Henley Four Oaks Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Bad Taste before we even arrived!

Before we arrived on site we were informed `because we have a CARAVAN we would have to pitch on GRASS and banned from pitching on an ALL Weather pitch`, Confused we arrived to be informed ONLY MOTORHOMES can pitch on ALL Weather pitches due to the rainfall and ground conditions. Importantly we arrived at 12.30, at 14.00 when we finished pitching up we took a look around the site, there were at that time 13x All Weather pitches available, obviously quite a few had already arrived in an hour and a half!! The site managers were happy to allow our twin axle caravan to get bogged instead of any motorhome regardless of size. Unfortunately when we challenged CAMC Guest Relations we were very disappointed by their lack of understanding / empathy. We use this site regularly because I attend meetings in London, my wife can take a wonder into Henley which she loves. We are seriously considering changing club or taking our business to Swiss Farm in the future Previously site management have been great never had a problem.

Austin62

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/07/2021 15:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Road noise not as bad as some reviews make out.

We stayed near the road and there was noise but not that bad. If you think this site is bad for noise then try Bognor as it is much worse with road noise and building site noise. Was disapointed with the small dog walk that with the site full you had to walk over peoples pitches for access. Nearest off site dog walk was half a mile down the A road with an overgrown footpath and plenty of splashing from passing cars when wet. We are dog owners with two young dogs that need plenty of exercise but that is the only reason we would not stay again.

brian and caroline

Reviewed on 09/07/2021 23:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were welcomed by the receptionist, who was very helpful in advising on pitch availability and type. We arrived early on the first day and spent a lovely afternoon and the following day in Henley. The sun was shining and we walked along the river banks and hired a boat to go down to Marlow lock and back - great fun, followed by lunch and a jug of Pimms in the Angel on the Bridge. The town is 20 minutes walk, along a busy road, but there is a pavement for the full distance, so safe, if noisy. Unfortunately, we had planned to go to Hampton Court Palace on our final day, but the appalling weather would have made the gardens impossible and there were road signs warning against travelling closer to London due to the match at Wembley. We therefore decided to cut our losses and go home a day early. We were a bit concerned about getting off our grass pitch, as the motorhome doesn’t cope well with waterlogged ground, but there was only surface water so we had no problems. Our decision to leave early is in no way a reflection on the site, which was clean and well maintained, with Covid precautions in place. The showers were some of the best I have experienced, with adjustable temperature and flow, a toiletries rack, plenty of hooks and a bench. Each cubicle was separated from the next, so that water didn’t flow from one to the other, and not a push button timer in sight! Despite previous reviews mentioning road noise, we didn’t really notice any, but we were at the back of the site. We were, however, disturbed by noise from other campers. This seemed to be from 2 or 3 units pitched together, playing music, shouting and laughing at well past 10pm. Henley is a lovely place and we will definitely return to explore the area again in the future.

New Cruisers

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/06/2021 18:56

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Lovely site , access excellent and an easy 20 minute walk into Henley which was lovely, plenty of places to eat and drink there as well. Site was immaculate, grass cut and toilets / showers were spotless , well done to all the wardens involved. Caught the bus (stop up the road) into Marlow which is well worth the trip and the bus is easy if you are in motorhome. If you like bird watching there are numerous Red Kites around the site to watch. Speedy check in , with all COVID rules explained, we will certainly go back.

Nicki Burgess

Reviewed on 11/06/2021 16:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

So Very Disappointing

We booked to stay here on 17/05/21 for three nights. We arrived about 15 hours, and noticed vans pitched in overnight arrival spot which thought was unusual. On checking in, we learned the site was struggling with pitches being waterlogged due to heavy rain. There were no standard hardstanding pitches available. The Warden at Reception, although apologetic was not very helpful or interested in assisting us to find somewhere suitable to pitch our 3.5 t motorhome. In fact, she marked on map the few pitches left and just highlighted the wettest ones, not the level of service we have come to expect from visits to many previous Club sites. It transpired the few pitches we had to choose from were all totally inappropriate for our unit and as more rain was forecast, we were not prepared to pitch on them to subsequently get stuck. We returned to Reception to explain our dilemma, and received no help, no alternative (ie upgrade pitch), the lack of care and customer service was incredibly poor. Hence we had a refund and left. We ended up at the next door campsite - Swiss Cottage which quite frankly put this site to shame and was more of the calibre we normally experience at Club sites. We were only on this Club site for probably half an hour, but we came away with our poorest experience ever, and we have visited quite a few all over the country. It felt cramped, with some pitches having neighbours on three sides. We did notice the road noise just in the short time there and it was unpleasant and loud. There are plenty of trees and green but it lacked the usual ambience of peace, tranquility, space of pitches even when compared to sites we have been to in urban areas. The most disappointing fact was lack of care and interest from the staff. It was very disappointing while we were there, more or less just a shrug of shoulders, and take it or leave it attitude. They clearly knew they had a problem due to the inclement weather which is totally beyond their control, so why did they not contact the day's arrivals in the the morning to update them of the situation. They had email and phone number, then we could have made an informed decision, and maybe not come away with an unpleasant experience.

MAB1895

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/05/2021 10:20

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A great site.

This is a great venue and I have stayed here quite often. Yes, there is some road noise from the main road but it is not that bad. The site is well situated for visiting Henley by foot or cycling. In town there is a large and good range of cafe's & restaurants any of which are worth the visit. There is also a Waitrose on the High Street where you can also catch the bus back to the campsite.The bus will also take you to High Wycombe & Reading. From the station in town, you can get a train into London and via a change to Windsor as well which is always worth a visit. The site itself is always kept very clean & tidy by the hard working wardens who did a grand job during the Covid restrictions making sure that all the area's were clean and fit for use. I would certainly recommend this site at all times.

Carpetbagger

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/05/2021 17:02

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location

Everyone goes on about the road noise, but this site is off a main road so what do you expect. Of course there's road noise, bring some earplugs and all will be good! The location more than compensates for this. Henley is a short walk with all its individual shops and restaurants. Walks along the river in both directions, boat rides, people watching, picnics in the park, its wonderful. We walked along the river to The Baskerville Pub in Lower Shiplake - wonderful food and the first time indoors for a long time. Took the dog and he was very welcome. Great cycle rides from the site into the Chiltern Hills, so long as you don't mind steep hills, great for an electric bike, but I'm not that old yet!!! We cycled to Turville which is quintessentially english - Vicar of Dibley was filmed here as was Midsomer Murders and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Bit early for the pub, but it looked fabulous. We drove into Windsor with the Motorhome, you can park in the coach park, but speak to the man in the office and he will direct you. Short walk to the castle, we didn't go in because of the dog, but just round the corner is the Great Park with the Long Walk which kept the dog happy. Lots of 'standard' shops, M&S etc, make sure you visit the Station where there are lots of cafe's with outside/inside seating. Cinammon is fabulous in the old Booking Hall. There is a walk around Windsor following the Queens Walkway, pick up a brochure at the Booking Hall Tourist Information or download it to your phone. Not great morning strolls for the dog out of the site as you have to walk down the road and its not the best, but there is a small enclosed area on site for the 'essentials'. But once you get to Henley and the River you can walk for miles, or turn left out of the site and up IceHouse Lane and you are in the Chiltern Hills. We will be back, there is just so much to do, and the road noise didn't effect us one little bit!!

jackiew99

Reviewed on 21/05/2021 12:46

16 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Lovely

Lovely site, very clean and safe. We were on pitch 72 so the road noise was not apparent until we walked into Henley. It was only our 2nd ever trip and people were so friendly. Thank you to the fellow camper that leant us an extension for our hook up as we only had a 10 metre lead (hope you enjoyed the biscuits!) and the couple to the side that helped us hook up. Also not to forget the couple who plied my wife with Pimms and spent a couple of hours chatting away with us. A lovely experience all around............Fiona & Bill

waspman

Campervanner from Isle of Wight

Reviewed on 16/05/2021 21:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Too noisy

The road noise is horrendous and I mean horrendous. You feel like you have pitched next to the motorway, boy races and motorbikes starting around 5.00am until way past midnight with speeds in excess of 60mph, please be careful. It is such a pity because the site is lovely, but the location is terrible. On the good points Henley on Thames is beautiful, good restaurants, shops and plenty of nice river walks. I would recommend the area but not this site, I will choose Swiss Farm (just down the road) on my next visit, very quiet and set back from the motorway. Sorry to be so downbeat, but this is my honest opinion. Robert Grice Date of stay 10th May 2021

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Had a good time

Thank you to all the wardens This site was well maintained and Covid safety measures were in place. Short distance to Henley and river walks. Thanks also to my neighbours who volunteered their assistance, especially when I had a problem with the door lock. Yes, there was road noise but I find that's relative to where you've come from! Would visit again when all Covid restrictions are eased as there's lots I'd like to see in the area.

BMT

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2021 15:32

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer