Maragowan Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very poor approach to Covid-19 precautions

As other reviewers have stated, this site gives each pitch one 20 minute slot per day with exclusive use of either the ladies or gents' shower and toilet block, which you need to book the day before. Thankfully we had a toilet and tent packed with us, intending to use it at another site. The alternative (if you can't go just once a day at a set time) is a small single toilet, which when we stayed, had no disinfectant available for use, and has a working hand drier in a very confined space. There was also very limited provision of hand sanitisers at shared outdoor taps etc. So the balance of precautions taken seemed excessive and at the same time very risky. We have been to other campsites which have sensible precautions in place and where we felt much safer than we did at Maragowan. It's a pity, because the site and location are fabulous.

Her Outdoors

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/08/2020 16:00

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Antiquated toilet/shower facilities

Fabulous location , lovely friendly wardens, great wee golf course up the road , Excellent walks , lovely places to drive to. Overall score let down by toilet/shower facilities needing modernised. Come on caravan club spend some money ! Also couldn't understand why the Clachan site nearby was closed altogether , such a waste ,given every club site in Scotland pretty full up at the moment .

BriaryBeetles

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2020 20:13

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

3 Night stay

Stayed here for 3 nights from the 18th Aug. The location is fantastic, Killin is a beautiful place and if you are in a caravan it is well worth the 16 mile trip with the car the the wonderful village of Kenmore at the other end of Loch Tay. The site is well laid out and I personally found the wardens friendly and helpful, yes there is an issue with the shower and toilet block and it is a problem with 20 min time slots but maybe because this is Scotland the guidance is differs slightly as was found in the Killin Hotel where your meals and drinks all had to be ordered and paid for separately on your phone ! even at the Falls of Dochart Inn you had to approach the bar with a mask on and then take your drink outside ! All that said we would have no hesitation in visiting this site again, hopefully when things are more back to normal.

Claret999

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2020 10:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Coronavirus protection system

We have been staying on club sites all over the UK since lockdown was lifted and have been impressed with the systems put in place to protect club members and staff as a result of Covid. Then we visited Maragowan where we have stayed many times pre lockdown and love the site, however the system put in place is totally different to any other site and is quite frankly ludicrous. You have to book as a family unit your time in the toilet block the day before! This applies to any envisaged use of the toilet block and you have to post this on a white board outside the toilet block. Dishwashing facilities were closed altogether rather than restricted as on other sites and there were very few hand sanitization stations at communal touchpoints. I really hope that the system for protection be revisited and revised to make for sense whilst also providing high levels of protection for staff and club members. Until that happens no more Maragowan for us.

batcol

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/08/2020 13:51

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Poor wardens spoil this site

Arrived at Maragowan and loved the location. The area is beautiful and there are great walks for the dog nearby. Killin hotel great for food and an easy walk. Sadly the site was let down by the wardens. They appear disinterested,grumpy,unhelpful and display a lack of knowledge re Covid19 which is worrying. As an NHS midwife and nurse for over 40 years ,I could not understand the measures they put in place. They stated they were guided by health and safety advisors. On arrival ,you are not permitted to approach the staff standing behind Perspex unless you are wearing a mask.... this whilst standing outside in the open air! The toilets and showers are closed unless you manage to book a 20 minute slot using a white board system . You may only write on the white board after 12 midday...I wrote on it at 1145 before going out and a very grumpy warden delighted in informing me that my booking would be rubbed off as it wasn’t yet 12 !, so...maybe a slot at 2pm is acceptable for a shower for some people but not most..... When you do get in to the shower it’s like a crime scene with yellow and black tape all over the place...why this is needed when a booking system is in place I do not know! Despite the one at a time slot system we discovered a pair of pants and a razor when we went in... not a warden in sight to check /clean/sanitise..... We love Loch Tay but won’t be returning to Maragowan. All other sites we have visited have super friendly helpful wardens around who are there to help ....not Maragowan!!!!

Moira Coles

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/08/2020 18:54

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great nights stay here

We stayed for only one night but will definitely return. The site is set in a lovely village on the banks of a river. The wardens are doing a great job during the covid pandemic and were so helpful at all times. Lots of walks nearby, we walked the old railway with our dogs to the falls of dochart inn where we had a nice meal, also dog friendly. We were then able to take our drinks outside and sit and watch the falls. Beautiful! We will definitely be back soon for longer. Thanks again to the site team for all their hard work and patience during the pandemic.

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location with plenty of walks

Lovely site with friendly staff. Check in took a bit longer with the Covid procedures but was all done with good humour by all. Lots of good walks direct from the site, cycle routes also. Killin is a nice wee village with a Co-op, pubs, restaurants and coffee shops so great for a short break, everything within walking distance. As said before toilet blocks are old but clean, they were operating a white board system to book a group slot for a 20 min shower slot, this worked well and meant there was no queuing.

LindaPaulB

Reviewed on 03/08/2020 18:58

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful site

We had a lovely week in the September sunshine a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed the beautiful scenery. We managed to get a pitch up the back in the cul-de-sac overlooking the river and it was so peaceful to have that view. Also enjoyed the ducks quacking by ever so often! The toilet blocks are a bit tired looking but very clean and plenty of hot water; good showers.

dogbert

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/09/2019 20:23

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Best of the highlands

A great site set in one of the most scenic areas of Scotland. Just enjoyed a week of glorious September sun in our tourer on this peaceful riverside club site. Enjoyed all the easy walking routes around the village and lochside. Approaching the site through Killin needs cautious driving, road through village invariably one lane due to parked cars, bridge crossing one way priority and always full of tourists admiring the beautiful Falls of Dochart. Highly recommended area and site, lots to see and do.

uphallster

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/09/2019 10:26

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A lovely peaceful site

Stop 3 on our Scotland expedition. A lovely small site with easy access and very central for a lot of locations. Yes the toilet block needs upgrading but it was kept very clean as were all the service points. It was a very peaceful site except for the occasional log hauler, rather them than me driving such a large outfit on narrow roads. Whilst here were travelled widely most days always ending up on our return with a drink sat on the wall overlooking the falls! We will be back again next year.

Chris882

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/09/2019 20:52

39 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer