Cayton Village Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site spoilt by building work

We recently had 6 nights at Cayton a lovely site with new facilities and a bus stop right outside for easy travel into Filey Scarborough and Bridlington. In the main we enjoyed our stay but spoiling it was the constant noise and beeping from the building site which even though we were on the top site (following the advice at check in about the building work behind the lower site) was annoying. The constant smell of frying from the nearby McCains chip factory if the wind was in the right direction and it was for most of our stay. The ‘planned’ maintenance that we weren’t informed of when choosing our pitch which entailed the grass being cut on some spare ground behind us and after that a small digger came and scraped the soil off into piles which were then moved and dumped into other piles causing clouds of dust this went on from lunchtime until almost 6pm. We and others couldn’t sit outside for the noise and dust and after paying almost £40 a night to have this for a whole afternoon wasn’t on. The wardens making an elderly man move his awning or take it down on a very hot afternoon was a bit ‘jobsworth’ mean and dangerous given the gents age and the hot day, he’d been there three days when it was decided he was breaking the rules having his awning onto the grass he was at the end of a row with a smaller grass area two pebble paths and a road (more than 6 metres) between his awning and the next outfit. He was extremely upset agreed he was at fault and said he would take it down. We and another couple helped to move his caravan and awning so he wasn’t breaking the rules which under the circumstances could have been relaxed a little especially as opposite him was a motorhome with its awning pitched onto the grass and closer than the 6 metre rule ??? I appreciate the 6 meter rule is for fire safety and totally agree with it but he was more than 6 metres from the next outfit so a bit of leniency and consideration from the wardens on this occasion wouldn’t have been out of place. Nice well kept site conveniently placed for exploring the surrounding area but spoilt at the moment by being adjacent to a noisy building site.

Appymotohomers

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/08/2022 10:54

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Don’t go whilst the building work is on going

We booked what looks like a lovely site, the noise and dust from the building site was horrendous, building work started at 07:30 most mornings mon to fri. The dust clouds would just cover your outfit. As much as we were offered to move pitch (after we had already set up on a fully serviced pitch) there were no other service pitches which would have made our stay any better. 2 of the hottest days of the year and all the windows and sky lights had to be shut tight. I’m sure this is normally a lovely site facility’s are of an excellent standard good showers etc, but whilst the building work is taking place just 4 or 5 meters away, I’d stay away.

Kev cottee

Reviewed on 26/07/2022 20:36

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First timers

Really lovely place to stay good location for bus routes, safe spaces between static vehicles the staff were always pleasant and polite with an element of humour. Very good standard of cleanliness in toilets, showers and overall site. There was only one thing that was letting the site down which was not the blame of the site itself but building works located adjacent. We will be booking in the near future as this was an exceptional place to stay

ScreenNameFB20C294DB

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/07/2022 16:02

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Significant building around parameter and heightened rule application

The layout and set up of the site is lovely and location with so much to do is ideal for many travellers, couples, singles or family as we were. Heavily disappointing is the heightened level of rule application that even for Caravan Club took us by surprise. Be aware of the 3 abreast patrols that go around checking for slight infringements. Also the patronising tone should there dare be an issue to be advised. As a 40 something my last recall of being spoken to in such a way was back pinching sweets out the cupboard as a small child. Currently the site has a building site on the main parameter which isn’t in the sites control but does in the summer months means high levels of dust that gets everywhere. It is disappointing this isn’t pre-warned as a new housing estate isn’t a short term impact and no offer of compensation/ complimentary offering to this negative impact is even considered, again showing up poor customer service.

Seanyboi30

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/07/2022 20:57

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Holiday spoilt by noise and dust

On arrival the only serviced pitches available were very close to the adjacent building site. We were on pitch 24, with frequent loud noises of heavy machinery during the weekdays from about 07:30 to 4ish. The dust from the works covered lots of caravans/cars and awnings in quite a widespread area around this pitch. Some people left the site early or had to move pitches. Unfortunately we did not have our water barrels so couldn’t move until the next morning when another service pitch was vacant number 132. We had the hassle of setting up twice in less than 24 hours including awning up, down then up again. Here the dust was less but the noise of machinery still woke us early morning as the building site extended quite a long way around the perimeter of the caravan site. The facilities were great, modern shower blocks, playground for children. The site is near to lovely beaches and approx 4 miles to Filey and Scarborough. We have informed the Club of our concerns and have been told that under-the section “before you travel” it does alert to the adjacent building site and potential for dust/noise. We have suggested that a warning should be added to the main page of the site and/ or before you book to be alerted to this possible disruption prior to booking. This will allow people to be fully informed and consider alternatives sites.

labradors r the best

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/07/2022 19:16

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

NOISY NEIGHBOURS?

WE ALL HATE THEM but sometimes they have to rest too. Cayton Village Campsite is a nice place to stay but unfortunately it does have an adjacent construction site and building will continue for some weeks. All that our hosts can do about it is to direct campers to quieter areas and this they seem to do. The noise disturbance is, however, intermittent, not constant, and construction workers are a sensible lot generally aiming to finish work by 4.30pm and, if they can help it, hardly ever work at weekends. Most annoying is the “beep, beep, beep, beep” from plant moving around the construction site. A bit like the dustbin lorry that reverses along the street at 5am to empty the basura under your hotel bedroom window in Tenerife. I never understood why they added the beep, beep, beep, to reversing vehicles when, speaking in percentages, hardly anyone has been badly injured by them, compared to those unfortunates maimed by forward moving vehicles, which are beep, beep, free. But even the annoying beep sound can be mitigated by the direction of the wind which carries it off somewhere else, a bit like the dust that has been spoken about. While campers were experiencing dust-settlement on site at Cayton Village, I have to say, my car was covered too by a thin layer of reddish dust - and I was many miles away at the time. A friend of mine who stayed at an expensive hotel in Scarborough and left his car nearby, returned to find it too had attracted a fine covering of dust - And he paid £145 for the experience.

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely location but excessive noise and dirt from MAJOR adjacent works spoil everything else.

Lovely dog walk where dogs can run off the lead safely. Excellent children/ teenage facilities, even a basketball court. The site is in a great location, short walk to Cayton village and also Cayton Bay beach which is a treasure. The toilet blocks are brand new and kept very clean. However that's where the positives end !! This is a very large site with pitches close together, limited green space and feels more like a packed in commercial site than a Caravan Club site. Google Maps shows green fields adjacent to the site but the reality now is that it is a building site with deep excavation directly behind the service pitches where we unfortunately were booked. From 7.45 to after 5pm large plant roared yards behind our caravan excavating what looked more like a open cast mine than "building work". Due to the dry weather this created a dust cloud over us most of the day which at times looked like fog. Our caravan, awning and car were literally covered in a thick layer of dirt, as were all our neighbours on both sides of the site road. Dust even found it's way inside the caravan through vents and windows which was heart breaking as it was a new caravan and our first outing. Sitting outside in the sunshine was impossible. I have never posted such a negative review before as things like this are not the club's fault but what changed my mind were the wardens. 2 in particular were unhelpful and completely uninterested in our concerns with no apology or empathy which seemed the experience of other members who were affected like us. They knew how bad the service pitches were affected but played this down to us on arrival but still managed to reserve pitches away from the dirt and noise for certain visitors ( not large outfits) . Disappointing and expected much better.

CrazyPeter

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/07/2022 18:22

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site… BUT TERRIBLE DIRT FROM CONSTRUCTION SITE

BE VERY CAREFUL WHERE YOU PITCH ON THIS SITE. The construction site noise was mildly annoying. We were on pitch 23. However we were horrified by the layer of dust/dirt that covered our pitch and everything on it when we returned yesterday. Those around us were equally upset. Fortunately we had left our caravan with all windows and vents shut. Those that didn’t had a layer in dirt inside their caravan. Most of those affected were either leaving the site or moving pitch. Moving pitch when you had already set up a caravan awning is very frustrating and time consuming. The wardens were trying to placate people as best they could with limited options! Its so upsetting when you have cleaned everything before coming on holiday to find it so dirty. One couple had a brand new caravan and were very annoyed. To be balanced… Its a nice site in a great location with good facilities. The wardens are very friendly.

Nunk

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/07/2022 13:47

1 review

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

June 8th until June 11th Martyn and Lorraine

It was our first time visiting this site and now our favourite. Fabulous pitches, spotless facilities and a lovely little friendly shop. All staff were more than helpful and couldn’t do enough for you when needed. It’s only five mins away from the pubs and the frozen farrier is amazing if you want to wine and dine out for an evening. The beach is about 20 mins walk and we were totally amazed of how beautiful the bay is. The water was clear, the sand was fab and a great little shop too for refreshments if needed. It is quite a steep walk down to the bay but has hand rails so just got to be more careful. Also on site a dog walk where you can let your dog off free and very dog friendly. We will definitely be going back soon. Can’t wait !!

ScreenNameD8889708FC

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/07/2022 15:46

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Just had 10 days here. Welcome was great, facilitates are very new and kept clean. Great location for Scarborough. Some have commented on the building work in the field next door, and yes you do hear the noise BUT….. it is nothing compared to the noise the wardens make emptying the bins, driving their petrol vehicles (the wrong way round the one way system) and cutting the grass! On the Thursday they spend about an hour cutting a small patch of grass (with 2 ride on mowers) only to return on the Friday (with 2 ride on mowers, a push mower, an edge trimmer and a leaf blower) and spent another hour cutting it all again!

Kino

Reviewed on 12/07/2022 11:23

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer