Longleat Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed

Spent a week here just recently. If you are a motorhome owner and not into travelling off site with it, then you will find yourself stuck on site with little to do. Public transport was a walk of 1.8 miles away and the road to get to it very busy. The last time we came here club members had access to the grounds for walking and cycling, but they have stopped this. It cost £38 per person to get into the grounds. You could cycle through the grounds to get the pub through the arch at the end of the long drive, but with strict instructions not to stop. We tried cycling off the grounds but there was a massive hill or too much traffic. The pubs are a bit too far to walk for non walkers. We went for a walk but ended wandering into the grounds, caught on camera and stopped by a ranger. Thankfully he was fine with us, but we got the impression there was little communication between the club site and Longleat. To make matters worse the WiFi was rubbish and contact with the outside world impossible unless you were willing to go in search of a hotspot. To be honest we were glad when the week was up and couldn’t get away quick enough.

Jeanmr

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/08/2021 19:59

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location but sort the phone signal!!!!!

Stayed for a week at the end of July. Great hard standing pitch with electric and TV signal. Plus points: A great location for visiting Wiltshire, Somerset and Dorset. So many beautiful places within an hour’s drive. Lovely team who run it - we were always seeing them busily going about their jobs (mainly trying to unblock the chemical disposal point!) Great pub called the White Hart (about a 30 minute walk away) with good, home cooked food. Well stocked tourist information hut which we used regularly. Negatives: toilet blocks are tired and could use an update. I understand the gents were a bit whiffy and muddy by the afternoon. NO PHONE SIGNAL!!! I can cope without wifi or 4G for a week but come on CMAC, this is 2021! Sort it out! You have to leave the site and find a small strip of grass half way down the Lane to get any signal. No access to Longleat whatsoever unless you pay £35 each for a day ticket - which can only be booked online (not easy when there is NO PHONE SIGNAL.) Personally, I’m not prepared to pay that as the house was, rightly in the current climate, closed. But I didn’t want to see the safari park and £35 to go round the gardens is a bit steep. But we did have a wonderful week and would recommend (just make sure you are happy with being radio silent for your stay.)

stellabella

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 17:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful staff

We visited with our grandchildren at Whitsun to be near the safari park. We were made very welcome by the managers who were extremely helpful. One of our nicest welcomes. Site was well looked after and we were extremely happy with how the site was complying with COVID restrictions. Well done all 👏👏👏👏

DuncanandElizabeth

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/07/2021 20:57

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent for visiting Longleat

We stopped here for a long weekend and for visiting Longleat , the location is superb.We walked from the site into the park to do the adventure playground one day , a short walk . The site is set amongst trees and is beautiful, well spaced out.You can hear the sea lions roar and at night we heard the lions. There is a kids park to play in and a pleasant dog walking area. The facilities were spotless and the wardens very friendly. The access road to the site from the main road is narrow in places but there were plenty of passing places so no problem.

Heather2020

Motorhomer from Devon

Reviewed on 15/07/2021 11:57

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another fabulous stay….this time in the sun! 😎

There is nothing quite like listening to the roar of a lion or the bark of Belle the sea lion while laying in bed at Longleat C&M club site! This alone makes it a truly memorable and unique stay and if you’re visiting the safari park what could be better than a 2 minute walk from the site through what feels like your own private entrance into such a magnificent park!? The facilities were spotless as always and the staff super friendly and always willing to help! This time the sun actually shone ( not a regular thing for us! ) making it even more enjoyable than usual! Highly recommend!

davenemily

Reviewed on 15/07/2021 11:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great weekend break

We have been to this site before and it doesn't let you down. We actually heard the sea lions this time which was nice. Facilities and pitch were very clean. The only downside was on leaving, we left just before 12 and despite the information saying that arrivals were after 1pm we encountered 2 vans arriving just after 12. The access road is narrow and it is not easy to pass. Shame members can not read and take note of arrival and leaving instructions to avoid issues on the local roads. Apart from that it was a good relaxing break to test out new van which is just as well as the boiler didn't work. We didn't go into the park this time but noted that there are no discounts in 2021 for members due to Covid. Will visit again great site and only 45 minutes fto. home.

John and Alyson

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/07/2021 20:49

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

1st time here

Arrived on 27th June only to find that the electric is being tested on the 28th June that was fine but it was being tested for the whole week and the tv kept going off, also he internet is not silver I have been on campsite that were bronze and have got a better reception than here, very remote especially if u have a motorhome and no car. he price to get into the safari park was 35-00 each and we r pensioners, also no discount was given to the club members. I woudn't stay here again very disappointed

plumbingpete

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/07/2021 13:14

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

ticked all our boxes

Recent return after 4 nights on this fab site. Shaky start with a major diesel leak. Drove to our pitch only to be greeted by 2 less than helpful fellow campers who thought it was amusing offering their take on it as 'expensive this motorhome life isn't it' followed by a hasty retreat chuckling to themselves. NOT HELPFUL. Then appeared 2 angels in the form of wardens Clare and Emma. They were amazing, supportive and very helpful. They offered assistance and came back a few times to check we were OK AND again the following day. Mayday/greenflag saved the day and all was well again. The family opposite our pitch then offered some of their meal which was so gratefully received I shed a tear. The facilities on site were spotless with the covid regulations/guidelines in full operation. There is lots of space between pitches and most are surrounded by trees so takes time to decide where to choose sun or shade. There is a games room which would be great for kids but closed presently due to pandemic. So peaceful apart from Belle the sealion making lots of noise day and night (did not disturb) and occasional roar from the lions. The team are on hand to direct you to the walks and cycle routes around the site. It is quite hilly around the site so beware if cycling. After the initial incident we had an amazing stay. First day we wasted no time visiting Longleat and booked the bus for the safari tour. Limited spaces due to covid, air recirculating unit installed on seat headrests and all wore masks. We felt very safe and well looked after and the driver/guide, Dave was great. The park was a fab experience and we spent the whole stay taking advantage of a self guided tour around the site and gardens. Entrance fee included the boat and train ride but the bus was an extra £8 per adult (not a negative as well worth it). What a stunning place. Frome is the nearest town which we visited both by bike and bus. Day 2, we cycled to Frome and got the train up to Bath. It cost £12 return (took the bikes on board) and allowed a day seeing the fabulous architecture that Bath has to offer. Beautiful weather, lunch in one of the many eateries and a seat overlooking the Royal crescent. Day 3 we walked to the white Hart pub (little under 2 miles from site) and got the bus to Frome with tired legs after the previous days cycling. Not a great deal to capture us in Frome but I think that's more a matter of taste. Bus back and a couple of hrs in the White Hart before a giddy walk back to site. We are booked to stay again this season and can't wait. It's a fab site for adults and families, it did not disappoint.

Midge and Craig

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/06/2021 22:21

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

not what it used to be

Site its self is ok.... you are a bit remote... great if you're visiting the wildlife park every day. The big draw back for me is..... years ago you could walk around the Longleat estate without any problems now you cannot.... as I found out when the camera's pick me up and a security guard come driving to see what I was doing and told me its not allowed, in years gone bye i've cycled and walked all over the estate without any problems. NOT ANYMORE YOUV'E BEEN WARNED.... The other thing that happened was the fresh couple next to me parked there caravan with the peg in the middle of there van so that meant they were parking there vehicle on our grass and closer to our awning and every day he used to open his vehicle doors to try and cool the interior down in the hot weather we have just had. How inconsiderate and I'm alright jack attitude. The price of this site should be adjusted to compensate for the loss off not being able to walk on the estate grounds.

Kizer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 17:11

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Thank you lovely staff

The site is charming set in tall beautiful trees giving lots of light and shade. Plenty of flat road to either jog around or for the children to scoot or cycle. Good children's playground. But best of all is the greeting from the staff - all four staff on duty were so very helpful and welcoming and had the patience of saints!! We had a relaxing stay and enjoyed chatting to our neighbours.

ScreenName429CD31E14

Campervanner

Reviewed on 16/06/2021 20:01

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer