards Chris & Sue Brooks (stayed from 20th-25th June 2021)

Ningaloo

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/06/2021 10:52

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Superb site

Having read lots of other nit picking reviews, I have to counter with a full blown well-deserved five stars. Having read complaints about the site staff using their tractor to take your van to site, we found this to be a fantastic service. The van was on the pitch ready to put the steadies down in seconds. Access to the site is via a one way lane, so of no worry to most drivers, and certainly not as tight as many other sites. It's a beautifully kept site, and being reasonably small (35 pitches?), using your own vehicle to put a van on a pitch would ruin that beautiful landscaping in short order. It's incredibly peaceful, and kept spotlessly clean. The ten individual unisex toilet shower rooms are an excellent use of space and give a high availability on the site. We didn't find keeping the car in the car park in the least bit inconvenient. The site is also well placed for the whole area. Within about twenty miles, you have Bath, Bristol, Wells, Cheddar, Wookey, Weston-super-Mare and Glastonbury. We thoroughly enjoyed our week from 4th October (despite the rain) and will most definitely be back in 2021!

Guzzilazz

from Essex

Reviewed on 11/10/2020 16:27

5 reviews

5 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Nice Adult Only Site but Challenging Access and Exits

Its a well run clean and tidy site. Access to and from site is a challenge due to uncut hedges in lanes. Nice lay back country areas around. Will not be returning because of that issue otherwise really nice site. Pity? Also Covid incentive VAT reduced by Chancellor from 20 - 5% was retained by management when I questioned a refund prior to arrival? This is a private site so you pay full rates in advance 30 days before arrival.

EnglishmaninWales

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/07/2020 20:09

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

fantastic site

Fantastic site. We visited on the 4th July and stayed 11 nights. The staff are friendly and kept everything clean. The grounds are well kept and there are lots of hand sanatisers doted around the site for people to use. Well worth a visit.

sue1958

Caravanner from Hertfordshire

Reviewed on 22/07/2020 13:39

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer