Henley Four Oaks Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Fussy and inefficient

We were the first of 3 vehicles to pull in to the arrivals bay. We were ignored by a member of staff and the office door was closed. Obviously not that persons job to tell an unsure arrival what to do during covid.The other 2 arrivals pushed in front of us and took 15 minutes to check in. It seemed ridiculous that staff were walking around with goggles, masks and gloves, but on a warm day the office day was shut after each arrival - very unsafe during covid times. Good that the toilets were cleaned twice a day to a reasonable standard, but an extra check late evening like the camping and caravan club would have given them 5 stars rather than 3 stars. Having stayed on so many happy affiliated sites and camping club sites it would be a very pleasant surprise to arrive one day on a caravan club site where you met happy wardens who looked like they were enjoying the job and really cared.

seasidebird

Reviewed on 30/09/2020 17:32

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Very disappointed and won't return

1st time as members and excited to stay in what is a lovely location (Henley) only to be met 10 minutes after arrival with an over officious and frankly patronising park warden advising we obviously didn't know what we were doing as we parked a foot outside the marker post!! We complied feeling like naughty children. Moved on to Swiss Farm Campsite (almost next door) next day to be met with really pleasant staff who treated us like the grown ups we are. Won't be back to Four Oaks and hoping this isn't representative of C & M sites.

ScreenNameC9445691EF

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/09/2020 18:25

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Friendly site, friendly and pleasant staff.

Friendly site, friendly and pleasant staff who kept on top of the increased cleaning routine. Site located less than 30 minutes walk from the centre of Henley-on-Thames. Access to several walks of varying lengths, short, medium and long using public footpaths, the Thames Path, the Chiltern Way and the Oxfordshire Way. Several good pubs and restaurants in Henley. Some good shops including an excellent butcher, Machin's, in the Market Place. Some road noise during the day, but not noticeable at night.

EngineCounter

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 23/09/2020 20:48

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Road noise is horrendous

Just returned from a weeks visit to this site which is located a short walk from the centre of Henley which is beautiful. The wardens were lovely on check in. Unable to comment on the facilities as we always use our own. It’s a very crowded compact site, they’ve tried cramming more pitches in where clearly there should be none. The main problem here is the horrendous road noise which is constant even through the night. It was like a race track especially for the bikers even though its on a 40mph stretch of road and on a bend. Having said all that we loved that it was just a short walk into the centre of Henley.

christine oscroft

Reviewed on 23/09/2020 09:16

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

A nice site really well positioned for visiting Henley. We didn't use the toilet block facilities as we are Covid high risk and therefore stayed away but generally only use our own facilities anyway. Some road noise on site, the worst being the motorbikes that travel up and down the adjacent road doing their very best to make as much noise as possible. However, the site was clean & tidy, wardens friendly & helpful and we would return. But the usual problem of people walking across ones pitch was quite prevalent; what is the matter with people that have to walk from A to B in as straight a line as possible when staying on the site roads is hardly any further to walk (especially on a site as small as this one). Also noticeable was a number of people who seem to have no idea or scant regard for caravan site speed limits. Not trying to be negative though as we did enjoy our stay here and our thanks to the wardens.

Johnkes

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/09/2020 20:06

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely little site!

This is a perfect site for visiting Henley-on-Thames! It is a 20min walk to town and the river. It is all you would expect from a CAMC site. However, as the information suggests, there is some road noise. We chose a pitch away from the road, and as such, we were not bothered at all. We would definitely recommend this site for ease of exploring all that this area has to offer!

cathandpaul

Reviewed on 20/09/2020 16:30

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Poor

We recently returned from a 5 night stay at this site and safe to say that unless the wardens change their attitude, we won't be visiting again!. After reading all the negative reviews about the road noise, we were a little sceptical about staying here, but in all honesty, the road noise really didnt bother us. What did bother us was the very unfriendly nature of the wardens. On arrival we were told that if we didn't park our motorhome in the exact spot that we were allocated with the pitch peg to the left then we would be asked to move. Great, what a welcome! The whole toilet block was closed daily from 10:30-11:45am for cleaning. What an inconvenient time as the ques outside from about 10:00am were sometimes 4-5 people deep. I understand that they need to be cleaned, but these times really need reviewing as you have to be off site by 12:00pm. Myself and another lady were in the shower block one morning at 10:25am when the warden came in shouting that she was closing the block & we must get out. I was rushing to get out when she just stood by the door jingling her keys. When i emerged from the cubicle, she gave me a right telling off saying that she had "a lot of work to do and the closing time was strict, non negotiable". Honestly, I felt like i was back in school and having a row off my teacher. Then, she locked the door bebind me & walked off in the opposite direction, no sign of her starting her clean. My partner had an upset stomach & went to use the toilets at 11.40am on our last day. The warden emergrd from the block and locked the door behind him. When he asked if he could go in, the warden said "no, its not 11:45am yet, there's 5 minutes to go!" I mean, come on. Is this attitude really needed? He then went on a rant like the female warden saying" I've got a lot of work to do". All in all, we were very disappointed with the very unfriendly nature of these wardens as all the other campers were so friendly & chatty. Henley is a great place to stay, but avoid this campsite if your looking for a warm friendly run place.

ScreenNameADD0E1E5F0

Campervanner

Reviewed on 10/09/2020 22:38

1 review

5 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely small site

We enjoyed our few days at Henley Four Oaks. For the first time we took our motorhome and EV with us so that we could be a bit more flexible and there was plenty of room on our grassy pitch for both vehicles. Nice surroundings with tall trees. Some road noise but it did not bother us. Very helpful staff and nice clean facilities. The Thames Path is a lovely walk by the river with lots to see. We also enjoyed our visit to the Chiltern Hills and the little villages around. We would stay again if we are in the area but we like to visit other places so may not for that reason only.

liztier

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/09/2020 10:11

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great site but dreadful road noise

The site overall is great - well laid out and nice big pitches with plenty of space in between - however - the road noise is almost unbearable if you end up with a pitch backing on to the road. Unfortunately I had a 5 hour drive from Cornwall to get there and by the time I arrived I only had the choice between 2 pitches, both backing on to the road. I was only using the site as a base to visit family and friends so luckily I wasn’t there during the day, as I wouldn’t have wanted to sit around on site, listening to all the traffic! Unfortunately it wasn’t much better at night and I didn’t get a lot of sleep (I’m not used to any road noise as where I live is almost silent at night). The shower/toilet block was well laid out and always clean. It’s a shame there isn’t a shop of any sort on site - maybe that was due to COVID as the details mention a shop? The only other thing to mention is the dog exercise area. It is very poorly fenced (if you have relatively small dogs like mine) and I wasn’t able to let mine off the lead at all. Not really a problem for me as I was out and about every day so mine got plenty of exercise elsewhere. Unfortunately I wouldn’t risk staying here again, due to my long journey to get there and so the likelihood of ending up on a roadside pitch again.

NicBull

Caravanner from Cornwall

Reviewed on 30/08/2020 21:58

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location

This site is within easy walking distance to Henley-on-Thames with its wealth of restaurants and bars. We took a boat trip to Hambleden Weir and walked back along the Chiltern Way. Staff very friendly on site, some traffic noise from site but a small price to pay for prime location.

Stedmak

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/08/2020 17:49

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer