Carnon Downs Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Business as usual

I have stayed at carnon downs at least six times before and this being the first time as a CAMC site and business is normal .The team and facilities were great including coffee and croissant in the morning during a dog walk followed by a ice cold beer in the evening .l wish Will and his team all the best looking after this wonderful site

colin417

Reviewed on 10/10/2021 05:44

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

FAB-U-LOUS

THE GOOD BITS: What a wonderful site! The site is so easy to get to. No worries about narrow lanes or tight bends. The entrance is very welcoming and kept very clean. Reception are a delight. Professional and wonderfully helpful. It's great that you can book a pitch number when booking as it makes arriving so much smoother and calmer. There is no rush for everyone to turn up at the same time all trying to get a pitch meaning you can arrive when you want and not have the hassle of driving round and round. It is certainly the best laid out site I have been to. All the areas are divided up in to "paddocks". We stayed on the GREEN FIELD and I would definitely choose this area again. Immaculately clean. Pitches are very large and the whole site is calm and peaceful. Facilities are kept clean. Showers are Wonderfully hot and have amazing pressure (beats my power shower at home). There are water stations everywhere so never too far to collect water. These also have fire equipment at every one so it's reassuring that safety is taken seriously. There is a coffee shop open each day and a small bar at night, although we didn't use them they looked very nice and were used by other guests. While we were there they had some evening entertainment as well as some visiting 'food vans' which seemed very popular. There were numerous play areas for children and a large enclosed field for them to play/cycle on. Outside of the main entrance is a bus stop with buses to Truro and Falmouth throughout the day and evening. An adult single in to Truro was £4. All in all it is a top quality site that I would gladly stay at again. BUT I DO HAVE SOME CONCERNS WITH CMHC TAKING OVER. The site is run beautifully at the moment. There are 2 thins that makes this site stand out from the others. Firstly, children are not allowed to ride bikes and scooters around the park but are asked to use the designated areas set aside for them. This works WONDERFULLY. Its safer and quieter for everyone staying. I hope that CMHC keep this rule as its one of the attractions of the site but I fear this may be revoked and the field used for pitches to 'maximise' profit. Secondly, the booking a pitch system is superb. Like I said before it stops the 12 noon rush of everyone arriving together which in turn helps with congestion not only at the site but also on the roads. This is not a site you can drive around looking for a pitch as it's set up as paddocks/cul-de-sacs. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE don't change this CMHC, it will spoil some of the appeal of this truly wonderful gem of a site

marsdensear

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/09/2021 14:14

1 review

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Site with drainage issues

We had been recommended this site by friends and when we arrived we were not disappointed. Good pitches, well laid out. Fish & Chips van & entertainment in the evening. Great start…. BUT…… next morning when the daily chore of emptying the cassette arrived, I was shocked to find an overflowing chemi facility. It was so disgusting I was actually nearly sick. I mentioned this to a member of the site team and they said that the site did have drainage issues. Suggested they close this one off, it must be a H & S issue. The two other chemi toilets were much newer but even one of those was closed off as it was full on another day. This older facility was near The Green. So if you go ask to pitch somewhere else or you will have a longer walk to the new facilities. Shame as this really marred by opinion of this site,

carreraman

Campervanner

Reviewed on 28/09/2021 16:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice Stay

We stayed here for 4 nights. Site is nice and clean. Each evening different options for meals were offered by 3rd party vendors. Pizza and others. Wednesday they obtained a traditional SEA Shanty Folk singers a very nice little concert and well attended the beer was nice too. The site is great for children and adults alike. Its a great base for trips around Cornwall TV reception was fine and I used 4G my own service. .

EnglishmaninWales

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2021 19:56

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Best site we have stayed at

We arrived at Carnon downs on Sunday 4th July for 2 weeks. We had originally booked to go in 2020, our booking was carried over to this year, the site is very well laid out, we stayed on a grass pitch that was a lot larger than the normal caravan club pitches that we are used to. Shower blocks very clean with large cubical's. The last 3 trips to Cornwall we have stayed at Godrevy in Hayle, but from now on Carnon Down will becour first choice. My only issue is there is no internet that reaches to the pitches, the only internet available is near reception/cafe, I was told the the club are going to install boosters around the site for next year.

Matt

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 17/07/2021 14:06

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great staff

This was our second visit to Carnon Downs and everything was as good as before. We had a problem with our motorhome and the staff were excellent offering great advice and support - thank you. 5 Star Philip Brown

philiphlcs

Reviewed on 16/07/2021 10:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First Class Site

We stayed at Carnon Downs from the 3rd to the 8th of June, our first visit there and our first visit to Cornwall. I booked when it was affiliated and when it became a CAMC site I was a bit concerned in case the transfer detected anything. I had need not worry as it is a perfect site and was very clean and tidy and had excellent facilities that were cleaned within an inch of their lives. The facilities are also excellent, several options in each block and a very good Covid system in place. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and very hard working, especially Will who is the previous owners son and now Deputy Manager. There seems to be food virtually every day of the week but we only tried the wood fired pizzas which were excellent, even my wife who isn't really a pizza fan loved hers too. We were up at the back on a serviced pitch beside The Paddock, yes you could hear some traffic on the A39 but it was never an issue. We did find it amusing that the double roundabout up at the road into town always seemed to have a traffic jam but quickly cleared through. Very impressed and if we are back in the area will definitely look at going to Carnon Downs again

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Ideal Location in Cornwall

We have just returned from a week at Carnon Downs. We booked as an affiliated site but the transfer to CMC worked well. We were located in the "Green" section which is on the right as you enter. Our grass pitch was very generous and well spaced from adjacent pitches, all surrounded by trees. It is a little close to the A39 road and while this did not prevent us sleeping at night, we were very aware of traffic noise during the daytime. However, that said, as the site is close to that road access is very easy. Another plus for the green area was that it has an adjacent ablution block. This has the toilets separated from the showers which is a great bonus when you are limited on numbers in a building. There are Unisex showers and also family shower rooms. Around and about there are numerous attractions, but allow plenty of time as even in June, outside of school holidays, there was a lot of traffic and regular hold ups.The village of Carnon Downs is an easy walk away and has a well stocked SPAR shop. On the edge of the village is an excellent garden centre, claiming to be the best in Cornwall. Under CMC ownership I am sure the site will prosper. We will certainly return.

Octavius

Reviewed on 23/06/2021 16:57

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

June 2021

Carnon Downs caravan site has been developed & run by Simon successfully & has now been acquired by the Caravan Club, we hope that it will be managed in a tactful manner as many people treasure this site. The Covid precautions need to be reviewed as the elastic band system used for the toilets/showers/laundry meant that the one small red bucket inadequate for the multiple elastic bands leaving many high & dry above the Milton solution. The roof vents & doors not utilised by opening & reducing risks, all left shut. The challenge of these facilities being shut 9-10am for cleaning not easy as no warning given on one occasion.Only one washing machine working, the other two awaiting repairs, very difficult for this large site. Just hope these difficulties are sorted quickly as this should be such an amazing site.

Dereksara

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/06/2021 21:34

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

A well laid out site, with plenty of space on and between pitches. The facilities were spotlessly clean and are some of the best we have found on sites around the country. The area across the lane where we were, would however benefit, at some stage, from an additional facilities block . The visiting food take away services were well used!! A site to return to - next time without the G7 at St Ives!!

Daisy30

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/06/2021 17:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer