Cheltenham Racecourse Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Geocaching Trip

If booking beware of the slope ... even on full height on our chocks we were way out of level but view was good. Bus service into Cheltenham from the Park & Ride close to the site , had to pay even with our bus passes, it was only a Ā£1 but first time we have had to pay while using our passes. We strayed here on the racecourse to go out on our bikes as well as walking to look for Geocaches. The town has a few nice caches hidden in it plus lots in the area that we found using the bikes. Enjoyed the Cream Tea ( purchased from the wardens office, make you own tea ) in the sun sat right next to the track 50 yards from our van. Walk to the showers and toilet block was quiet long glad weather was kind, as normal block very clean. Some day time noise but overnight very peaceful. Back in town had a very good coffee at a old French Fire Truck parked up on a church yard that we found while Geocaching, the closest we have got to being back in France where we would be apart from Brexit and Covid. We were not the only people who struggled with the signs to the site but road works did not help .Free Wifi from the Jockey Club. Might use again but hope we can get a much flatter pitch.

Cajun Duo

Motorhomer from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 01/10/2021 14:05

55 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Location

This was our second visit to this site. This visit was early September 2021. I cannot describe this site as a holiday destination, but it is ideal as a stopover or short break. There are a few grass pitches which are snapped up quickly so don't set your heart on one of those. Our pitch was in front of the stand and overlooking the racecourse with extensive views. The pitch is tarmac and is on a slope for which you may want to use your ramps. There is water fill-up available near to reception. and we chose a pitch with electric hook-up. There is a motorhome drive over waste near to reception. There is a toilet/shower block but we did not use this, using our own facilities instead. You can walk the full perimeter of the racecourse, (just outside the boundary) which is a very pleasant walk. If you walk in an anticlockwise direction you will reach the car parks for the course towards the end of your walk. Venture a little further and you will get to the Gloucester and Warwickshire Steam Railway which is well worth a visit. The site is within walking distance of Cheltenham town centre with all that it has to offer.

Scilly Boy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/09/2021 14:54

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Stunning views

We love this site and visit quite regularly. It's close to home.easy to get to.and the location is good for visiting Cheltenham Town. We walk into town from the site through Pitfield park.about a mile.the views across the cotswolds are fabulous. I know a lot of people are not a fan of the amount of tarmac,but it never bothers us.there is a grass selection of pitches too.the wardens always seem to be very friendly on this site.and always have time to talk.we also love the views of the racecourse itself. Makes it a bit special to be on one of the most iconic racecourses in the country.

mark1966

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/09/2021 17:00

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great Location !

It was our first time staying at this site towards the end of September 2021. We spent 3 x nights here. The location is unique overlooking the racecourse & main stand. There were plenty of pitches to choose from, so we selected a pitch towards the front overlooking the whole course, and the wonderful Cleeve Hill. The pitch was tarmac, however, this did not faze us, as we knew what we were coming to, and we were there primarily for the location and ease of getting into Cheltenham Town. All facilities were clean, and water taps, drains etc., were close at hand. The Wardens were lovely & friendly, and very helpful & sociable. We walked into Cheltenham from the site, which took 30 minutes to the edge of the Town, then another 30 minutes to the other side of the Town. We walked the perimeter of the racecourse every day - clockwise & anti-clockwise, which is a great walk, with some lovely scenery, and great if you are a dog walker. Next time we will take our bikes, as there were some nice roads through the racecourse, which would have been ideal. Our only criticism was the noise on the last night from the Main Stand of the racecourse, as there must have been some social event on there, which went on until 2am. It really was very loud, as I would assume a lot of the attendees were worse for wear for alcohol ! A very nice, unique site, which is great for a base for exploring the Cotswolds.

Ken Wiggins

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/09/2021 15:35

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Handy stopover

Having been here before we knew the site would be useful for a stop on our long journey. There are plenty of places to eat in Cheltenham, pleasant walking for the dog and the site is quiet. However, we were not happy to be telephoned at around 2.15, by the wardens, while travelling, to ask our time of arrival. We were given the impression that all their other arrivals had been completed and that it would be good if we could pay over the phone and pick up a pack on our arrival. This is the second time we have experienced this here. On our arrival at 4.00, six packs were waiting for new arrivals, so we were not the only ones. After a long journey it is pleasant to meet with wardens and we do not like being harassed for payment while driving. Apart from this they gave us a handy pitch for an early morning start and we had a good night. We were concerned that the toilet blocks were not secure at night and the female block did not smell too good. The showers were lovely and hot. No hairdryers. Would use again but please do not phone us on route fir payment...

drbold

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 08:24

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Friendly staff

If all CAMC wardens were like the fantasic 2 at Cheltenham Race course there would never be a need for any more reviews. This is a site well run and obviously loved by the wardens, we will be visiting again next season and mainly due to the wardens welcoming and willingness to help in anyway they can. Well done guys looking forward to seeing you soon

Ceasar

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/09/2021 21:43

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect in every way!

From friendly and welcoming staff, to jaw-dropping scenery, a superb location at such a brilliant price. It's organised well, and the views of the racecourse are breathtaking. Good facilities too and bonus of great internet and phone signal. Peaceful surroundings, with the quaint toot or two from the nearby steam railway, and an easy walk into town. The Southam car boot is worth a visit, as well as the Suffolks Sunday Market. We will definitely be back, as will our friends and this weekend's camping neighbours. We had changed our booking for Bank Holiday weekend to Cheltenham and aren't we glad we did šŸ˜Ž

Webbsy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 17:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely stay

We had two lovely days here. Great views across the racecourseā€¦..clean, ample well presented fascilitiesā€¦.complimented by super friendly and efficient managers Easy walk to Cheltenham centre. All Good

The Farnworths

Reviewed on 10/08/2021 08:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great place to stay

Just been to Cheltenham Race Course only one night. Lovely views and very peaceful. Staff are excellent very friendly and helpful. We were having problems booking a site in August and it was no problem for them to book it for us which was much appreciated.

sontim

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/08/2021 16:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

perfect spot!

This is a really lovely place to stay for a few days, the location is perfect and easy to find! The views are amazing, we pitched our motor home in front of the desert orchid stand, you will need leveling blocks but you do at most places. You can walk to the park and ride in 30 seconds, you need to go just behind the reception building and follow the path round and through the barrier fence which is open, the buses are every 20 minutes and drop you off outside marks and spencer in the main town of cheltenham, it is about a 10 minute journey. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants as well as plenty of shops, to return to the site you need to catch the bus from outside the superdry shop which is around the corner to your right from where the bus drops you off, get bus D or E. The people who run the site are lovely and very helpful, we didn't use the facilities as we use our own but the site is well kept and the service area for motor homes/caravans are very accessible and clearly marked. we had 2 lovely days here and will definitely be returning in the future.

SaraJ17E62BE28D

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/07/2021 14:44

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer