Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Well worth the effort

We were a bit worried when the satnav took us alarmingly close to central London, but we arrived, on a dark, cold January evening, safely. We left the van on site on our only full day, to go to events in Hackney and then North London, travelling all the way by bus with our bus passes (late at night on the way back). The site was really excellent - a friendly welcome, informative leaflet, warm and spotless shower block, plenty of room between vehicles, bus stop nearby. The only thing it lacked to be absolutely perfect was a café/pub, but it seems to be rare for sites in England to have these, we knew there wasn't one. We can't quite give 5 stars for 'peace and quiet' because of course there is some road noise, but much less, in fact, than expected. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - if I can get my London-phobic husband to visit London again, we will be back!

Lancastrienne

Reviewed on 28/01/2015 20:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Ist Trip of the year

We stayed at this site during the current cold snap, as we were going to see Queen at the O2. The site is certainly up to usual caravan club standards, with large hard standing pitches and a spotless toilet block. As other people have said it is very easy to get into Central London. We used the bus. Don't forget your bus pass if you have one! We also used the buses to get to the O2, which was just as easy, with just one change of bus in Lewisham, and then depositing us at North Greenwich station, a short stroll from the venue. We found the transport for London web site terrific for journey planning. All in all a great stay, and we are sorry to hear it is closing in 2018. Time for some more trips though.

Nick1950

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 23/01/2015 08:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Expensive stay

Lovely site, made very welcome by everyone! Unfortunately I didn't realise how big the low emission zone was!! I thought it was only central London... What started as a bargain break ended with a £200 fine.. Be aware!!

jonthehen

Motorhomer from Worcestershire

Reviewed on 19/01/2015 17:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A New Years stay

Tried for a few years now to get into Crystal Palace CC site during the New Year period and I finally made it this year.  What a perfect location for trips into London (30 Mins by train or 1 hr by Double Decker). My wife and I stayed for 5 nights and travelled to London daily without any issues what so ever - even on New Years Eve. We arrived at the site after dark from Shropshire and the wardens were probably the most friendliest wardens we have come across in our 5 years of Caravan Club touring.  All the London info was given to us in the shop by the Lady Warden (sorry didn't catch her name) and then the Gentlemen Warden personally escorted us to our pitch and marshalled us in extremely efficiently. We even saw the Fox that apparently pinches any shoes left outside - only the one shoe though :) Well organised site all round - thank you wardens.

Kayak7

Reviewed on 11/01/2015 16:59

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely

We have visited this site quite a few times over the years, so handy for trips into London. Go and see a show a trip on the river or even shopping( this one is more for the other half). Eight miles south of the site and you will be in IKEA. We have heard that this site will be closing down in approx three years time, that will be such a loss not only to the club but to so many of us that visit and from abroad. Thanks again from an ageing caravaner from the south.

silcone ken

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 08/01/2015 19:40

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic helpful staff

Arrived late, found the late night stop over bay with no problems. Very brief stay for a day in London. The facilities were clean and modern. The site was conveniently located for local bus routes and the staff extremely helpful with printed slips ready for us to take to help us get round. 

Reviewed on 08/01/2015 08:38

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

excellent site

Enjoyed our new year stay at this first class site. Highly recommend this site. Staff extremely  helpful. Look forward to my next visit. 

ballcli

Reviewed on 04/01/2015 20:19

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent London stay

Excellent and usual CC standard. Warm welcome and informative. Less traffic noise than you would expect for London. Good public transport access. In a park so good for exercise. Shops within 10 mins. Will stay again.

AussieinUK

Reviewed on 01/01/2015 10:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer