Longleat Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fab site right next to Longleatv

Had a lovely stay here - beautiful clean site and an ideal base for Longleat - it is so close you can head the lions and Brian the sea lion getting excited when being fed from the boat . I would agree with other reviews that there is nothing else nearby unless you go to Longjeat - there’s a pub right at the start of the entrance road but would be a good 20min walk. Will def return as you can never get bored with Longjeat and CAMHC sites are so well equipped

ScreenNameFF38894D4E

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 16:01

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice, clean campsite

This campsite is fantastic for visiting Longleat, could not be more convenient. The site is very organised, and the facilities are very clean if a little dated. But the site is so plain, no pretty areas of landscaping, or attempt to make the site more attractive. So many sites now encourage wildlife, but the sites are all to exactly the same design. Whilst this may suit a lot of people it is not as appealing to my family. There is such an emphasis on rules that it makes arrival at the sites a bit off putting.

PTG76

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 21:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful

Mark, Gail and their team of wardens are friendly and very helpful. We love coming here. Grounds are lovely. It’s a quiet site at the moment except for the sea lions barking and the lions roaring which we love. Got to be one of the nicest sites you can come to and brilliant for visiting the safari park.

Helen Salty

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 19:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Great for Longleat Safari Park but that’s it…

Really disappointed with this site. The staff really need some customer service training or a personality transplant. Felt like we weren’t welcome at the point of arriving at site. I thought the site was a business providing holidays not a prison camp. The facilities were generally good. Toilets and showers as expected for a Caravan Club Site. That’s where it ends. Games room was dirty and in need of a lot of tlc. Pool table ripped and cues broken. Getting a ball for the table tennis was missing impossible. Getting tokens for the washing machine was met with a disappointing unhelpful manor. I felt like I was really putting the reception staff out. Don’t try and buy anything in the shop as apparently things are not for sale. Reception opening times are not the times it is open. Have to go back when it’s open and it’s closed. Notices around the site were aggressive. Felt like I was getting a reprimanding whilst using the loo. Notices explaining how much the club spent last year unblocking toilets was a little over the top. Get it but a bit of politeness goes a long way. I would imagine the site would want to cater for family’s due to the location but it felt like family’s were really not welcome. May be the site was built on an old grave site….certainly felt dark. Best part other than the location was leaving….

ScreenNameACC6FACD2A

Campervanner

Reviewed on 08/09/2021 11:10

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Hidden gem

First time at Longleat sitr and 5 stars all round, great ambience on site, large flat pitches. Facilities clean and tidy as are the grounds, Wardens really friendly and helpful and their hard work is evident in the high standard of cleaniness throughout the site. Longleat is basically out of site to your left and your there. Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay will definitely be back. Poor phone and WiFi signal but it was nice to have some peace. Good tv signal on our pitch noticed you could hook up aerial to bollard. Site is secluded and peaceful and to us as it was our first time on site a hidden gem

DJEJ

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/09/2021 19:09

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

We had great time, despite the negative reviews

Reading some of the below reviews we wondered what we were in for when we arrived at Longleat. On arrival there was a sign stating one person at a time in reception and masks to be worn on entering reception, personally I didn't have an issue with this, there is still a pandemic out there and we all have to stay safe, I found the warden to be very pleasant and helpful, as they all were at al times, even when I had an small issue. Please be aware because of the location there will be children around, so they will be out on their bikes cycling round the site and making new friends, if this is not your thing then I suggest you book mid week outside of the school holidays. It is in the middle of no where so there is extremely little or no phone signal, so you will have to walk off site to try and find one, my Grandson paid for the Wi-Fi, again due to the location this is very hit or miss, your choice if you want to take a chance, there is a map in reception that tells you were the best Wi-Fi coverage is supposed to be on site, but still hit or miss. It will be noisy, but with the sealions barking every time the Longleat Jungle Cruise boat passes, the campsite backs on to the lake, if your lucky you may hear the Lions roaring, one was having a real go one night we were there, and the Wolves howling. On the whole we had a great time, the Wardens were pleasant and helpful and the facilities were kept clean, in fact the only problem we encountered was due to someone leaving late as we met them on the way in down one of the narrow lanes, that is why they ask everybody to leave by 12, we were lucky as we met at a place where one of us could pull in to pass, but be warned for most of it one of you will have to reverse.

The Allen Family

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/09/2021 11:37

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

My opinion

Having read all the reviews since returning think some are a bit harsh…. This is very much a family site and young children are racing around the site on bikes etc etc … kids do have to play but haven’t stayed at a camping club site where this is usually allowed… mind your we never usually book August so don’t have anything to judge this by .. We are 2 young minded adults and this was our first visit to this site …. I found the wardens to be pleasant and on booking in was met by a very friendly lady .. and later on when we were cooking in the rain outside warden passed and was talkative and wanted to steal our steak 😜 Shower blocks could have been cleaner but it was very wet and children running in and out prob no way to keep on top of the mud and grass everywhere .. we were in a motorhome and agree the lane to the site def wasn’t something you’d want to encounter if you wanted to venture out .. we had electric bikes so that enabled us to venture out on the cycle route.. I stupidly paid for WiFi as signal was really bad and needed to keep in touch with family member … WiFi was non existent … Overall we had a great time despite the weather and would recommend this site but to take note of the things I’ve mentioned … we would return just not in school Holidays …

Mickey c

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/08/2021 21:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Very Disappointing

Very disappointing visiting and I can see I am not alone from the other reviews. The rudest wardens I have ever come across with - absolutely shocking. As a younger caravan this is the general theme on most sites but this site was the worst experienced by far. I am not sure why wardens on Caravan Club sites have such an attitude towards younger caravaners - surely if they continue to treat younger caravaners with this discontent the future of the club won't be bright. Phone signal/wifi/data non-existed - not that that is the main thing when on holidays, but it is nice to be able to browse the web in the night to see what attractions are nearby for the next day/days. First and last visit.

Rhysy Mogs

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/08/2021 19:30

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing longleat - NON EXISTENT PHONE SIGNAL/WiFi

No phone signal whatsoever on site, paid £11 for WiFi and at most got 5 minutes of signal for every 10 minute wait to log in - I’d like a refund!! No ‘sound or the lions’ only the longleat train and sea lions on the lake. When we arrived I was asked to leave the office as I didn’t have a face mask on despite restrictions being lifted and despite the fact 2 other adults were coming in without masks and were served as I left. Staff were borderline rude on the 3 occasions I spoke to them. This is in complete contrast to the 3 other sites we have been to this year where they went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. There’s nothing within walking distance and the road in is single track for the whole 1.8 miles - not for the feint hearted as it’s used for access to the safari park. We were basically told by someone that we had 18 minutes to leave the site as we were packing up and trying to fix the emergency wire on the van.

ScreenName7E90FA75E5

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 20:43

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing for us too !

The directions into the site were fine but the narrow lane leads (in the opposite direction) to plenty of cars hurrying to Longleat Park entrance. On arrival on site we were informed that the lane would be closed for roadworks, so no escape by road ! The pitch was fine and pretty level but no water or grey waste disposal pitchside. N.B. There was NO mobile or TV signal and the site wifi was a complete waste of time and money (yes, £3.50 per day). There is a TV aerial point on the hook up stand which would be useful if you had a 20metre aerial extension. The fresh water, grey waste and chemical disposal point was reasonably close by. Reception appears to be closed until 1pm and the shop described on the info sheet simply doesn't exist which is something of an inconvenience when you can't drive off site cos the road is shut. Toilet blocks were clean, functional and big enough but probably about 10 years out of date. The family games room has a pool table with torn baize and plastic table tennis bats. Mmm. Site staff were really friendly and it was fun to hear the sealions in the distance trying to drown out the noise of traffic and strimmers in the road outside. Nice site overall, clean and well maintained but its isolation, medieval communication and difficult access make £35 each for Longleat plus £8 for the bus a bit harder to justify more than a one or two night stopover.

ScreenNameB518DEDF64

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/08/2021 14:23

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer