Maragowan Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely place: pity about the facilities

Lovely situation but facilities leave the site in a past age. Toilets and showers archaic : the worst we have encountered in our holiday in Scotland and it is not the cheapest site we’ve stayed on. TV reception ‘fair’ : it is nearer to non-existent and cannot even get radio reception. WiFi, which is far from cheap at club sites, is variable but not quick enough to use iPlayer. This is all a great shame because Killin has much going for it. The site is very busy but well run. The countryside is lovely but sadly we will avoid in future unless the facilities are brought into the current century.

Ericaw

Reviewed on 23/06/2021 08:57

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic location, poor facilities

Maragown site is in a fantastic location, incredible views and very peaceful if your pitch is by the river otherwise some road noise. Our only complaint is the poor facilities, The whole shower block was closed from 10am to 12pm, are people not on holiday? All other sites the facilities are closed for an hour. At 11.30am I was told to stop washing the pots as the area was closed off. The area is away from the toilets and to close that off for that length of time is crazy. The washing area had one sink for the whole campsite, the other two closed for COVID reasons were disgusting, obviously people had rinsed pots in them and in the week we were there they had not been cleaned. At 4pm the toilets are closed again for 20minutes which is fair enough but when I went in it was if it was a stable that had been hosed down. I had to use large amount of toilet tissue to dry the seat, lid etc. What I don’t understand is why we all have to be showered by 10am when we are on holiday. A Caravan Club site in Derbyshire close their facilities from 2pm to clean, isn’t this the best time when people are out for the day? When you are paying nearly £30 a night you expect better customer service and facilities.

mjcjtook

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 21:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great site with plenty of great amenities within walking distance

We stayed here for 8 days in June and had a fabulous time. Killin is a great town and there are plenty of pubs/restaurants to walk to - Courie Inn a special favourite, dog friendly in the bar. Lovely golf course almost next door and a lovely walk, down Pier Road (next to site) then follow signs to Loch or back into town. We hired a motorboat at Kenmore for 3 hours- glorious. More great walks alongside river. We shall be back I am sure.

gillie1864

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 13:47

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent staff and extremely helpful to newcomers

My wife and I along with two friends arrived in two camper vans (hired) so completely new to the scene and on our first night. Richard and Marcella together genuinely could not have been more helpful and facilitated us late in the evening when they should have been finished up for the day. Continual tips and accommodating us to generously was much appreciated. I have not seen customer service like this for a very very long time. They made such an impression that we are returning for our last night before going home. Cannot speak highly enough about both of them Derek & Hazel

DJ McC

Reviewed on 14/06/2021 23:44

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Poor facilities at Maragowan

Maragowan site is in a great location for local walks, exploring the area and places to eat / drink however the CAMC must review the facilities on offer to its members ….. the actual pitches are fairly level, great size and well presented however I would strongly recommend to all members to be prepared to use their own toilet and showers as the site facilities are functional and nothing more ….. Please do not expect anything other than extreme basics with regard to showers and toilets and after speaking with other members during out stay it is clear many felt the same. I will visit Maragowan site again but will never use the showers / toilet facilities until the CAMC update …… It didn’t spoil my visit as I simply used my caravan shower and toilet but it is important members are aware that unless they are prepared to use their own facilities their visit to Maragowan will not be favourable. Also, 2 points of note I found strange, the toilets are closed for 2 hours from 10am and arrival is from 1pm however when I arrive at 1.25pm I was unable to enter site due to a queue caused by only 1 member of staff being present so had to park on the approach road for approx 10 mins ….. it seems everything is done to suit the staff and not the members ….. overall a poor show!!

ScreenName39212AEA22

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/06/2021 15:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely five nights.

Not having visited this part of Scotland for decades we were very pleased to be staying in such a splendid location. The scenery is spectacular, the roads pretty quiet and the opportunities to see wildlife are very welcome. We were meeting up with other members from our owners club and during a walk along the disused railway line one of our relatively local members showed us the handiwork of a group of beavers on the loch side. It is thought they were unofficially located here or have simply travelled from a release site under their own steam. This certainly shed a light on the creature that crossed the road in front of us the previous evening which we had been unable to identify! We were lucky enough to see Red Squirrels at three different locations and lots of deer. The site is all that you come to expect from a CAMC site and the wardens and organisation of Covid procedures was excellent.

45 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great campsite and location.

We had two nights at Maragowan. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The site is located between a fairly busy road and the river. So traffic noise is a bit of an issue on one side of the site and much less beside the river. We moved pitch for the second night and ended up facing the river watching red squirrels and red deer on the opposite bank. But overall a very restful campsite. Both the staff and other campers were extremely welcoming. There are plenty of walks, cycle tracks, hills and villages to explore. Killin is pleasent and Kenmore very elegant at the other end of the loch. We would stay again at Maragowan if we make a further trip to Scotland.

ScreenNameDE64858434

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/05/2021 16:53

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of our favourite sites

We have been visiting this site regularly for 10 years now. It is only an hour from home which first attracted us for Friday after work location. We always get a warm welcome from Anne and all the wardens and after all these years they feel like friends. The wardens all work so hard to keep the site safe and are well organised with covid secure signature practices that are easy to follow and assuring .It is a beautiful location with a great village lots of pubs cafes a well stocked co op and numerous lovely walks nearby, the heritage trail has fascinating history including an ancient burial site at the waterfall bridge (get the key from the mill house) Finlarig castle ruin hidden in the trees just next to the site and beautiful Loch Tay.well worth a visit you will love it!

the bains

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/05/2021 19:01

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site, well managed and Covid safe

Stayed here Early October for 11 nights and it is a beautiful location, well placed for some Munro bagging in the Ben Lawers range. Site is by the river which is beautiful. Staff were really friendly and site is clean and well maintained. Covid planning has been well thought out and operated very smoothly. Staff explained the system for booking showers etc. on arrival and it worked well. the site was full and I never had problems getting a shower throughout my stay.

GAR CR1

Reviewed on 23/10/2020 10:15

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

September Sun and Showers???

Never been to this site or area before - wow what a great setting. Good for walks, shops and pubs close by and in a beautiful setting by River Lochay. There are walks close by to Loch Tay and the beautiful Falls of Dochart as well as along an old railway line and a lot of the minor roads around are also very quiet for walking. Pitches close to the riverside offer great views of the mountains and the river. The access into the site is good but not much area for waiting for the inevitable 1pm opening time. In our time there units were unable to get off the (quite busy) road but the wardens were helpful trying to sort matters out. The wardens are happy and helpful although they do not explain properly the "booking" system for the toilets you have to work it out yourself. And the toilets are where the lack of full stars come from. If there are facilities on site we would rather use them and since lockdown we have become used to the "band" system which apart from one site we visited (Old Hartley Northumberland was chaotic) seems to work well. On this site you have a booking in system which may have been more to do with the showers but prevented other people using the toilets. It may have been better to split the two blocks (male and female), the female for toilets and the male for showers and use the band system on the toilets and the booking system (or the band system) on the showers. That way two people cannot block up the whole of the system. I reiterate what other people have commented about the cleaning times also. Other than that whilst the laundry was open the washing up sinks were not - surely one of them could be in use as they were in the same room as the laundry. Other people have also mentioned the use of pitches for queuing for dumping waste water, getting fresh water and using the bins - could the CMC not credit people with the ability to keep their distance and free up the pitches? The facilities themselves when you could get into them were clean but could do with being refurbished. All the above sounds like major whining but I would not hesitate to go to this site again because of its beautiful setting.

Hermansholidays

Reviewed on 04/10/2020 09:45

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer