Carsington Water Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic

Excellent site, set amongst the trees in a wood overlooking Carsington Water We've stayed twice, both times on the new super pitches which really are excellent - just make sure you bring rock pegs and a good hammer !

WilderG

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 24/06/2022 11:34

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely, quiet, clean & well maintained site Except

No issues with the site with exception of:- No staff had info on the bus times, destinations, bus stops or frequency. I was informed by one of the wardens that they were still struggling to understand them since they arrived on the site themselves. In fact they informed me that another member had the same problems so he decided find out and printed them off his self. The info was not clear at all and did not show last buses, stops & where to catch them. Another piece of useful information would have been to let people know that all buses must be hailed down if not they wouldn’t stop even if you were waiting at a bus stop. Also there were difficult to identify vouchers to obtain 25% off bus fairs if staying at the site, I believe this should have been highlighted and even handed out on arrival especially if you arrive in a Motorhome & not informed by a bus driver.

Clive H

Reviewed on 21/06/2022 18:17

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First time stay

Our first visit to Derbyshire and the Peak District and we couldn’t have picked a better site to start our visit. A lovely welcome awaited us and with the departure of 73 units this day, we had a huge choice of pitches - all with the fairly new doubke-post pitch markers. As others have mentioned, all the pitches are among the lovely pine trees of the area - but mustn’t forget that pitching under trees in the rain is not be recommended! The site is exceptionally well maintained with possibly the cleanest washroom facilities I’ve seen. Especially liked the little baskets provided for your chemical waste cassette lids and tops etc - this also saves the site staff having to retrieve said objects from the pipes! There is a super 7.5 mile circular walk/cycle-track round the reservoir, just 200 yards or so along a footpath from the site entrance - so avoiding the fast road- but be warned, the track had done steepish hills that were even a challenge for E-bikes! The bus service which can be hailed from outside the entrance is excellent serving Ashbourne and Matlock among other places - but another exceptional gem is the community bus service - which will collect you from and drop you back at the site reception for £2.50 each way (or free after 9:30 using your bus pass) all it takes a a phone call and they’ll give you available times and days. Used this to get to and from Dovedale - brilliant! Spent four nights here and loved it!

Kentish Motorhomer

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/06/2022 15:15

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Tranquil Pine Forest Setting

Enjoyed our stay - Set within a tranquil pine forest surrounded by nature including rabbits and birds - Mr Robin kept sitting on our dogs bowl and pinching the kibble (obviously likes Burns dog mixer) - Shafts of sunlight filtering through the trees, but with open areas for full sun - Less windy and cooler site when hot, rather than one just set within an open field - Peaceful and a great place for unwinding and relaxing - Carsington water access, plus a great walk from the top of the site to Biggin and kirk Ireton - Fantastic dog walk, not just for dogs - Food catering services on specific nights (unfortunately not on our nightly stays) - Well spaced out site - Just a couple of niggles: Price per night, and the older hardstanding pitches could do with a bit of renovation as they appear to be trying to look after themselves and nature is taking over them, but this may be in hand as the serviced pitches have had new gravel laid - Would have preferred the toilet/shower block to have been closed for cleaning after 12.00 rather than after 10:00 as per the brochure or 10:45 as per sign on door - Would like to return one day

Midgefly

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/06/2022 17:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of our favourite sites... only a couple of niggles

We love this site. All the pitches lie within a Scots Pine plantation and the smell and feel of the place makes you feel like you're 'wild-camping' rather than staying on a formal campsite. There are lovely views of the nearby Carsington Water from one side of the site and an easy walk to the visitors' centre by the lake. Facilities on-site are very modern and and spotlessly clean. The wardens are welcoming, helpful and fiendly and the site is ideal for exploring the surrounding Peak District. There is a nice dog-walk from the site and a good Fish & Chip van visits on Wed evenings and Pizza on Sat nights. Our only 'niggles' are that the hard-standing pitches here are badly in need of a refurbishment with most of them gradually returning to nature. In the majority of them you cannot tell where the grass ends and the pitch begins, they are so overgrown. The other 'niggle' applies to all CAMC sites, and that is their failure to reinstate shower curtains in the toilet blocks now that Covid restrictions have been lifted. Come on CAMC; do your job and fix these things!

iareed

Campervanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 13/06/2022 12:16

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful location

This is a beautiful location and very convenient for visiting the villages, towns and interesting sites in the area. Very friendly staff and well kept site and facilities. Food vans currently visit Friday and Saturday evening. Lots of walks directly from site - including a nice woodland walk that circles the park. It’s a short walk to Carsington Water where there is a cafe, play area and some water sports. Lots of places to eat nearby. We walked to The Red Lion for lunch and the food was really good. We will definitely return as there is a lot to see and do in the area. Worth researching as we discovered a number of events happening - Hidden Gardens open days, village fairs and discounted tickets for Ecclesbourne Steam Railway.

TheWhalleys

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/06/2022 10:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Friendly and helpful staff

We arrived at the camp site on Wednesday, found an appropriate pitch and started setting up the caravan and various utilities i.e. electricity, gas & water. However after filling the aqua roll we found to our dismay that the water pump had decided not to work. To our surprise and delight one of the staff on site kindly said that he had a spare water pump, the same make as ours, and that we could borrow it for the duration of our stay. This act of kindness meant that we could enjoy our break as planned and avoid the need to go out searching for a replacement. A new pump has subsequently been ordered on our return home. This is the second time we have stayed here and have always found the site and facilities to be clean, tidy and well looked after. An excellent location to explore the various towns and attractions.

ScreenName922C6824D8

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/06/2022 19:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Few days away

Stayed at Carsington water for four nights . A absolute gem of a site . Lovely facilities, hot water all the time in the shower. Great dog walk around the site and plenty of walks straight off the site . All the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Will be returning as soon as we can

Bradders01

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/05/2022 16:51

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

excellent stay

excellent stay, site was safe and clean, facilities extremely well cleaned and plentyful, site staff very helpful and polite, some very sunny pitches, easy access to carsington water / reservoir for cycle / walk. Chippy wagon visited whilst we stayed, site also advertised other days and other types of takeaways that visit the site car park. Information center full of useful leaflets and info.

Bailey620

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/05/2022 17:55

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Quiet, peaceful location with excellent facilities and warm welcome

From first arrival this felt like a well organised site - friendly people, beautiful location and excellent facilities. We stayed for three nights on the May Bank Holiday weekend, and walked from the site to local pubs, reservoir walks and footpaths. The toilet and shower facilities are very clean, tidy and modern. We'll definitely come back

ScreenNameBA015002B6

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2022 15:04

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer