Henley Four Oaks Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Lovely

Lovely site, very clean and safe. We were on pitch 72 so the road noise was not apparent until we walked into Henley. It was only our 2nd ever trip and people were so friendly. Thank you to the fellow camper that leant us an extension for our hook up as we only had a 10 metre lead (hope you enjoyed the biscuits!) and the couple to the side that helped us hook up. Also not to forget the couple who plied my wife with Pimms and spent a couple of hours chatting away with us. A lovely experience all around............Fiona & Bill

waspman

Campervanner from Isle of Wight

Reviewed on 16/05/2021 21:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Too noisy

The road noise is horrendous and I mean horrendous. You feel like you have pitched next to the motorway, boy races and motorbikes starting around 5.00am until way past midnight with speeds in excess of 60mph, please be careful. It is such a pity because the site is lovely, but the location is terrible. On the good points Henley on Thames is beautiful, good restaurants, shops and plenty of nice river walks. I would recommend the area but not this site, I will choose Swiss Farm (just down the road) on my next visit, very quiet and set back from the motorway. Sorry to be so downbeat, but this is my honest opinion. Robert Grice Date of stay 10th May 2021

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Had a good time

Thank you to all the wardens This site was well maintained and Covid safety measures were in place. Short distance to Henley and river walks. Thanks also to my neighbours who volunteered their assistance, especially when I had a problem with the door lock. Yes, there was road noise but I find that's relative to where you've come from! Would visit again when all Covid restrictions are eased as there's lots I'd like to see in the area.

BMT

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2021 15:32

28 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Well it was OK

I booked this site knowing full well from previous reviews that it would be noisy but I decided to give it a try based on location to Henley etc. The site is up to the normal CAMC standards I particularly liked the Covid 19 system involving wristbands when visiting the facilities, I think it worked very well. Its a lovely site with a good location and an easy walk into Henley on Thames. It was nice to sit out and watch the Red Kites flying above and sitting in the trees no doubt waiting the opportunity to devour a rabbit which also frequent the site. Now for the road noise,yes its noisy the worse of which is generally commuter hours although I do think the inclusion of speed cameras would stop it becoming a race track into Henley this is nothing to do with the site ownership but maybe some lobbying by CAMC and the other site down the road would achieve a result. Please be careful if you walk two abreast into Henley as the traffic is very close likewise if you walk up the road to the garden centre as the footpath only goes half way. I fully accept that I knew about the road noise so would I visit again,no not for me I'm afraid a lovely site but there are better locations.

Roger D57

Reviewed on 04/05/2021 11:24

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Noisy but nice

My happy bit.. I was on a pitch that backed onto the road. Normal traffic is fine but then you get boy racers on motorbikes or in their supped up cars - that’s noisy!! This is outside the clubs control. The dog area is big enough for dogs to roam around, it’s not huge but bigger than some. Now for my not so happy bit... I wasn’t impressed at one point by the warden (not assistant warden but warden) spraying weed killer on my pitch while I was sitting in my van! It is dog friendly but has to dry so you can imagine by anger and disappointment!! I’ve never known any staff to come on any pitches that are occupied never mind spraying weed killer!!!

Curlyhairdo

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/04/2021 18:38

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site but....

We did hear a fair bit of road noise. Firstly, to be completely fair to this site we arrived from another club site set in the woods with no noise at all which we had probably become accustomed to, so to hear a bit of traffic noise was a bit of a surprise. We could hear it but we quickly became used to it and it died down to almost nothing as it became dark. Didn't spoil our stay but if you are looking for total peace and quiet you will not find it here. However, it's not a disaster and the upside is the site is within easy walking distance of Henley on Thames, a very attractive town with alot of interesting buildings, shops, cafes and pubs. The site is not huge but its quite spread out. We did not feel at all cramped and our hardstand pitch did require levelling ramps but not too extreme. TV reception was sketchy so we used the TV aerial plug in thingy which worked perfectly with many freeview channels including HD channels. All facilities were immaculate and we would like to thank all of the site staff for making this happen - we know that this is no accident - lots of time and elbow grease is consumed in making our stay lovely and we appreciate your efforts. And to be fair everyone visiting the site during our stay respected this and left facilities as they would expect to find them. Strangely although the road noise was noticeable there was quite alot of wildlife on site - plenty of rabbits, wood pigeons and even waddling ducks marching past our outfit! It was lovely to see young children tempting said birds with food which the birds happily took from them. So - is it a super quiet site - probably no. BUT is it a SUPER site - a resounding yes!!

Footos

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/04/2021 19:22

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good all rounder!

Hi, really convenient for Henley with some lovely dog walking on the Thames Path and Chiltern Way. Friendly wardens, with good cleaning regimes following COVID guidelines. Our hard standing pitch was fairly level, of good size and spacing. TV reception was ok with our portable aerial (as we were in a campervan). Facilities were super clean. Good dog exercise area, with lots of rabbits about!! The only downside is the busy road that we had read about and yes, it’s noisy, with 40 mph into a 30mph speed limit totally ignored....not the clubs fault but surprised that traffic calming measures are not in implemented. Fantastic kite birds circle and land in the trees, something not seen before and lovely to watch. Henley is a great place to visit with numerous coffee shops with great pastries and good pub meals :) Thanks

Yachtiewest

Reviewed on 19/04/2021 19:46

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great stay!

Stayed here for two nights in early December. Many pitches to choose from, plenty of space around and really great hardstanding. Power, water all worked fine. I like the wristband system for using the showers (shame not everyone uses it but hey) its very sensible and easy. Henley town is only 10 mins walk and very classy to immerse yourselves in. If you wander further afield its great to just walk along the river with great views. I would say the star attraction for us was the Chiltern Cycleway. Takes in stunning views, roads and vistas. Its quite hard going in places but well worth the effort. Super pub at the end, Stag & Huntsman, great Chef and staff we would definitely recommend.

Dellers

Motorhomer from Hampshire

Reviewed on 17/12/2020 20:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good nights kip

First impressions was good easy booking in , only 3 pitches left chose one at bottom , next to road .Road noise wasn’t that bad we had two great nights kip , but if you are a light sleeper I would get there early and pitch up away from road . Shower toilet block very clean band system in place worked well .Tv reception for us was very good may vary depending on you’re set up , didn’t use WiFi as £3.50 per day so used my phone good signal .Walk into town leisurely ten minute walk but be aware you have too cross road bit down from site so have you’re wits about you .If you coming back in dark where visible clothing and take a torch very dark road . As we parked at bottom of site found we needed a torch if we had to walk up to shower block at night could be lighter in areas .Felt very safe and secure .

lammy1964

Motorhomer from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 22/10/2020 19:01

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Horrific road noise and absolutely no tv reception or WiFi! Or even radio reception!

We booked five nights here and cancelled 4. The reception upon arrival was not helpful and friendly. We arrived in the pouring rain and were given a pitch right next to a really busy, fast and loud road. We could not even put on the tv or tune the radio in to drown out a bit of the noise but you can pay an extortionate rate for a cable in their office. No WiFi unless you buy it for ONE device. Ridiculous. I would have expected much better for a club site. I had to lose one night’s booking fee for early departure which I shall challenge because the facilities were so poor and the representation made on the website says poor tv reception but there is NONE and the receptionist said you do need a cable for that site. Is the mobile signal deliberately blocked so you buy their WiFi ? This is not what I would expect from a club site and I now wonder if I can trust what they say about other sites. We moved next door to Swiss Farm touring park and it is fantastic. Friendly, safe, WiFi, tv reception, good space between caravans.

Catherine and Ian

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/10/2020 08:59

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer