Royal Vale Caravan Park

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

What a Disappointment

The write-up on the site is glowing and it has five stars - but are the stars for ? The site not very-well laid out, with pitches being difficult to access without a motor-mover and rather short pitches too. Good to have all super pitches but not so good when our mains supply box was wobbling on it's flimsy stand. On our arrival we were told there were no service pitches available until the following day ( yes, we had paid for one ) and we were given a choice of two grass pitches ( one either side of the elsan disposal point !! ) or park on the grass near reception. This was not what we expected ! The brochure says that the dog walk is on site - not so. It is in an adjacent field and part of a Right of Way which leads through to other fields occupied by cattle - need I go on. Walking on the public road is difficult because of the narrowness of the footpath and the volume of traffic. The facilities - what can I say ! The dishwashing and laundry were in a good-sized room and kept clean by those of us who used them. There are no privacy cubicles and the showers are very narrow and short. The dressing area is little more than eighteen inches long so dressing in the dry is just not possible. Three times I complained to the young man in the office that three cubicles had no toilet paper - result, nothing happened. I even found excrement on a soap dispenser and yes it was reported but again nothing happened. There is just this one young man in reception, no wardens so nothing is done. Possibly the worst site I've ever stayed on in over thirty years of caravanning. Not worth any stars.

1Jamie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/07/2018 18:17

9 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Not all it's made out to be.

We stayed at Royal Vale because it was near to Tatton Park for the flower show. The site was very quiet while we were there, but there was an abundance of dogs. As the dog walk was a field away from the site a lot of people didn't bother to walk their dogs there, instead they let them mess on site, most picked it up but not all. There are no wardens on site, only a single person in the reception, but to be fair they were very friendly and helpful. Because of the position of the site, If you have a Motor Home you will to drive it everytime you go out as the bus stop is a mile and a half away and it only goes to Macclesfield. We weren't very impressed with the cleanliness of the toilets, and had to complain before they were cleaned, and toilet paper put in the cubicles, but that didn't happen until the next day. I wouldn't visit this site again as it is certainly not up to Caravan and Motorhome Club standards, and I cannot understand why the Club has given it an Affiliated Site rating, it just isn't good enough. Having said that you do get a super pitch, although the drain on our pitch smelt, and although we reported it, it was never sorted.

ronbar

Motorhomer from Essex

Reviewed on 29/07/2018 17:56

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Very Disappointing

We picked this site due to its proximity to Tatton Park and the write up in the site book as luxurious. Unfortunately this was not the case. As soon as we drove in we realised it didnt live up to the hype. The pitches are cramped together and people had trouble getting their unit in place. Some would be impossible without a mover. Too many rules and regulations, £3 per visitor.!! Visitors had to be off the site by 7pm!! Dog walk was not on site as advertised but on an adjacent public footpath in a field. Rubbish bins were overflowing. Toilet cleaning very average. Lots of cars not belonging to members being driven the wrong way round the site. The site is used by contractors. There is no way this is up to C&M club standards. We have since learned that they pay to go in the site book. This should not be allowed to happen without ongoing vetting. I am very disappointed to find a site like this allowed to operate under the C&M banner. The prices are too high and the standard too low. It is a pure business for the money and nothng else

mamhoon

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 25/07/2018 19:57

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Warning - Make sure they havent overbooked

We booked this site as a stopover returning from Cornwall to Scotland for our 7.5Mtr Motorhome. The location is great but unfortunately that is the only positive. When we arrived like another eight families they had oversold the pitches and the only ones that they could offer us were Grass areas, where some were clearly unacceptable. An unfortunate foreign visitor was forced to park in the car park, next to the gas storage with the only view being to the rear of the reception building. With the promise of either a free return night at a later visit or a half charge this visit, as it was late on a Saturday afternoon, we all accepted the inferior pitches. I requested that they refund me for half the charge as I never want to return, although I am still waiting a week on for this to be credited. On set up we thought we would visit the local pub which is supposed to be up to a mile away according to the Sites Directory, wrong the nearest pub is over two miles away and we were advised a taxi would be about £13 each way. We decided to stay at our Motorhome but unfortunately a gathering of about 8 ladies were having a party outside a motorhome opposite our unit with sporadic serenading to the fellow campers which spoiled any chance of a peaceful evening, fortunately the noise reduced when it was dark. The toilet / shower block is adequate but certainly not as luxurious as portrayed. This site seems to be going through a change where the secondary field which used to allow Camping is now allocated to a few Static Homes. It had also received numerous awards about five years ago, but unfortunately has not kept to the same standard. If you are looking for a basic adult only site close to the M6 south of Manchester with small pitches, if they haven't oversold and you are not bothered if parties are held outside some of the pitches, this site would probably suffice. Unfortunately that is not what I joined the Caravan and Motorhome Club for and this has to be the worst Club site I have ever stayed within our club. I suggest that this site is audited as soon as possible to ensure what is being portrayed is correct.

brianalison

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/06/2018 23:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Useful one night stop

We stayed here for one night on our journey south then again on the way home as it is near the M6. We felt that the pitches are quite close together, and a bit small, glad we were only staying the night. The toilet and shower block seems fairly new, but I was disappointed with the cleanliness and that at least two of the toilets had no loo paper. The water in the showers wasn’t very hot, and cubicles have little space, and almost impossible to keep things dry. We were also told on arrival that they had a shortage of passes for the entry/exit barrier. We said we were leaving at around 8.30 on the Sunday morning, and the receptionist said that he would leave a card in a safe place for us to use as no one would be at reception until 10am. This didn’t happen, and we had to borrow a pass from another camper on site so that we could leave. Disappointing service. Noise from airplanes taking off went on until late at night and started again before 5am. We will not use again if we can find a better site near the M6 that splits our journey.

Srunciman

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/06/2018 20:55

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Not worth the money

We booked for a last minute break with our 2 small dogs, it states that there is a dog walk on site! This is not the case, it is actually a water logged field next to the site! When we asked we were told that was where we could take the dogs,or if we picked up after them (which of course we would) then as long as they were kept off the grass it would be ok to be on site, the road we could use on site is shingle so not ideal! As for peace and quiet, for the 3 days we were there the petrol manual lawnmower was constantly on the go which meant a constant drone noise! Definitely not worth a 5 star rating and we would not return! Don't forget to take your barrier card back to the office when leaving and get your £5 deposit back, they will however quickly lift the barriers for you if you are leaving with your caravan attached! I'm sure they didn't forget that we had a card and could open ourselves and then get our deposit back!!!!

Scott Dyer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/04/2018 18:00

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

BEWARE THEIR CANCELLATION TERMS

We booked in January 2017 for July 2017 and during the booking process there was no mention of their terms and conditions, but we were asked to pay a substantial deposit or pay in full. Due to my husband's health we were forced to cancel in March. On phoning I was told that their policy was not to offer refunds and that this was stated on their website. It wasn't on their T&Cs page, but I finally found it on an unlikely page. I feel very aggrieved that they would give us a refund when we gave them 4 months notice of our cancellation, given that they will most certainly fill our slot as it coincides with Tatton Park Flower Show.

DaveJan

Reviewed on 22/03/2018 08:47

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Dissappointing

Booked in here for New year. This claims to be a 5 star Adult only site. Not in my opinion. The pitches are extremely small and getting the van onto the concrete hard-standing without a motor-mover would be fun. The main London road from the M6 to Knutsford runs right past the site so lots of traffic noise. The dog walking facilities are non-existent. There are no dog bins and the only walk is a public footpath that runs past the site which was heavily waterlogged and extremely muddy so not suitable. We found it difficult to locate anywhere around the area that allowed dogs on the parks etc. On arrival the site office was only manned by one person and they weren't exactly helpful. Parking is on the grass next to your pitch normally but because the ground was so waterlogged we were told to park on an unused pitch. Mains Electricity is a problem on site. The pitch we chose had a faulty supply. The man in the office said it happened a lot. He supplied an extension power lead but had to unplug a seasonal pitched caravan to get power to us. The toilet facility is clean but has mould growing in the showers. The toilet waste has a sign up saying only green biodegradable Elsan is to be used. No mention of this when booking. Some of the pitches are too short. My van is 7.4 mtrs long but stuck out over the road by 6" when fully reversed. My advise is look elswhere.

7 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good facilities but!

Stayed here for one night on our way South and although the site was as expected thought that the price was a bit over the top. Always thought that being a club member would entitle you to a discount as you would get get from the club sites but obviously not from affiated sites? The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful and the showers and toilets were very good but again for the price, so they should be. Doubt if we would stay here again and would consider a CL perhaps in future.

dougiec

Caravanner from Fife

Reviewed on 02/09/2017 18:13

25 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site, very few restrictions, Fully serviced pitches

Decided to stay at Royal Vale for a week. Was a little apprehensive due to earlier reviews of noise and construction work. The touring section of the site is now maturing with nice hedges and shrubs. There is a level concrete plinth for the caravan to go onto. It is wide enough but unless you have a mover it will take a bit of shuffling back and forward. What i liked was being able to put my car at the side of the awning and not at the side of the caravan as the club makes us do!! In fact the warden asked if I needed help whilst pitching and said I could put my car wherever I wanted! What a change! This is a medium sized site with excellent facilities and plenty to see. Being just south of the Manchester/Stockport conurbation, the roads were very busy if you ventured north. We enjoyed a visit to the Anderton Boat Lift, Quarry Bank Mill, Dunham Massey Hall and Lyme Park - although we had trouble getting to Lyme Park via Alderley Edge due to road works., so we returned via Macclesfield which was much better.

LJF1

Reviewed on 11/07/2017 11:43

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer