Bladon Chains Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site shame about the road noise

Lovely site and easy to find. Located next door to Blenheim Palace and the beautiful town of Woodstock. Well maintained with good facilities, showers were out of action during our 3 night stay. Staff were happy to answer any questions and there was a very limited shop with basic foods. All in all we give it 6/10

Mike Sue

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/07/2021 17:00

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Location

Just returned from 2 nights a this immaculate and well run site. When we arrived around 1.20 the wardens were directing a queue of waiting outfits into the arrivals lanes. The office staff were very friendly and efficient and the queue was soon reduced. There is one facilities block and although the showers are out of action due to failure of the boiler, there are hand basin cubicals with hot water available. The Covid "rubber-band" systems works well here because instead of hanging it on a hook outside (and the forgetting to put it back in the pot), you take it inside with you and return it to the pot on the way out. A much better idea I think. It is so convenient for visiting Oxford and surrounding areas. Close to the Parkway Park and Ride. There is a bus stop 200 yds away that takes you to Blenheim/Woodstock, a 5 minute ride. You can also walk to Blenheim via a footpath from the site which takes about 25 mins. However Blenheim Palace grounds are vast and you might not want to add to a day of walking about! On Wednesday nights there is a fish and chip van and on Sundays a Steak and Frites van. We sampled the latter and it was absolutely excellent. Such a shame that is lovely site is closing.

dmreid

Motorhomer from Essex

Reviewed on 13/07/2021 14:16

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Great Site and a Big Loss

After a very tiring journey with many hold-ups, we arrived at Bladen Chains to a very warm and friendly welcome which very much helped the unwinding process. We were directed to the 'best pitch on the site' and it certainly lived up to that description and had a 'Monet' feel about it with its view across the fields. We just drove straight on with our caravan and, within no time at all, we were sat out in our chairs drinking a cup of tea. The site is very convenient to Blenheim Palace and the village of Woodstock. Bladen, the resting place of Winston Churchill, is just down the road and there is a community run pub called the White House which did very good meals. The only downside of our stay was a couple of irresponsible dog owners. One let her dog yap incessantly without any form of control other than giving it a cuddle now and again! What self respecting dog is going to give up barking when it gets rewarded by affection? The other dog owner allowed his dog to roam off the lead and 'cock his leg' over our caravan equipment without a word of apology. It is a great shame that Bladen Chains has to close but a big thank you to the Wardens for their friendliness and the superb running of such a well maintained site. They will be an asset wherever they go.

Roboman

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 08/07/2021 16:39

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A very good site - just a great shame that it has to close

We stayed here for a week in June '21 and thought the site was good. We were on the southern area and caught quite a bit of noise from sirens but largely tuned this out. We were disappointed about having no wifi at all and a very poor mobile signal to boot, presumably due to the site being run down towards closure. However, this didn't prevent us from enjoying the visit as it was offset by numerous advantages such as a great location near Blenheim and easy access to Oxford. There are a number of supermarkets that require a 15min or more drive but there is a well stocked local Coop and a butchers in Woodstock, an easy walk away. We didn't have our dog with us but he would have loved this site. Some of our low scores reflect the imminent closure status but the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We are very sorry that this site is closing at the end of this season. We would have been more than happy to return.

BobbyWJ

Reviewed on 01/07/2021 21:12

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent

After staying at Bladon a few times now over the last few months. Each time has been a great experience. I only live local but it ticks all the boxes for feeling like you’ve got away further. Nice walks in the surrounding area. The wardens are all fantastic and very welcoming always on hand to help. Nothing is to much trouble. Due to the site closing later this year. Unfortunately there are no showers. This is beyond the wardens control. However I believe not everyone is being understanding about this. Hoping to stay as much as possible before the site closes.

Warwick67

Reviewed on 25/06/2021 09:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site, shame it’s having to close

We spent 3 nights on the site and were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The receptionist advised us on the best pitch to allow us to park our trailer at the side of the motorhome and let us leave the car on the car park. The facilities were clean and Covid secure. We found the site peaceful and well placed for visits to surrounding attractions, with a safe 20 minute amble to Woodstock and its numerous pubs and restaurants. The only negative was the lack of showers after hot days walking, but we were advised of this before travelling to the site and understand the economic reasons for not replacing the boilers. We managed with our on board facilities and had been given the option to cancel if this wasn’t acceptable. It’s a real shame that the site is closing down in autumn, as we would have happily returned in the future. Thanks also to the couple who kindly assisted us in getting the car back on the trailer - it’s our first trip with this and a definite learning curve!

New Cruisers

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/06/2021 18:26

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great for Blenheim Palace

Stayed here for two nights purely to visit Blenheim Palace, location is everything for us as we are in a motorhome although it was still handy to have the electric bicycles. Blenheim is a must see and visit and don't forget the church at Bladon where Sir Winston Churchill is laid to rest. The site itself, because it is due to close in September, sadly, is a little run down and we had been forewarned that the showers would be closed due to an issue with the boilers and CAMC not wanting to invest any money into the site because of its impending closure. A fish and chip van was on site the evening we arrived (Friday) would not reccommend, personally I think £10.50 for a portion of scampi chips from a take away van a little on the high side and the chips were not even fresh potatoes!! Television signal was ok but our wi-fi signal was a little dodgy. Obviously not really relevant to say if I would return as that's not going to be an option, but if you are booked in for this year please be aware NO showers at all, I did receive an e-mail telling me this but spoke to someone on site who was not aware, not an issue for us as always ready to use our own but not everyone is the same.

nutsinmay2

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/06/2021 13:24

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A lovely site, shame its closing

Having read some of the reviews slating this site, I think they are very harsh. Given that the staff are well aware of its closure they remain upbeat and were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed there when there were no facilities whatsoever, but we knew that before we went, so no surprises, therefore were fully prepared to be self contained.

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Extremely disappointed

Booked on late availability for 3 nights and stayed for only one. It was probably my fault, but if I had realised we would likely be pitched on grass I would not have booked. When we turned up it was pouring with rain and people queuing to get in, one in one out at reception. I asked which hardstanding were left to be told I was not booked on hard standing but Standard with Awning which could be hard standing or grass, the wardens are obviously stressed with the current situation but that did not warrant her snapping at me that as I had been a member for a number or years I should have know what the pitch was likely to be. In the end we parked on a Standard without Awning hardstanding and I was told that we could stay there for that night but would likely have to move the next day, so we did, we went home. Pity, the site is in a great place, I wanted to walk into Woodstock, view Churchill's grave but it wasn't to be. No money is being spent on the site so the showers are not going to be fixed now, so any campervans without their own facilities need to be aware, to be honest with the busiest three months coming up the showers should be fixed. Couldn't get the satellite to work, phone signal poor, all in all very disappointing. Dog loved it though.

MickOneill

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/06/2021 11:19

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

a great few days

This was our first visit to this site: 3 nights only. Our expectations weren't high (due to previous reviews), so we were very pleasantly surprised by this delightful site. Spacious, clean and peaceful ... dated, yes, but this added to its character. Obviously we know sadly this site will be closing soon (September), which is such a pity because of its wonderful location for visiting Blenheim Palace, Woodstock and Oxford. The showers aren't working due to a terminal boiler issue. The Wardens were friendly, available and informative. An enjoyable few days away ... sometimes it pays not to have your expectations set too high!

richley911

Motorhomer from Kent

Reviewed on 31/05/2021 18:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer