Bromyard Downs Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

great site

We have just spent a lovely week at Bromyard its a lovely site. The wardens have done a wonderful job and the site is a credit to them. Very helpful and friendly wardens . The site is in a lovely area and handy for walks and NT properties Would highly recommend it

terrymarion

Reviewed on 22/07/2021 19:14

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site, great value for money.

I missed the entrance because the site signage is set back from the road - my mistake. However, once we got to the site it was a real pleasure. To begin with, the area around reception is adorned with flowers and plants, many of which have been grown from seed by the wonderful wardens, Carolyn and John. More displays of flowers are distributed around the site making it extremely attractive. Despite having to close the information room due to COVID, the wardens have made an outside display of relevant information such as local walks, bus times etc, and they are always on hand to offer suggestions and advice about the local area. The National Trust estate of Brockhampton is directly across the road and includes numerous way-marked walks as well as a tea room which was partially open, selling a limited range of food and drinks. The site has a very rural feel to it with lots of trees (had to clean the caravan roof when I got home!) and natural areas, yet it is immaculately kept. Full marks to the staff for making it such a well run and attractive site, and all for £14 a night. What more could you want?

meridienmick

Caravanner from Middlesex

Reviewed on 17/07/2021 15:07

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Campervan Visit April 2021

Very friendly welcome to this very peaceful and well maintained site, especially as the grass pitches had not yet been opened up. Access easy off the main road and the road noise was not too intrusive. Levellers needed on our pitch. Perfect site if you like to walk directly from van with easy access to the Downs, Bringsty Common, Brockhampton NT Estate and plentiful footpaths. Lovely to see all the effort put in by the wardens to enhancing the tranquility of the site with bird feeders and flowers. We would be very happy to return again to this excellent value site.

RichardLynne

Reviewed on 25/04/2021 09:31

40 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Short stay

What a welcome after lockdown Caroline and John are the friendliest warden's ever they have really worked hard on updating this site could not fault them at all all facilities are spotless. Yes there is road noise as the site is adjacent to the main A44 but it's quieter at night does not bother us at all.Brockhampton estate opposite, National Trust is worth a visit and the walk over the downs is great. For a short visit this site is for us excellent been several times and now it's even better as the club have cleared out a lot of imposing trees and bushes we will certainly be back. A BIG THANK YOU CAROLINE AND JOHN.

glenorm

Caravanner from West Midlands

Reviewed on 20/04/2021 08:14

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Beware of bus times

We stayed here for three nights in September as we wanted a look at Hereford and there is a bus stop right outside site. Using our bus passes meant catching 11-08 bus, but the last bus to return from Hereford arrives at the site at 12-20! So would have had to get the 07-08 bus to see any of the City. The site does suffer with road noise as the site is on a hill and motorbikes seem to use it as a race track .Phill was friendly and always had time to chat. Overall it is okay for a short stop,but we will not be back.

conecrusher

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 20/09/2019 10:47

21 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good basic site but road noise could be a problem.

I stayed here at the time of the folk festival in Bromyard so found the traffic noise quite intrusive, especially as the nearby road seems to be a favourite for speeding motorbikes and boy racers. I chose the site for easy dog walking but the footpaths were rather overgrown and stiles not dog friendly so be aware if you have a large dog who needs lifting over . On the plus side the Downs are close by and provide excellent walking opportunities .The facilities are basic but well maintained . Like other reviewers I would like to see more of these minimum facility sites.

Bootleg

Reviewed on 20/09/2019 09:00

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

good value for money

We used the site in August, one night on way down to Devon and 3 nights on way back. The site is clean and well maintained by the wardens, who were very helpful in other ways too. The traffic noise is only faint despite being on a lower pitch near the road and did not present a sleeping problem. The main problem we found was the horrendous traffic jams to and from the M5 when passing Worcester. Queueing on the A4440 in both directions and stationary on approach to the many roundabouts. Don't let that put you off using the site though - well worth the wait.

faz726

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 15/08/2019 19:51

24 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Compact site

Stayed for two separate nights en route and returning from Cornwall. Site is well positioned and very easy to find but unfortunately this also means that there is a lot of car and lorry noise from a surprisingly busy road between Leominster and Worcester. Wardens were very pleasant and welcoming but as this is not a very busy site office hours were restricted. As a value for money site it cannot be faulted.

hywelsycharth

Caravanner from Gwynedd

Reviewed on 22/07/2019 11:43

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely part of the country

Stayed on this site for 4 nights in mid June, and despite poor weather over several days we enjoyed it very much. There are nice walks directly from the site, and a delightful NT property (Brockhampton) only a short walk away. Worcester and Hereford are both easy to get to by bus from directly outside the site. Hereford (even on a very wet day) was well worth a visit. Previous comments about excessive road noise are greatly exaggerated. You can hear the traffic, but it was not (in our opinion) at all intrusive. Finally, the wardens were friendly and helpful. PS - It is possible to walk to Bromyard from the site, but take advice regarding the best route . . . . we got it wrong, and had to ask directions from a friendly local.

Geoffn1

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 11/07/2019 15:51

38 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing site for a break

Our first time on this site, wish we had been before as we have caravanned for over 35years. The site is quite small and on two levels. There are two levels to it with both grass and hard standing on both, I think the upper level is slightly sunnier than the lower but both very nice. Never far to walk when getting water, emptying water or the loo. Be aware, there is a bus stop just outside but the lay-by for it does not reach to entrance so you may, like me be slightly misled about turning into the entrance but NO problems, probably me. We had sic nights here and found it very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyed winding down for a few days. Not far into Bromyard itself where there is limited shopping and not far to Leominster where there is Aldi and Morrisons for shopping. We hope to go again in the not too distant future. We would like to see more of these, some call basic sites, with modern vans you do not need all the showers/toilets etc, they are in the van. Being on the side of a main road, though some noise as mentioned it is easy to get too without going up and down narrow roads. Keep it up.

TheGriffi

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 04/07/2019 18:11

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer