Gowerton Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Wardens

We’re a bit dubious about visiting this site after reading some of the reviews about the wardens. I have to say the young man that checked me in was the best I have ever experienced on a club site. He was excellent, friendly & helpful and all the other wardens were also helpful & friendly. The only problem people seemed to be having was not being able to get the electric working (you needed to twist it), which is not common on these sites. A sticker on it would do the trick. You are handed an envelope when you arrive with all the local information you need (no not bus times, really?! Use your phone!). Lots of lovely local walks. Great site, great wardens. Well done team.

peteandsuejc

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 08:35

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Bit of a let down

A reasonable site but didn’t like it. Most pitches are fairly level, some hard pitches and some grass but all the hard ones had gone when we arrived so grass it had to be. We later changed to a hard pitch when available due to a spot of wet weather. There’s only one facilities block with four dated showers and always a queue to use them. There were also around 8 sink cubicles which were always empty as no one does a strip wash these days. Why does the club not convert some of these to showers instead? Another grumble was the block being closed for cleaning at 10.15. That is so early and there were no alternative toilets in case of need. There isn’t much to see and do around Gowerton and it’s a bit run down. There are a couple of good stores for provisions. Nearest to the site is a Tesco Express and further into town there’s a Coop. No public transport information was available via the Wardens or in the info room. To access this, you need to walk a good way into town and catch either a bus 116 to get to Swansea and then connect from there. or alternatively, after a further walk can take the train. Ask the local people you will get more info about transport from them. Don’t bother spending the day in Swansea unless you want to visit lots of bars and nightclubs or cafes. We found no shops and the National Waterfront Museum was pre booked tickets only. The place was pretty dead. Now to the best bit. If you want to visit Rossili beach, worth doing, take your Motorhome along. The car parking is very extensive but if you’re not an NT member, you’ll have to pay £8. There are a few places to eat not just the pub, there’s an ice cream place, a gift shop and a gallery further up the narrow road after the bus stop. To note, pont y cob road, which is the approach Rd to site is extremely narrow and is used as a rat run by locals at peak times particularly. Try not to arrive after 4pm on weekdays as we did or you will scratch your van on the bushes or worse.

CattyWatty

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/09/2021 17:01

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent location

Firstly this location is one of the best located sites I’ve ever stayed at. It also is the only site I’ve been to where I have had full phone signal which is a plus for us as a family. The thing I didn’t like and was confused about, was that they removed all the bins from the bins sites. No idea why this was done, but they had one wheelie bin near the entrance for the entire site and it was constantly overflowing. People just chucked their rubbish on and around it. Wasn’t nice to use or see when exiting and entering the site. It was quite peaceful, except for other families allowing their kids to ride their bikes around as you’re trying to park up and pitch the caravan. The kids also had Bluetooth speakers meaning they were playing loud music constantly. We don’t stay on site except to sleep so this wasn’t a big inconvenience to us. Overall I’m happy with the site. Just wish they’d sorted actual bins in their proper locations. Can’t see how this is a Covid restriction. Seems very strange.

ScreenName0C17FDACC3

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/09/2021 13:47

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent staff, lovely site

A lovely site with lots of space for children to play. The staff are excellent and the information pack issued on arrival is one of the best provided at any club site. There is a superb traffic free cycle path from the site which takes you to either The Mumbles or Swansea, or both.

Peter J Young

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 09:17

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Back to front toilet closing rule works for site wardens but not holidaymakers.

Any holiday provider will increase popularity and profitability if listening to the needs of its patrons. Unfortunately (and looking at most if the reviews here in addition to my own recent experience), this is not practised at the Gowerton site. A holiday is a holiday, and not a cast iron regime, and when you spend the first hour every day of your holiday after waking at 8.30 rushing down breakfast and hoping for the urge to "go" before the toilet block shuts at 10.15 am for an extended period for cleaning, it somehow takes the glint of the "holiday" experience. I'll say no more on that, except to ask (as others have here) why the only real facility available on this site (toilets and shower block) has to shut at absolutely the least convenient time for its hundreds of patrons, trying to have a good time, with little conceivable reason for the cleaning time being anything other than staff convenience. Can I please suggest that cleaning occurs at any time from 12am to 3pm, or is that again going to hit deaf ears? Yes, my caravan has a toilet, but as I am sure is the case in many more intimate caravans, it can be uncomfortable for people to use in proximity to others. It all adds to a big reason not to visit a site in future, and in the absence of praise but the presence of heavy criticism right here in the reviews, surely someone could listen and put themselves out a bit to shift the times? I am reluctant to say this but there is a tendency to always state how amazing the CC is, but an essentially holiday providing organisation really should listen to its customers more, and given a price of £30 a night for 2 club members on a grass pitch, this is hardly budget even in peak Summer season... Moan over... Facilities I strangely found just adequate. Most say not enough, but I only had to queue once for 5 minutes, and that to me is acceptable... As stated, it was peak season and almost all pitches fully occupied. The noise was not as bad as stated in other reviews (and we have a pop top caravan. The site abuts Gowerton, which is far from picturesque (lots of noise from playing field adjacent in better weather), but does offer a reasonable base due to proximity of big Supermarkets.. 10 mins drive.. and the walkable Tesco Express). It also makes for easy access for the very beautiful Gowerton coast. Please, please listen to your customers re the toilet closure times. It can be a big issue for many, but can be resolved with the minimum of effort. Clean the toilets from 1pm onwards and perform other tasks during the period a great many on "holiday" would wish to use them or the showers. This would also reduce queuing as they would be open during a far greater peak time and closed during an extremely quiet time. This would address all the other complaints here that drag this otherwise decent site down. I'd like to hear a response from either the club or the site on this one...

IntensiveCareNurse

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/08/2021 13:01

14 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Well run site but insufficient facilities

Well run site and very helpful and friendly staff but insufficient facilities for the size of the site when full .The Covid restrictions drastically reduced the facilities but even without the restrictions there seemed to be insufficient facilities for the size of the site . Very well located for exploring the Gower and easy access to excellent cycle paths . Shortcut available via locked gate to the town but limited pubs and restaurants etc in the local town . The nearby Harvester was good and within walking distance . The access road is narrow and requires caution . In conclusion an enjoyable well located site but could do with additional facilities .

givingup

Reviewed on 13/08/2021 21:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First time visit.

Decided to use this site as we had family members staying in The Mumbles and we decided to visit them for a few days. Site was easy to find, although the final approach was quite narrow. Once on site, everything was easy to find. Staff were friendly and helpful. Site is quite flat and pitches are quite generous in size. Had to queue once for the shower block due to some imbecile not returning his wristband after using the facilities, but that's no fault of the staff. Road outside was a little noisy at times, but as a heavy sleeper, it didn't bother me. TV and radio reception was good. All in all, a nice quiet site which I'm sure we'll use again in the future.

Spursboy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 16:35

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

First Visit

Or first visit to the Gower area, first to Wales! 23rd July for a week. The access road is quite tight and the club site sign faces only one direction. On the approach road, we had to pass another caravan rig, just down from the traffic lights and it was very tight, our caravan is 8ft . The warden was very friendly a good warm welcome. Some of the pitches are quite a way from the power supply poles, after choosing No 27, I found that my lead was not quite long enough, so I had to move to 26. Nice site with a good dog walk area. There is a small children’s playing park, which our two grandchildren took advantage of. Overall a nice site, only one slight negative, children racing around on bicycles in the evening, but that may be my age, parents could be a bit more watchful of their children. A nice tidy site, and we had a very enjoyable stay.

JohnHelena

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/08/2021 20:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Thank You Wardens!

Stayed for a week - 22nd July when weather VERY hot. Our fridge broke down & the wardens provided us with ice blocks daily to go into our cool box. We really couldn't have done without them, so thank you so much for that. Moreover, the wardens were friendly, chatty and so helpful. We felt as though we were in safe hands. With regard to covid regulations - again, these made us feel safe. After all, do you REALLY need to use a public facility when you have your own toilet & can have a good wash in your van? We are camping, after all! Thanks once again wardens. You are doing a great job in difficult times.

DaveQ

Reviewed on 02/08/2021 10:52

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Second promised visit

Back again, as promised, to a lovely reception from the lady warden. (I really do need to remember your name!) Had set off in plenty of time so as to arrive shortly after 12 and gain a hard standing pitch. (We have a motorhome home which is too heavy for grass pitches!). Pitched up at 97. Quiet location, away from the children’s park where pitches were busy entertaining families. No problem at all. Everyone was very respectful of each other and friendly. Dog walk was dry under foot at this stay. A good time of the year to come. As always great places to visit, walk to and cycle! Thank you to fellow bikers who sorted my tyres out, although I should have take. It as an omen and not riden!! Spent the later part of the holiday with ice packs on my elbow!! (We were told about needing security for our bikes but experienced no problems thankfully. Security guards walked around the site ever night. In this day and age everyone needs to be super vigilant and security conscious!) New places explored and still lots to do on our return. Yes we will be back and would highly recommend this site to others.

HodgJPBD

Motorhomer from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 01/08/2021 17:26

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer