Henley Four Oaks Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

One night stay

We just stayed on this site for one night. The wardens we had were friendly and helpful. The site is pleasant and the facilities were fine for us. We didn't have any family with us, so I can't really judge how good it might be for children, though we did see a small play area. This is why I only gave for ticks for the 'Good for families' rating. I would go again.

Azalea

Reviewed on 06/08/2015 13:28

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Hmmm

Some wardens are not as helpful as one would desire. I would like to thank all those members who on the 02 Aug 2015 stood, watched and laughed as a Blackbird 'attacked' my car. I know it must be very amusing for weak regimented minds of certain caravaners but a simpleton of 2 years would have had the sense to knock and inform the owners. Perhaps it depends on when one visits this site?

Prometheus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2015 17:58

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great site

We stayed here in mid July and had a lovely time. We stayed on a grass pitch, plenty of room around it - some folk walked close to van, some even between our clothes line and the van so perhaps the hard standings are better in that way! We found it a very friendly site. Lovely walking down by the Thames. We enjoyed watching the Red Kites flying in the afternoon. Site lovely and clean. The Traditional Boat Festival was enjoyable. Would definitely like to stay here again.

tysie

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/08/2015 13:36

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Could do better

We stayed for 3 nights on this site but could only get a pitch near the road which is noisy from 7.00 am untill 9.00 pm. On asking the Warden when we arrived how noisy it was, his reply was that he could sleep through it! The toilet block is the usual standard for a club site. The dog walk! is a small area for the dog to toilet in, but no good for a walk. For a good walk you need to go out of the little gate at the end of the site, cross the road and along a narrow footpath beside the busy road toward Henley for about half a mile where you will find a footpath on your left which takes you down beside the rugby pitch to the Thames where you can walk along the river bank. When we were leaving the site  entrance barrier was already fixed open so my wife thought it would be helpful to take the barrier key to the male warden in reception. She was told in no uncertain terms that she had to take it back out and put in the box besde the barrier which she did. One set of wardens are very good but the other's leave a lot to be desired. Will we be going back to this site?  No ! 

davida

Caravanner from Norfolk

Reviewed on 04/08/2015 08:54

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great 1st Visit

Our 1st visit to this site.Very pleasesant stay. A nice amble into Henley On Thames is convenient. It is very well maintained cleanliness is of a very high standard and the wardens were very pleasant and helpful. Superb . Thank You.

Geraint

Campervanner from West Glamorgan

Reviewed on 02/08/2015 18:32

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Hooray Henley!

We arrived here from Brighton which had been our first visit to a Club site (we have used about 12 CL sites prior to this and are new to caravanning this year ). A warm welcome from the Wardens who offered a selection of about 12 pitches to choose from. We opted for a grass pitch away from the road which we were advised would be good choice if any sun arrived! The site was perfect for us, well kept, amazingly quiet (road did not bother us at all on a pitch near the middle , as we live near a busy road at home ) Handy dog walk, well kept and clean. Any negatives? Not really !but I have marked down a touch on suitable for families due to walk along busy road and we found £4 for a clothes wash a bit pricey ? We will definitely recommend to all. I have to comment on some of the visitor book entries! Lots of comments on the busy road and the narrow footpaths. Nothing the CC can do as its a council issue and just be alert when crossing.Also comments about bringing back mop and buckets in the shower areas... really?

rdchair

Motorhomer from Durham

Reviewed on 28/07/2015 00:08

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location for Henley and surroundings.

We recently spent our summer hols (13 nights) at this site.  We were not disappointed at all with site, as its close location to Henley on Thames which had lots of entertainment was on during our stay. You can walk / cycle into town. The site was clean and tidy, and wardens were tentative to all guesses. And we were one of the lucky ones not to get a roadside pitch (only fault the site has) We were also fortunate to be blessed with good sunny period. Well worth the visit.

PapaT

Caravanner from Aberdeenshire

Reviewed on 26/07/2015 20:50

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

A handy stop over

We stopped here for two nights on our way back from Wales. The site is very clean and well looked after by the Wardens who themselves are very welcoming. We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon and the only pitches available were the ones next to the road. The noise from the road was deafening. It started about seven in the morning and quietened down about eight in the evening. At times it sounded as though the vehicles were in our van with us! We would probably not visit this site again due to the noise which is a shame as it is conveniently located for Henley, which is lovely, and London. I guess if you get a pitch furthest from the road it would be better but to sit having a BBQ next to what sounded like a motorway wasn't for us!

Rabbithouse

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/07/2015 13:31

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Road noise the only problem

My wife and I stay at this site regularly as its one of the nearest site to where we live. We have always enjoyed staying here and have never been disappointed. However the traffic noise does spoil the overall experience. If you can get a pitch at the back of the site it's not too bad but if you are near the road it takes a bit of time to get used to it. Having said that we couldn't recommend this site enough. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the site is spotless. 

BillandLynne

Reviewed on 23/07/2015 08:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A very useful site

This is a very useful site for visiting a wide area of England.  It is well run generally by the wardens (but see below). Henley is a short walk away and Oxford is not far. A busy road runs alongside the site so there is road noise but for us the convenience of the location outweighed this. We received one of the friendliest receptions ever from two of the wardens on arrival but sadly another of the wardens was very rude and bad tempered during our stay. We note that another member had a similar experience recently so perhaps this is a problem that the Club should look into.

bulstrode

Reviewed on 06/07/2015 18:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer