Brecon Beacons Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Impressive Site

We chose to stay here for an extended weekend break at the end of July beginning of August that, unbeknown to us, coincided with the Brecon Show. Despite the location being very close to a busy road, our pitch actually backed onto it, and nearby roundabout the site was surprisingly quiet. We had a serviced pitch, which we haven't used for ages and enjoyed the laziness of not fetching freshwater and emptying grey water. The site is very well laid out and spacious and has two great shower blocks and the best shop on a site I have ever visited. The wardens were friendly and very helpful with lots of good recommendations. Although we did not have our young grandkids with us we would very much like to return because the play area looked very good indeed. The dog walk, (not to be confused with the smaller dog area cul-de-sac, was brilliant for our Daisy. I have to say though why any dog owner would opt not to pick up their dog's mess from the middle of the dog walk pathway when there are so many bins is totally beyond me! We had friends from Cardiff come to visit, they were staying at a hotel nearby, and we walked to the Brecon show along the canal from the site. It was wonderful. Not too over the top but very down to earth and really friendly atmosphere. We also drove to the Garwnant visitor centre and went walking in the forest. We would highly recommend it and on Sundays you can get a lovely roast dinner at the cafe there. The town centre is very accessible on foot and there are some lovely small shops and you have a choice of Aldi or Morrisons for your major provisions. We had a meal at the Bar Kitchen on the left hand side as you enter Brecon. Staff were lovely, food was good but service a bit slow so don't go if you are in a hurry! It was dog friendly too with bowls of water and treats readily available. We really enjoyed our very relaxing stay and loved meeting lots of lovely friendly people and fellow dog owners. We want to return and would love to do the Jazz festival at some point. 

npbtudor

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 07/08/2015 22:51

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Just Great!

Although not (very) young, my wife, myself and Bonnie (the young Jack Russell Terror....sorry, Terrier!), enjoyed our stay. The site is immaculate - clean and tidy. The facilities are brilliant, absolutely perfect...and within walking distance to a nice pub! Although from South West Wales, I wasn't familiar with the Brecon area, I was very impressed with the canal towpath: we walked into Brecon and cycled to Pencelli. We will certainly return. Diolch yn fawr, AH

Arwyn Henry

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/08/2015 21:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

3 night stay Aug 2015

This was our first time at this site and we were very pleased with what we found. The site is easy to find with no issues for nervous drivers or new members, on arrival the wardens were very helpful and pleasant as usual. The site offers fantastic mountain views and is close to the canal along which you can walk to Brecon a nice town with ample shops and pubs. You are able to hire electric day boats or canoes or 2.5 hour barge trips from the canal basin where the theatre is situated and if you prefer going by car there is a pay and display car park. A local pub a few minutes from the site is The 3 horse shoes which serves very good meals. The toilet/ shower blocks were spotless and open no need for keys or fobs and I found the showers to be the best I've come across on a club site and I've been to a few. The onsite shop offers a good choice of products to buy. The Brecon show takes place at the beginning of August and the Jazz festival starts a week later. I don't work for the CC or have any connection to any business in Brecon, but as you've probably gathered we will return very shortly.

wr56

Caravanner from West Glamorgan

Reviewed on 05/08/2015 17:50

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Close to immaculate.

This site is very well maintained, toilet and shower blocks are in pristine condition. Pitches are large and well positioned, shop is fully stocked including freshly baked croissants. Army town of Brecon is a 20 minute walk along the canal and  there is a great pub 10 minutes walk in Groesffordd. One small downside, the firing range starts up at 08.00 and goes on much of the day, nevertheless I have no hesitation in recommending this site.

Mikeyj

Campervanner from Flintshire

Reviewed on 04/08/2015 09:08

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Clean, spacious site, well located for the Brecon Beacons

Large, recently modernised site on the outskirts of Brecon town. An easy walk along the towpath takes you into the town, and a very good local pub serving excellent food is only 10 minutes away in the village of Groesffordd (booking essential). A good breakfast can be had at the Brecon Beacons visitor centre outside Libanus.  We had a caravan service pitch which was very spacious and easily allowed for car, caravan and awning. Facilities were spotless and there is a well-stocked shop by reception. There are many great walks to be had in the heart of the Beacons which are just a short drive away and the drying room comes in handy for the typical Welsh weather! The downside. This site is open to tents and the tent area looked scruffy and crowded and they were certainly way closer than the 6m distance generally specified to reduce the risk of fire. Tent camping is open to non members with no non-member supplement and the same "kids for £0.01" deal. Without wishing to sound snobby (we tent camp as well as using the caravan), this tended to attract large groups with many children and bikes (who ignored the one way arrows). As a result, over the course of our stay we had a gazebo with a group drinking late into the night, kids playing around the site rather than in the huge field or excellent adventure playground and even on one occasion a fire pit with stinking wood smoke! Obviously as non members, should there be any behavioural issues, no sanctions can be applied. We felt sorry for the caravans near to the tent field...If you have a choice when pitching, stay well away. In summary, great site but the Caravan Club should think about allowing tents on site,  and if they do so then non member supplements should apply and kids should pay full price, otherwise one would question what benefit the membership fee brings.

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site

Lovely site, close to Brecon town and with a delightful walk along the canal. The site has the best on site dog walking area I've ever seen before.  Very noisy from road noise and army guns though. Also very disappointed to see that there was a charge for wifi which on a lot of sites nowadays is free however I was able to pick up on a BT hot spot but with limited coverage.

NestorsMum

Motorhomer from Powys

Reviewed on 01/08/2015 18:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

wow

What can I say except wow This place was fantastic we were greeted by friendly staff who made us very welcome  Apart from the little man who had little man syndrome about us doing 7MPH and not 5MPH get a speed camera or something so you know what you’re talking about in future ?  The site itself was to a very high standard as you would expect from a club site The toilet block was very clean at all times  We managed to climb the Penny Y Fan and was well worth the effort for the views witch were spectacular we did go and see the old iron works witch was free admission and was very informative to go back in time to see how it worked and lived you could spend a half day there if rained off like us all in all a great  6 day break and would highly recommend to all 

andy2460

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/08/2015 07:17

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Wales

Excellent site beautiful setting  Some road noise but more than compensated by location and views. Big pitches and site is well maintained considering the large amounts of grass and hedges to look after. Wardens very friendly and helpful. Good dog walk and plenty of walks from site.

MikeCrowther

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 26/07/2015 19:23

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Outstanding Site

We love this site, the location is perfect 1.5 miles from Brecon town about 15 mins on a  bicycle, just be careful crossing the A470.  We found the site to be extremely clean (one of the best sites) a well stocked shop and very welcoming staff and wardens. With so much to do in the area it is one of our favorite sites.

Cath27

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/07/2015 12:18

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Site

Great site. Within walking distance of Brecon along a canal. Good dog walks around. A great pub just up the road serving food. Excellent facilities and very clean.

Lynneallan

Caravanner from West Glamorgan

Reviewed on 24/07/2015 12:10

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer