Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Trials and Tribulations of the access to the site

I feel that I have to share my recent experience with both fellow members and the club team with a hope that some action is taken so to avoid others having to endure the same experience… When arriving at the Kendal site earlier this week just after 13:00 as is requested by the club (note that the latest departure time is 12:00) towing out 7.5 meter caravan we were confronted with a large motor home heading towards us on the single track road leading up to the site who had no intention of making any effort to look for a suitable passing place resulting in a stand off until we “shoe horned” ourselves into a passing place coming perilously close to hitting a grass embankment and eventually passing the motor home with centimetres to spare. The driver of the motor home words to me were “it’s not my problem”. Can’t the club make it clearer through appropriate signage where there is restricted access to the site not to try and leave the site around the time new arrivals are allowed to turn up and secondly surely members must realise this as its made very clear when new arrivals can start to turn up when booking that there is likely to be some congestion?

Reviewed on

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Not Indiana Jones replied on 29/09/2020 13:57

Posted on 29/09/2020 13:57

Hi, as the site manager I can only say that site staff have no control on when members leave site during their stay, car and motorhomer owners are entitled to leave whenever it suits them, only on arrival and departure days do we ask that you depart prior to midday and arrive after 1pm. There are on a daily basis arrivals pulling onto the forecourt as early as 10.30am and departures stretching their stay as much as possible and these 2 actions cause problems on the lane. Naturally one would hope that on meeting another outfit on the lane all parties take suitable steps to pass each other safely.

gloucester1 replied on 30/09/2020 17:51

Posted on 30/09/2020 17:51

In reply to the member bringing up the topic of narrow lanes and access to the site and meeting others coming and going, this is more or less a normal problem to a site that is not directly off a main road.

People that use motor homes that want to go out for the day also want to leave the site morning and afternoon,  to see local attractions, its not a case of restricting times that they can move.

A lot of motor home drivers that refuse to reverse in fact are not competent to reverse on  mirrors.

I have reversed my vehicle and caravan a number of times because the can't reverse into a pull-in the have just  passed . I don't think signage will help with this any more that what is already in place.

It is just down to respect for each other and poor driving skill. 

 

neil&josie replied on 30/09/2020 19:39

Posted on 30/09/2020 19:39

Hi,I think that the main problems,are caused by some members think they are the only members on site,being polite to others cost nothing, and sadly i think,this is the way things are going nowadays,Many times i have spoken to people, to say ,good-day,and they ignore you,as if you are not there, but saying that it will not stop me enjoying, the many sites we have visited,and hope to for a long time in the future, Many thanks to all the wardens who do a great job for us all. Neil.

Bootstrap replied on 02/10/2020 14:05

Posted on 29/09/2020 13:57 by Not Indiana Jones

Hi, as the site manager I can only say that site staff have no control on when members leave site during their stay, car and motorhomer owners are entitled to leave whenever it suits them, only on arrival and departure days do we ask that you depart prior to midday and arrive after 1pm. There are on a daily basis arrivals pulling onto the forecourt as early as 10.30am and departures stretching their stay as much as possible and these 2 actions cause problems on the lane. Naturally one would hope that on meeting another outfit on the lane all parties take suitable steps to pass each other safely.

Posted on 02/10/2020 14:05

We also had problems on the lane when we arrived - but for us it was a 4 wheel drive and then a small Ford Kaa.  Both drivers came past the wide passing places fast and both were unable to reverse.  My husband had to reverse a car and caravan quite a long way for both vehicles.

The warden cannot possibly take responsibility for bad drivers and it is impossible to put a mitigating system in place.

As responsible adults, we all need to slow down, look ahead and give way to the greater need.  Cars should certainly give way to caravans and motorhomes.  Motorhomes have good visibility and should look ahead and read the road - and learn to reverse.  It is much harder to reverse a caravan as it is a long load.