Cayton Village Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice site but..........

Just had a weekend, great facilities, nice wardens,managed to pitch my caravan on the lower (original part of the site). My concern is the new pitches, on the upper part of the site ,look great for long motorhomes ,as they are long and thin, not able to fit an awning and car either side of the caravan ,meaning the car has to park across the front of the van , and I don't want to look out at my car, only a small concern I know and I'm sure a lot of members won't care,but it's not for me , I see the reasoning the club can fit more pitches on a site ,and I guess this will be the case on all new site updates unfortunately , maybe these new pitches could be classified as motor home pitches. Please keep some wider pitches for caravans , and I will be happy.

fatcharly

Caravanner from North Yorkshire

Reviewed on 18/10/2021 20:08

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very Nice Site, but....................

Having stayed at Cayton Village campsite 2 years ago, we were very excited to see the newly refurbished facilities at the site. We were not disappointed by the all of the work that had been carried out and the addition of the new glamping pods. The standard of the site is exceptional and as some members of our family were staying in a glamping pod, we could also take a look inside. Again we were very impressed with the interior standard of the pod we looked at. The quality of the interior is higher than I expected and very tastefully designed. Now unfortunately we come to the negatives. The washroom facilities are certainly the best we have seen anywhere, but what use are washroom facilities that are closed from 9.30am until 11.00am? This is much too early for most people who whilst away on holiday probably won't be up much before 9-9.30 and by the time you get to the facilities, they are closed. Also, if you are setting out for the day, you are probably leaving site around10'ish which means that the toilets will be closed.This is important for people leaving the site for the day and possibly won't have access to toilets for some time. Today I arrived at the facilities at 9.29 which I understand is very close to 9.30, but was not allowed in. Not a problem in itself, but when I, in a friendly manner suggested that they were there "on the dot" I was met with an extremely gruff "Aye". 9.30am is much to early to shut down the facilities. Surely 10.30 would be a more acceptable time. I understand that site staff have a considerable work load, but this should not impact on the enjoyment of campers. I would have thought that work around the site could be scheduled in such a way that the washroom facilities could remain open much later than 9.30. If the work load does not permit later closing, then I feel that the club needs to look at staffing levels that would bring into line the access to washroom facilities with the normal requirements of campers. With regard to the departure time of the glamping pods, 10am is rather early for families with small children to vacate their accommodation. We have stayed at a number of club sites since we joined the club in 2015 and have always found site staff both friendly and accommodating. Such is not the atmosphere at Cayton Village. Whilst some staff members were very friendly and service oriented, we did find that some of the staff were a bit 'short'. Not the usual friendly approach we have found at club sites. Again I can only put this down to the the possibility that staffing levels are possibly too low and that staff maybe feel under pressure.

philip00747

Reviewed on 09/10/2021 11:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

3 days at Cayton Village

Nice welcome on arrival and with the site being very quiet we had the pick of 100's of pitches Toilet/shower block was first class We toured Scarborough/Whitby/Pickering/North York Moors and Robin Hoods Bay and managed to get parked at all locations Thornton Le Dale and a stop at Mathewson's (Bangers & Cash) was a highlight for me and most of the cast in the showroom at the time of our visit Star Inn was a 5 minute walk from our pitch and food/service was very good Weather was mixed but it was early October

gwandtw

Reviewed on 07/10/2021 13:00

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Our 2nd visit to Cayton Village having visited the site in 2019 and before the refurbishment. The site is in a fabulous location halfway between Filey and Scarborough and the nearby beach at Cayton Bay is only a 15 min walk away. The redesigned and refurbished site is fantastic and well set out. It is clear that a great deal of thought has gone into the planning and design of the site,so well done to all those involved. The pitches are large and spacious and there are a good number of them which have hedges around them offering more privacy. The two shower blocks are modern and clean with ample facilities. There is a nice picnic area on the lower part of the site with a number of picnic benches. There is a nice dog walking area which runs around the outside edge of the site. There is a good number of service points located around the site. The Star Inn which is located in the village of Cayton is only a 5 min walk away from the site,we visited a couple of times during our stay,the food is good and the pub has a good atmosphere. Our only contact with staff during our 3 night stay was on our arrival and we found them to be very pleasant and helpful. We love the area and usually visit a couple of times a year. We will definitely use this site again.

Shaun Fairhurst

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/10/2021 21:32

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Unexpected gem, highly recommended

We stayed at the newly updated site in September & had a fabulous stay. The facilities are everything you would expect from a club site, well designed and spotless. The wardens were a team, never less than friendly and helpful. The club shop is small but well stocked. The location is excellent, on the edge of Cayton village and a longer, but reasonably easy walk to Cayton Bay. The village has facilities for visitors but there are plenty of other options nearby. Cayton Bay is a lovely, unspoilt bay with a wide expanse of clean, soft sand. The views from the cliff tops is beautiful. The proximity to nearby, busier resorts is a welcome bonus. You can walk into Scarborough or Filey if you want. However the bus services 12 & 13 go from Scarborough to Bridlington with lots of stops between including at the site gates. We found the service clean, frequent & on time, with friendly drivers - we used it often during our stay. We particularly enjoyed visits to Filey, a lovely, unspoilt seaside town with a range of independent shops, a micro brewery & some good eateries. We are reluctant to give the site the praise it deserves as we may not be able to book in future but certainly intend too!

ScreenName684D79819F

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/10/2021 17:26

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site, well presented, fabulous facilities and friendly wardens

We arrived slightly early to the site and parked up and checked in. When we were able to get on site, we drove around to find our perfect spot. We were on the top field and found that this suited us perfectly - nice wide hard standing and grass area to sit out on, with trees and wild flowers surrounding. Connection was easy to the electric and not far to get water. We wandered to the wash block and wow... it was our first stay on a CAMS, having stayed at other types of sites before. Who knew washrooms could be so well planned, fresh and well presented! Each block has separate male and female washrooms with spacious showers with hooks and a bench in each cubical and temperature adjustable water. Likewise there were sufficient loos, private washrooms, sinks and two hair driers. We were also very impressed with the family washroom - bath, walk in shower, loo, sink, changing area and hair drier - perfect for families (separate disable washroom too). The wardens were friendly and helpful. We liked the little shop that was open 9am to 5.30pm each day. Although small it had essentials and some treats (bread, sweets, wine, lollies etc) all at standard prices. The site is well located for the beach (turn left as you leave the site) which is a 30 minute gentle stroll then a steepish drop from the road down a lane). But the beach is so worth it... long stretch of soft pale sand, WW2 pill boxes to search out and lots of surfers riding the waves. Just by the steps to the beach there is a snack shack (burgers, bacon butties and drinks) and a council toilet block (not so fresh but at least there if needed). There are also seats half way up the slope to rest and take in the view. If you fancy a trip further afield, you don’t need a car as there are bus stops at the site entrance with regular buses - site side to Scarborough and opposite side to Filey and Bridlington. Overall we were very impressed, the site is in a good location, felt secure (barriers for vehicles to enter), had excellent clean and fresh facilities, with friendly wardens and the benefits of a little shop. We enjoyed our visit and are looking forward to returning.

JackJE

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/10/2021 15:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site,

Excellent site could not falt it ,would recommend to all vaners, easy to get to ,nice area, could not get in the farrier restaurant as it's always booked, must be as it won 4 in a bed on tv,(shame)the pub served good meals,handy shops, the only falt I had was a fellow camper had an open fired bbq ,embers from that had burned holes and scorched the roof of my brand new blow up awning I don't know weather I was lucky or unlucky as the hole was 25mms from one of the air tubes, I await the club's respond on this issue, so please be aware of open fired bbqs,otherwise had a great stay.

inky

Reviewed on 29/09/2021 19:00

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A True Gem

We travelled over from a short stay nearer to York, yes this is quite expensive compared to other CAMC sites but boy what a little gem in a great place, read some complaints about times facilities closed, and how the layout of top field was inconsistent with the norm, how the hardstanding pebbles were hard to walk on. We were greated by terrific wardens made aware of differences of upper and lower field's, choose to stay on upper field loved it . We extended our stay twice luckily. So much to do around to suit different people. We are coming back at Christmas. We can only assume bad reviews are from members who seek to find fault. Its only what you make it. Or Dont.

lizrocks

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/09/2021 10:14

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Stayed July and September. We have now stayed at this site twice this year. The first time on a grass pitch and the second in the top area. The first time we had to put up with the construction of the yurts which was continuous hammering and drilling for three days. The second visit was by far way better. An earlier review commented on the sound of church clock and barking from kennels. It is a fact of life that these things existed long before the site. The facilities are all new and the wardens keep them spotlessly clean but unfortunately a few inconsiderate people using the site fail to appreciate that they have these excellent facilities. Unfortunately, when we were there the second time, there was a shortage of wardens. At any time there should have been a minimum of six but there were only four to carry out all the duties. They were always polite, helpful and taking action when incidents of speeding or non rule compliance occurred. You can understand if they didn’t always have a smile being under that pressure. The Club needs to value and take care of their staff. One of the wardens, during our second stay, took the trouble to bring to our caravan fresh cooked fish and chips which was much appreciated. Thanks for a great stay.

Cornerstones

Reviewed on 24/09/2021 21:44

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

What a transformation!

First visited Cayton Village site a couple of months after CAMC had taken over; it was a pleasant enough private/ affiliated site, but we were blown away by the transformation that's happened over the last year. The facilities are state of the art - everything from first impressions at reception/ shop barriers and entry are immaculate and the team were really pleasant with friendly advice and a cheery hello. It's a large site, but it still manages to feel intimate - the atmosphere was wonderful; very peaceful and we'd definitely recommend - indeed it'll be one we'll be returning to in the future.

BornToRock

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 17:58

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer