Brighton Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Large site with countryside views

The approach road to the site was a disaster. Gypsies were camped out on the road, coaches and motorhomes parked all down one side. This all made it extremely difficult to travel along the potholed road towing a caravan. Once you overcame that then the check-in was fine. The site is clean and the pitches are level. Plenty of facilities all modern and functional. The reception does not seem to sell anything like ice creams. The area offers 2 good size supermarkets close by (Lidl and Asda) Plenty to do and see in close proximity to the site. The wardens are friendly and helpful.

V5PRH

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 18:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Unwelcomed locals

We have visited this site for many years and enjoyed our stays in our motorhome, but of late the site has deteriorated weeds a sense of untidiness gravel everywhere tv reception still useless, the toilets untidy probably due to the staycations newbies used to having everything done for them, but the biggest gripe I had was the local hippies outside in there very dilapidated caravans coming in unchecked by the wardens using the facilities for FREE, I have to pay for the privilege of parking in a field, I certainly won't be returning very sad.

Comment from the Club

Many thanks for your review. We would like to reassure you that hat we are liaising with the relevant authorities over this issue.

helenjoe1

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 14:47

13 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Shame about lack of weed/vegetation control

Seem to be following Brighton councils Green policy of letting weeds grow wild. Weeds and nettles growing up around the electric hook up bollards. Had to cut them down with a bread knife in order to connect up but still got nettled. Be aware some areas of the site has no or poor tv reception even if using the booster bollards. Should be made aware of this when telling reception what pitch you are on as they know which areas are affected. Make your own mind up about Brighton. Looking scruffy and run down with all the weeds and vegetation being allowed to grow wild. Brighton deserves better

csde

Reviewed on 02/09/2021 21:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Avoid some maybe all bank holidays if you want peace and quite due to motorbikes.

We decided to stay here for our last oven night stop before home after a lovely time in The New Forrest. The site was very clean and the staff were very helpful and polite. The location is great for a walk into Brighton (25Mins) to see the pier and nightlife but it's all downhill so for those with walking difficulties you'll need a taxi back. Our only issue was the amount of Lambretta's and Vespa's that were on-site due to Bank holiday annual meets. We didn't know this was happening and I'm not anti-bike as I've had a few in my time and they all looked amazing but being woken before around 7.45 am by quite a few starting them up and revving them up right outside your motorhome and then seeing some riding around without helmets is a bit inconsiderate to all the non-bikers and those who just want some peace and quiet. We would definitely come back, just not on any bike meetups.

us4bates

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 17:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Adequate site but….

This is a decent enough site however we found it quite a trek to Brighton Marina which is situated just outside of the campsite (at least a 20-30 min walk). Ok walking there downhill, however bear in mind the walk back is uphill. For someone with mobility problems, elderly or just not in peak condition this would be a problem. However if you want to take your car there is a free multi story car park adjacent to the Marina and an ASDA. A word of caution; eating/drinking at the Marina is expensive. An ‘attractions’ pack of places to go and of interest is available from reception, which was nice but a lot of the leaflets were for places further afield, so not that useful. Site itself was kept immaculately clean and there were men on grass cutters driving around the site quite regularly. I did not use the shower facilities but my husband did and he said people were not being considerate about how they left their shower cubicles. People are required to squeegee out the floor of their shower cubicles after use, ready for the next user. This was obviously not being done by all users. We didn’t have any children with us this time which we were glad about as something happened whilst we were there that could have been quite upsetting for them (but more about that later). Tbh, I don’t think this site is a site for children as it doesn’t have much to entertain them and there seemed to be lots of older campers (us amongst them!) and not too many with families. Saying that it is a nicely placed site for getting to Brighton itself (park at the multi story car park by the Marina and walk through - opposite side to the ASDA - the underpass along the front to the VOLKS electric railway (White building on the right, takes about 5 minutes) and get a lift along the seafront to Brighton Pier (£5 ish return per adult). One of the highlights of our trip! A walk around the LANES in the middle of Brighton town is nice and well worth it, although it can get pretty crowded. It seems Brighton is an expensive place! We took a trip out to a NT house (Bateman’s) which was fabulous (about an 1.5 hrs from the site). Wonderful house and very friendly and knowledgeable guides and great little tea room. Well worth the trip. Unfortunately there was some trouble on site one night (we actually thought the noise was from some rowdy teenagers) when a male guest decided that it would be appropriate to not only smash up his accommodation (not sure if it was his own caravan or one of the glamping pods) but to batter his wife/partner in front of their children. There was much shouting and disruption and the police were called by their immediate neighbours on either side of them. Possibly drink was involved but that is just my speculation. It was (is) the poor children I feel sorry for. The next day we heard more details that were shocking. These sort of things cannot be foreseen but having read previous reviews hasn’t there been another incident like this before?

travellertwo

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 19:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

CAMC southern racetrack

Great location with loads to do from site by car or bike or walk. Brighton is a lovely city with many interesting streets and food outlets. Site is great and facilities kept clean by friendly wardens. Have now moved to rookesbury where the 5mph speed limit is actually enforced 👍. Brighton however seems to have no speed restrictions in place making it an ideal site for those that need to get from the barrier to their residence in the shortest time possible. Mostly the members of the tent / pod field are the racing drivers, can put you off your relaxing drink / BBQ and not great for kids walking round the site. If there is a speed limit, how about enforcing it rather than a blind eye.

mrmike

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2021 15:05

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site, staff super helpful

Stayed for a week in a camper with awning, a child, 2 dogs as a cat. Lovely site, close to lots of fun things to do. Site is lovely, spacious pitches and staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. I would definitely recommend!

Clarag

Reviewed on 21/08/2021 18:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another great visit to the Brighton site

We recently stayed at this site for just over 2 weeks. We were greeted by Paul and Donna who were absolutely brilliant! Nothing was too much trouble. Despite the dreadful weather, they carried out their duties with a smile on their faces, even when cleaning out the loos! If all wardens could be as helpful and cheery it really would make a difference. We’ll done to the Brighton club overall for providing a super site. However, the landscaping needs a little attention in the form of hedge cutting and re turfing some of the grass pitches. I’m sure management will get on top of this. We look forward to our return next year and hope that Paul and Donna will be there to meet and greet. Sara Aug 21

Sara Morgan

Reviewed on 14/08/2021 14:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Another great visit

We made our annual visit for what should have been Pride weekend - even though the festivities had been cancelled due to the pandemic. Initial check-in was great - the lovely new wardens Paul and Donna checked us in (please can they be here next year too!) and we managed to secure a pitch close to friends who had also made the trip. The awning was soon up and the caravan was soon lit up to be followed that evening by burgers with friends and what has become the traditional movie night arranged by a fellow camper. All the vans and motorhomes in the surrounding areas were invited to join us and it was great that Paul and Donna did too - not only were they lovely as wardens but also good to spend time with whilst off duty. Another night was out annual version of caravan-come-dine-with-me which was as fun as ever - great food and company. Paul even freshly mowed an area of grass that had not been done for a few days for us which was above and beyond. Toilet facilities were as good as ever and scupulously cleaned each day. Despite the weather closing in to become a horrid wet weekend we still enjoyed our trip and cannot wait for next year. Once again - Brighton didn't fail to deliver and here's to 2022

LGWAlan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/08/2021 14:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Poor stay

Just stayed for a night camping at the Brighton site. We've been coming here camping for over 20 years, as we love Brighton and have always had a nice stay here. Having not been for a while, we were looking forward to coming back here as it holds some nice memories for us. However, we stayed in the the large camping field below the glamping pods, in the field above. At 3 - 4 in the morning I heard a female screaming loudly, followed by loud banging of doors. This was followed by more shouting and a fight breaking out at 7-8 in the morning. The police were called by a fellow camper who said this had been going on all morning. There were families with young children in our field and they should not have had to listen to this frightening anti-social behaviour. When we left the next morning we packed up our tent and my wife decided to get changed in the toilets on the way out used by the caravans (as we did not want to get changed before packing up as it had been raining and we did not want to get dirty). I pulled in by the loos and we grabbed our clothes for a quick change. As I did this a warden (about 50-60 years old) came behind me on a mini van pulling a trailer,. He barked 'you can't leave that there!' I said I was only going to be a minute and was only going to get changed (not thinking this was a problem). He carried on saying I had to move and that the space was for caravans and campervans. I told him to calm down as he was being quite rude. My wife had already gone in to change, so I had to move the car a few hundred yards away, by the exit to the site as there was nowhere else to stop and tell them in the office (as they obviously were touchy about where you left your car!). I then had to walk back up to the toilet, but by then my wife had changed and had gone looking for me, as the car was not there. After about 20 minutes we found each other. With a bit of patience and understanding, this would have taken us a couple of minutes tops! I feel that even though rules are rules, there is a way of going about things. The warden in question is obviously a jobsworth, who likes his little bit of power over customers. However, we are still customers and if you want to people to keep returning to your business, you treat them in a respectful manner. I did not see a sign stating that only caravans could park there (I might not have seen it though TBH), but customers still deserve respect. Shame, nice site but there are problems there.

Brynhawk

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/08/2021 11:31

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer