East Fleet Farm Touring Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very hairy approach road if you have a long motorhome or are towing!

The approach road to the site is down an undulating, steep in parts, narrow private road - not made any easier by local homeowners who appear to want make things more difficult by parking their vehicles on the road. There is a very sharp bend, at a point of only single access, which you cannot see around - although there is a mirror to slightly help view if anything is heading your way. Going the other way, the bus stop most handy to the site is a tidy half-mile walk up an undulating hill. It is next door to an Aldi. It’s about a 4 mile hilly walk into Weymouth. We had originally booked a hard standing, but when talking to the reception, were told if we wanted a view, we’d be better off with a grass pitch. We agreed to a grass pitch and the one pitch we were directed to and the “view” we were given was of a hedge! The very friendly and accommodating reception team then gave us a choice of much better (for us) pitches in what they called the ‘camping area’, but it turned out that there were mainly caravans and a motorhomes in situ. At least we could see the beach and sea - which is the main reason we picked the site. If we’d have preferred to just view a hedge, we could have visited and been anywhere. If you’re not bothered what you’re looking out at, then the very large site is well laid out divided into smaller areas of space of 4 or 6 units separated from the next lot of pitches by hedges. This gives a sense of privacy. Because the bus stop is up a hill, we decided to us the local taxi service - a round-trip to Weymouth cost us 22 pounds. The taxi driver asked us where we’d got his details from because he’d though he’d removed all his contact cards from reception - he told us it’s not a location favoured by the taxi firms because of the difficulty of the approach road. What we liked about the facilities was the fact that many of the showers have their own ‘en-suite’ toilet. Everything was kept very clean. The on-site bar and the festival eateries (which vary each evening: fish and chips, pizzas, etc) are not something that drew us to the site, but we could see that they were very popular indeed. The shop is also well stocked with camping/caravanning essentials and basic groceries. The ‘camping area’, which is the part of the site furthest away from reception and facilities, we noticed that a certain number of the campers did not keep their dogs on a lead and one particularly noisy party totally ignored the fact that one of their dogs wandered onto an adjoining area and fouled it. There are some lovely walks from the site and it is adjacent to the coastal path. There is a small play park for the children on site and a separate dog walking field. The staff are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Dufferstwo

Reviewed on 19/09/2021 16:30

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A great site with many positives

This was our first visit, and from the time we arrived until we left our stay was great. Reception and site information were delivered first class, facilities were good and clean, close to a bus stop and great for access to the SW Coastal Path. Walked to Langton Herring and stopped for a couple in the lovely Elm Tree Inn. Walked into Weymouth (min 1hr) and caught the bus back. Nice pub on site and the Pizza takeaway is delicious. Pitches are well spaced in rows and shielded from the row behind by hedges, however I did feel the spacing across the access roads (or maybe the access roads are narrow) did give the feeling of a lack of personal space. Other than this small point, a lovely site with so many things going for it

Peaf1997

Motorhomer from Flintshire

Reviewed on 17/09/2021 22:23

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Hugmans on tour

Oh what a lovely site check in was 1st class and couldn't have asked for a better pitch right near toilets and showers. Facilities were kept nice and clean and the food vans on site were a bonus ( pizza was delicious ) Having a bar onsite was very good as they let you take the food in from vans or you can have a takeaway delivered. Cycle route into weymouth ( straight across at the bottom of lane) was very good as it took you right into town Would definitely recommend this site and will return when down this way again

Paul Hugman

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/09/2021 15:44

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good Family Site

Good traditional family site, easy check in and access down a lane with plenty of passing places. Some pitches have lovely views of The Fleet, Chisel beach and the sea.  Mixture of pitch types including fully serviced, grass or hard standing. Reasonable Wi-Fi and TV signal. Excellent toilet facilities and fully stocked shop with camping and Caravan accessories. Lovely on site bar along with catering vans.  Excellent children's area with climbing frames etc and at the top of the site a separate play area with goal posts and a dog walking.  Direct access to coastal path and the Fleet.  

Big Bruv

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/09/2021 17:08

37 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good for families, but very noisy

Stayed hear 10 days ago. This is a very large site, with a real mix of tents, caravans and motorhomes. It has an excellent shop, helpful staff and regular and varied takeaways. Large Aldi at the end of the access road. Good location, with good access to Weymouth, Abbotsbury, Portland etc. Lovely walks overlooking Chesil Beach. Toilet and shower blocks were varied. One old shabby block. The other new with individual one person shower, loo rooms which were very spacious. However they also had push taps, with the irritations these cause. The push taps were also in the washing up area, which was really difficult. The site was also very noisy. It seems to attract a lot of families who allow their children to wander about about until late into the evening, disturbing their fellow guests. Maybe it is different outside the school holidays, but not for those looking for a relaxing break.

Rushly

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/08/2021 21:59

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fully open

We visited this site in early July after being delayed twice due to Covid 19. This site does not disappoint. Location is second to none with access to the coastal path. All the Facilities were FULLY open with no restrictions like the Club. The toilets and showers were very clean. Shop and Why Not also open. Food outlets on site selling Breakfasts, Fish and Chips and Pizza. Most enjoyable stay will no rubber bands!

DerekAndSusan

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 17/07/2021 16:29

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Watch out for Minimum Nights stay......

Yes, E.Fleet Farm is a wonderful site and we often use it as a 'shake down' stop at the beginning/end of season as we live nearby. Emerging from the most recent Lockdown we thought we would book a couple of nights. Unfortunately, the dates we wanted during May have a minimum of 5 and 4 nights stay. This seems a little strange since the dates we wanted were not over the busy half term period, when no minimum stay is required. We were rather disappointed but will go elsewhere for our first outing,plenty to choose from, although E.Fleet has such a good shop........ Here's to happy travels in 2021.

folkcott

Reviewed on 12/05/2021 17:28

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A really lovely site!

How many times do you find a site that ticks all the boxes? This one does! We have a motorvan and enjoyed the site and area so much that we extended our stay to three weeks. We were lucky that there were still pitches available, so don't take availability for granted. We found the site to be exceptionally welcoming, from the email confirmation to the greeting by the reception team. They are efficient, thoughtful and very friendly. The groundwork team were always pleasant and you could count on getting a smile and a wave. The site is beautifully laid out, with excellent toilet facilities that were checked and cleaned throughout the day. Covid safety was very well maintained in a pleasant and sensible way. Situated on The Fleet, with the coastal footpath going past it, there were excellent walking opportunities in both directions. We managed to get to Abbotsbury for a Cream Tea and on another day had a brilliant meal at the Elm Tree Inn at Langton Herring. Weymouth is just a three mile walk with an abundance of pubs, cafes in addition to a wonderful promenade. The Sandsfoot Café, just off the Rodwell Trail is well worth visiting. The Oasis Café at Bowlease is also well worth walking to. Saving the best to last...there's a new Aldi just 1km from the site, so shopping on the way back from Weymouth is really easy even if you are on foot or two wheels. If only all Caravan and Motorhome Club Sites were run like this. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

seasidebird

Reviewed on 24/10/2020 16:34

6 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant site!

This site never fails to deliver. Staying here during the pandemic meant some inevitable changes to the normal, masks in the shop, using a lollipop stick to enter the gate code, an App in the bar etc. however this in no way detracted from the enjoyment, in fact the App to order in the bar made it easier, if not for the bar staff delivering the drinks! The team seemed to be endlessly cleaning and sanitising the facilities block, I even saw them cleaning at midnight when I was walking the dog! All the staff are very friendly and efficient, the shop has literally everything you could possibly need for your caravan, tent or Motorhome, and the site is kept immaculately clean and tidy. There are various walks from the site, with access directly to the coastal path (take a bag to pick blackberries, there’s millions), and the bus to Weymouth passes the top of the lane. In short, I wouldn’t stay anywhere else when in Dorset.

Bazdownes

Caravanner from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 06/09/2020 10:31

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Better than the Club!

We were booked into a nearby Club Site for 7 nights. When talking to a near neighbour she told us they always use this site . We contacted the site and for the 7 nights it was much cheaper than the Club site. The location is perfect just off the Fleet with access onto the SW Coast Path. There are 3 pitching area one with its own dedicated facilities block the others shared two blocks. They are kept clean and tidy with one having individual rooms. There is a large shop on site selling Caravan and camping bits and bobs along with the necessary food items you may run out of. There are 3 food caravans on site selling fish and chips, pizza and a breakfast van at weekends. Although this is a large site it is separated by hedges so feels cosy. Another plus point there is the Why Not Inn who serve a very good pint.  We would highly recommend this site in fact we have cancelled another nearby Club site to return here and yes yet again it's much cheaper.

DerekAndSusan

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 17/09/2019 15:01

27 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer