Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Basic and regimented

Site nice enough and would have scored higher if hadn't been made to feel like naughty children upon arrival and throughout stay. Felt uncomfortable for whole of stay because owner in my opinion appeared unnecessarily over controlling and so precise. Owner asked we not have two cars parked on pitch despite the gravel pitch being plenty large enough for my tiny caravan and two cars and being informed my friend was not staying and was only here for 20 minutes to help set up as I was new to caravan ownership. However he insisted my friend Park his car at reception despite that my friend had followed me for 4 hours and had a 5 hour journey home. The owner then felt the need to do regular site walks despite there being no facilities to oversee. This constant walk around the site made me feel policed despite being middle-aged, sensible and respectful of others. I went to stay in a cottage on the Friday but visited the caravan on the Saturday to have a coffee with my friend who had driven up again on the Friday to take over caring for my dog that wasn't allowed in the cottage booked prior to being a caravan or dog owner. The owner during his walk around knocked on the caravan to ask I move my car despite it being on the gravel and not hurting anyone or the grass. I can only think maybe insurance requires only 1 car allowed per pitch! However, if this is the case an explanation of this would have felt better than just being told to move with no explanation other than the owner in my opinion being overly worried about his grass. I thought caravan holidays supposed to be relaxing but I felt uncomfortable and would not rebook for this site. I would rather miss my Goth Weekend I have attended for many years.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Tinwheeler replied on 29/10/2019 12:20

Posted on 29/10/2019 12:20

It’s a club site and second cars are not permitted on the pitch without the warden’s agreement. It’s not about the size of the pitch necessarily but about maintaining the required spacing between units/cars/awnings.

It sounds to me as if the warden was doing his job. Other folk complain that wardens do not enforce site rules so I guess they can’t win.

Daisydk replied on 29/10/2019 21:54

Posted on 29/10/2019 21:54

I was only visiting for an hour and there was lots of space between caravan and car.  There was no awning.   Also friend was just helping set up on the Friday and was asked to move his car off the pitch despite my not having arrived yet so no caravan or extra car at this point.  In my opinion the owner presented as controlling and made us both feel uncomfortable.  Neither of us understood the regular site inspections especially late at night.

Tinwheeler replied on 29/10/2019 22:11

Posted on 29/10/2019 22:11

It’s the space between your unit and your neighbour's that is the issue.

As I understand it, your friend was effectively reserving a pitch as you had not arrived with the caravan so had not booked in and, strictly speaking, the friend had no business being there without permission. Pitches are available on a first come first served basis and are not able to be reserved by parking a car on them.

The site warden (he’s not the owner) would have been keeping an eye on the site for the benefit of everyone.

It may help you understand how club sites work if you check out the T&Cs and site rules in your handbook.

 

Daisydk replied on 02/11/2019 14:18

Posted on 02/11/2019 14:18

Not sure why your defending a point of view that has no basis in this particular instance.  My friend had booked in and been instructed to find a pitch. My friend was on the booking.

moulesy replied on 02/11/2019 14:39

Posted on 02/11/2019 14:18 by Daisydk

Not sure why your defending a point of view that has no basis in this particular instance.  My friend had booked in and been instructed to find a pitch. My friend was on the booking.

Posted on 02/11/2019 14:39

I'm a bit confused now. Did you both arrive together, as seems to be the case in your OP and who was towing the van? Now it appears your friend arrived first, without the van so I really don't understand why or how he was checked in and told to find a pitch. I thought it was normal practice only to be checked in when arriving with a  van.

I can sympathise with what you say about being new to caravanning and your friend helping you to set up, but I don't see the reason to have the second car at your pitch? 

As for the warden walking around the site, well the wardens take some around would tick from some people on here for not being visible enough around sites!

Whatever, I hope the experience won't have put you off caravanning and that, with more understanding of the way the club does things, you'll have some enjoyable times to come. smile

AnotherDavid replied on 02/11/2019 15:33

Posted on 02/11/2019 15:33

Daisydk

I too am not entirely clear why you were treated in a way that so upset you right at the start of your caravanning adventure but what is clear is that you shouldnt have had your first visit spoiled. I have been caravanning 40 years and I wouldnt have liked it either. If the Goth weekend is important to you  dont limit yourself to club sites but look around for another where I am sure you will feel more comfortable. However but dont let this colour your view of caravanning this is untypical and it can be a great life.

Tinwheeler replied on 02/11/2019 16:12

Posted on 02/11/2019 14:18 by Daisydk

Not sure why your defending a point of view that has no basis in this particular instance.  My friend had booked in and been instructed to find a pitch. My friend was on the booking.

Posted on 02/11/2019 16:12

I'm defending nothing, Daisy, but trying to help you by explaining how the system works. It’s the club's way, not mine.

Now I’m totally confused as the story is coming out a bit at a time and nothing is clear.

EasyT replied on 02/11/2019 16:46

Posted on 02/11/2019 16:46

I too am not entirely clear why you were treated in a way that so upset you right at the start of your caravanning adventure but what is clear is that you shouldnt have had your first visit spoiled. I have been caravanning 40 years and I wouldnt have liked it either.

If you drive into any CC site and simply park your car on a pitch you will be asked to move it. You can't book in without a caravan or MH and you cannot park a car on a pitch to reserve it. I wonder if Daisy's friend stopped at reception or just drove in?  

However in this case I am totally confused as to what did happen, WHo had a booking etc