Longleat Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful staff

We visited with our grandchildren at Whitsun to be near the safari park. We were made very welcome by the managers who were extremely helpful. One of our nicest welcomes. Site was well looked after and we were extremely happy with how the site was complying with COVID restrictions. Well done all 👏👏👏👏

DuncanandElizabeth

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/07/2021 20:57

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent for visiting Longleat

We stopped here for a long weekend and for visiting Longleat , the location is superb.We walked from the site into the park to do the adventure playground one day , a short walk . The site is set amongst trees and is beautiful, well spaced out.You can hear the sea lions roar and at night we heard the lions. There is a kids park to play in and a pleasant dog walking area. The facilities were spotless and the wardens very friendly. The access road to the site from the main road is narrow in places but there were plenty of passing places so no problem.

Heather2020

Motorhomer from Devon

Reviewed on 15/07/2021 11:57

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another fabulous stay….this time in the sun! 😎

There is nothing quite like listening to the roar of a lion or the bark of Belle the sea lion while laying in bed at Longleat C&M club site! This alone makes it a truly memorable and unique stay and if you’re visiting the safari park what could be better than a 2 minute walk from the site through what feels like your own private entrance into such a magnificent park!? The facilities were spotless as always and the staff super friendly and always willing to help! This time the sun actually shone ( not a regular thing for us! ) making it even more enjoyable than usual! Highly recommend!

davenemily

Reviewed on 15/07/2021 11:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great weekend break

We have been to this site before and it doesn't let you down. We actually heard the sea lions this time which was nice. Facilities and pitch were very clean. The only downside was on leaving, we left just before 12 and despite the information saying that arrivals were after 1pm we encountered 2 vans arriving just after 12. The access road is narrow and it is not easy to pass. Shame members can not read and take note of arrival and leaving instructions to avoid issues on the local roads. Apart from that it was a good relaxing break to test out new van which is just as well as the boiler didn't work. We didn't go into the park this time but noted that there are no discounts in 2021 for members due to Covid. Will visit again great site and only 45 minutes fto. home.

John and Alyson

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/07/2021 20:49

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

1st time here

Arrived on 27th June only to find that the electric is being tested on the 28th June that was fine but it was being tested for the whole week and the tv kept going off, also he internet is not silver I have been on campsite that were bronze and have got a better reception than here, very remote especially if u have a motorhome and no car. he price to get into the safari park was 35-00 each and we r pensioners, also no discount was given to the club members. I woudn't stay here again very disappointed

plumbingpete

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/07/2021 13:14

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

ticked all our boxes

Recent return after 4 nights on this fab site. Shaky start with a major diesel leak. Drove to our pitch only to be greeted by 2 less than helpful fellow campers who thought it was amusing offering their take on it as 'expensive this motorhome life isn't it' followed by a hasty retreat chuckling to themselves. NOT HELPFUL. Then appeared 2 angels in the form of wardens Clare and Emma. They were amazing, supportive and very helpful. They offered assistance and came back a few times to check we were OK AND again the following day. Mayday/greenflag saved the day and all was well again. The family opposite our pitch then offered some of their meal which was so gratefully received I shed a tear. The facilities on site were spotless with the covid regulations/guidelines in full operation. There is lots of space between pitches and most are surrounded by trees so takes time to decide where to choose sun or shade. There is a games room which would be great for kids but closed presently due to pandemic. So peaceful apart from Belle the sealion making lots of noise day and night (did not disturb) and occasional roar from the lions. The team are on hand to direct you to the walks and cycle routes around the site. It is quite hilly around the site so beware if cycling. After the initial incident we had an amazing stay. First day we wasted no time visiting Longleat and booked the bus for the safari tour. Limited spaces due to covid, air recirculating unit installed on seat headrests and all wore masks. We felt very safe and well looked after and the driver/guide, Dave was great. The park was a fab experience and we spent the whole stay taking advantage of a self guided tour around the site and gardens. Entrance fee included the boat and train ride but the bus was an extra £8 per adult (not a negative as well worth it). What a stunning place. Frome is the nearest town which we visited both by bike and bus. Day 2, we cycled to Frome and got the train up to Bath. It cost £12 return (took the bikes on board) and allowed a day seeing the fabulous architecture that Bath has to offer. Beautiful weather, lunch in one of the many eateries and a seat overlooking the Royal crescent. Day 3 we walked to the white Hart pub (little under 2 miles from site) and got the bus to Frome with tired legs after the previous days cycling. Not a great deal to capture us in Frome but I think that's more a matter of taste. Bus back and a couple of hrs in the White Hart before a giddy walk back to site. We are booked to stay again this season and can't wait. It's a fab site for adults and families, it did not disappoint.

Midge and Craig

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/06/2021 22:21

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

not what it used to be

Site its self is ok.... you are a bit remote... great if you're visiting the wildlife park every day. The big draw back for me is..... years ago you could walk around the Longleat estate without any problems now you cannot.... as I found out when the camera's pick me up and a security guard come driving to see what I was doing and told me its not allowed, in years gone bye i've cycled and walked all over the estate without any problems. NOT ANYMORE YOUV'E BEEN WARNED.... The other thing that happened was the fresh couple next to me parked there caravan with the peg in the middle of there van so that meant they were parking there vehicle on our grass and closer to our awning and every day he used to open his vehicle doors to try and cool the interior down in the hot weather we have just had. How inconsiderate and I'm alright jack attitude. The price of this site should be adjusted to compensate for the loss off not being able to walk on the estate grounds.

Kizer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 17:11

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Thank you lovely staff

The site is charming set in tall beautiful trees giving lots of light and shade. Plenty of flat road to either jog around or for the children to scoot or cycle. Good children's playground. But best of all is the greeting from the staff - all four staff on duty were so very helpful and welcoming and had the patience of saints!! We had a relaxing stay and enjoyed chatting to our neighbours.

ScreenName429CD31E14

Campervanner

Reviewed on 16/06/2021 20:01

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peace and relaxation

We have just spent a week on this site and found it very peaceful, even when full. It is a little remote and walking or cycling from site does involve some hills. The walk up the road to The White Hart is well worth it. Excellent food, drinks and staff and very reasonably priced. We also tried The Royal Oak - again an uphill walk and slightly further, but much prefer the White Hart. We pre bought tickets for the safari park and used the entrance next to the site to walk into the park. We paid the £8 per person for the safari bus as we didn’t want to take our Motorhome in. We would recommend paying that little extra, whatever your vehicle. The bus has air filters fitted to most seats and has limited capacity - only 8 people downstairs when we’re there. We had to wear masks and felt totally safe. The driver gave so much interesting information and knew where all the animals were. We saw so much more than we would have done driving ourselves through - and there’s no risk of damage to your vehicle. A great day out just disappointed the House isn’t open yet. Frome is a 5 mile cycle ride from site, again hilly but worth a visit.

asdfg

Reviewed on 14/06/2021 07:57

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Thank you Clare

The assistant warden Clare went above and beyond to help us, It was only a very minor issue but she went out of her way to to help. Thank you Clare.

brian and caroline

Reviewed on 13/06/2021 11:28

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer