Henley Four Oaks Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location

This site is within easy walking distance to Henley-on-Thames with its wealth of restaurants and bars. We took a boat trip to Hambleden Weir and walked back along the Chiltern Way. Staff very friendly on site, some traffic noise from site but a small price to pay for prime location.

Stedmak

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/08/2020 17:49

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site for Henley and surrounding area

Site has the usual facilities and they were well managed for Covid-19. The band system to use the toilet/shower facilities worked reasonably well. We had a tyre puncture during our stay and would highly recommend Thames View Tyres if you ever find yourself in the same situation. Great location for walks along the Thames and the bus service to get you back to the site. As already mentioned in other reviews, the site is next to a busy road and drivers seemed to like to demonstrate their upgrades for noisy exhausts. Would certainly returned another year.

Godfather

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2020 20:34

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Nice Site BUT Traffic noise will spoil your stay

For our first club site we were over the moon at the start, a lovely small well-kept site. The staff where friendly and helpful and although they had only 81 pitches they had closed a number of them off to limit capacity. The biggest downside to this camp is the road it is on, I found even though we were on far pitch the traffic was quiet intrusive, as local boy racers screamed up and down the road, and this will probably stop us going back, such a shame. Henley and the surrounding area is lovely and we had a great day walking on the banks of the Thames. And sadly this was the best site of our 3 site holiday

Pineappleray66

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/08/2020 15:16

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Noisy site

Traffic noise will spoil your stay at this site- we could not believe how loud the constant flow of speeding vehicles where, even inside your van, definitely not a site for quiet relaxation. Traffic was day and night, a very busy fast road runs adjacent to the site, only wish I’d of taken notice of the reviews prior to booking. This isn’t any fault of the club, it’s a busy area and probably not in the best location now. Short walk into the town but a dangerous one, narrow pavement on this fast road, speed limit of 40 going into a 30 mph zone, certainly not adhered to by most users. Walking along you have to step into the road to allow other pedestrians to pass to be socially distanced, again not a club fault but something you need to consider if you are not good on your feet or responsible for young children, I wouldn’t advise this journey at all No issues with the site’s facilities, only small and rather dated in the pitch layout, seems overcrowded for larger units, I think too many pitches squeezed into the space available, one bizarre point to mention, the barrier control pole is located on the near side of your vehicle, make sure you have a passenger or a left hand drive to operate this unable to fathom out why ?

adoglad

Caravanner from Wirral

Reviewed on 10/08/2020 13:06

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Summer time stay during Covid

Stayed at the end of July in what would have been the Regatta week in normal times. The site was full and Henley was busy. The site is usual MCC standard and well maintained. I have only one issue with the site and that's the traffic noise. Henley attracts a lot of noisy motorbikes and sports cars especially at a weekend. This is obtrusive as some of the pitches are close to the busy main road. I suspect even pitches well away from the road would suffer with the noise to some extent. If peace and quiet are required try elsewhere. In terms of access to Henley and the Thames, the location is very good and on a great bus route for motorhomers.

Lancashire Lad

Motorhomer from Lancashire

Reviewed on 06/08/2020 12:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good for Henley

This is a larger site than we would usually choose and it certainly didn't feel as if there were less pitches available die to Covid - for me it felt overcrowded, and it's close to a fairly busy road. However, the facilities, including the shower block which was open with some restrictions, were really clean so appreciated that and if you needed to get into Henley (I did for work) it's pretty convenient.

ScreenName64D3506E2F

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/08/2020 12:42

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Sadly a very disappointing stay

I've read other recent reviews and can't believe I'm talking about the same site. Sadly our experiences were not as positive. We stayed on this site a couple of years ago for 2 weeks, and we loved it. The Club's claim that the caravan park is surrounded by statuesque mature trees, adding privacy to your stay was not a false one. On this last 4 night stay we were sorely disappointed. We arrived on Sunday only shortly after 1pm ie as soon as permissible but the site was already absolutely heaving. There were very few pitches left and these were the ones immediately next to the road. The traffic noise from cars and speeding motor bikes was absolutely terrible throughout our 4 night stay, from early in the morning until late at night, and occasionally even 1 am! A lady stopped right in front of our caravan to say Hello and we could not hear each other for the traffic so conversations were really difficult. Our pitch, 60, was separated from a busy road with a 60 mph speed limit by a single leafy hedge. No calming or peaceful break for us I'm afraid, as with our previous stay when we enjoyed a far more comfortable pitch away from the noisy road. I used the shower block twice during our 4 night stay and on the first occasion found the floor was absolutely caked with mud. It was a sunny dry day so I've no idea how this happened, particularly with the Club's claims of additional cleaning. I wish I'd taken photographs to show the state of the floor which were nothing like the high standards we've previously experienced. I think the site was oversubscribed, putting facilities under too much pressure. I feel the Club is being greedy by placing caravans on pitches which are so poor so I think the pitches next to the road should be closed. Henley is a lovely location to visit. It's such a shame our visit was marred. Based on our previous stay I would have recommended this site without hesitation, but now I will honesty avoid going back.

Darrel Cartwright

Reviewed on 03/08/2020 19:52

14 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful site

We arrived on a Sunday following the COVID 19 lockdown easing . Social distancing was in place from entering the site and very well organized. We could choose our own pitch but most were taken as fully booked , we ended up by the road on a grass pitch , previous reviews had said to avoid these pitches because of the road noise but I have to say that it didn’t bother us and we had the biggest pitch that we have ever seen in our 3 years as Motorhome owners . It was brilliant . All facilities spotless and constantly being cleaned and sanitized. Only 2-3 people allowed in the shower block at any one time . We loved this site and can’t wait to return. I would say though that if you are slow walkers like us then the walk into Henley is more like 40 minutes than 20 !!! But you can easily catch the bus

lancashirelass57

Reviewed on 03/08/2020 13:58

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location for Henley

We arrived on the Sunday and they were fully booked. We were told to find a pitch and then let them know the number. Henley is about a 15 minute walk along the path, where you'll find lots of shops, pubs etc. There are Thames path walks all over the river side which was lovely. We were there to put the boats in which was great. There are many public slipways around the area. Noise wise, it is near a busy road so try and pick a pitch further back if possible. Also the barrier needs oiling as it constantly squeaks on opening and closing. As for as the facilities I can't comment on cleanliness as I use my own, especially at the minute as we're in a pandemic. I would recommend this site though as we had a lovely time.

gazzabish

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/07/2020 18:53

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Coronavirus Review

Just got back from 4 nights at Members only Henley Four Oaks Club site, Thurs – Mon. This very pleasant and green site was full at around 75 vans. The wardens were very, friendly, helpful and engaging keeping the site and the sole toilet block clean and sanitised during this current Coronavirus pandemic. This was very reassuring and we felt safe throughout our stay. There is plenty of road noise all over the site for those who are more sensitive when sleeping but the site is very well located for walking the mile, 20 minutes, into Henley along the tarmac footpath from the site gate. The edge is a little overgrown in places, probably down to current council staffing re maintenance, and has street lighting for about 2/3 the way along Marlow Road. The road traffic is very busy and fast despite it being 40/30 mph and this made us super carful on our way home in the dark. There are busses every 20 minutes passing the site gate in each direction. Henley is very pleasant with a good section of small shops, 2 supermarkets, eating and drinking establishments and the fantastic River Thames with all the boating/walking that comes with it. For those interested in how the site toilet block worked during this pandemic I felt that it was used by many more members than I had anticipated with restricted numbers at any one time, 2 in the gents, 3 in the ladies, but I only ever queued twice for about 10 minutes on 2 occasions at 0730 time. I did see larger queues of around 6 deep a little later on in the morning but these went down quickly with the majority going to the toilet. Given the restrictions, beyond the Warden’s control, it seemed to work pretty well. There are no serviced pitches here so that may have added to the numbers using the facilities but all aspects of the facilities were being used by some members and larger families washing the pots etc. Overall we were very pleased for our first outing after the lockdown being eased.

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer