Rutland Caravan and Camping Site

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A tale of two sites

We're here at the moment. I think frustrated describes us well. We booked in december for 2 weeks in july, and had to take a pitch on the camping field because 'we're chocker this weekend'. This was on thursday. There were many, many pitches vacant where we would have liked to pitch, but were told that the pitches were allocated already. Our outfit is a 23ft. Motorhome with car. We have watched outfits, both larger and smaller go into the 'proper' site. The site entrance road is a car-damging mess, and the entrance looks like a haulage yard. The two toilet blocks are very different; one very good, one grubby. The staff reaction to our unhappiness is one of disinterest. We don't write reviews unless unhappy or impressed.

propane

Reviewed on 12/07/2021 13:48

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Not Up To Club Standards

Mixed feelings really. First impressions do count a lot and unfortunately our first impressions were not that great. In our opinion: On the plus side 1. Location v good 2. Ablutions v good and clean but no mop/squeegee in gents showers. 3. Swimming pool (extra cost) and cafe on site 4. Option for a grass serviced pitch 5. Good sized pitches 6. The staff we met were friendly and polite Cons 1. Poor entrance with potholes (unavoidable too many of them) 2. Noise and smoke from neighbours. I think there was even a generator(?) noise over night 3. Grey waste drain very small inlet 4. Pitches, grass and hard standings, uneven and full of weeds 5. Grass pitches and general areas, and hedges, not kept trimmed 6. Area around the ablution block not swept or kept tidy - appeared to be lots of debris off the roof (moss perhaps but looked more unpleasant)

daveinsuffolk

Reviewed on 03/07/2021 14:45

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Rude Staff and Unkempt Site

We’ve been caravanning for many years and have never met such unfriendly and rude staff. The site entrance was uninviting with large potholes everywhere; a few flowers or shrubs would have helped lift its appearance. The hardstanding pitches were unkempt & covered with weeds as was the paved area around the toilet block. The factory by the entrance billowed out black smoke for much of the day and although the smoke did not affect us, it was unpleasant. Unfortunately, there was a gathering of travellers staying 8 miles away at Oakham during our visit. The police advised that pubs should close their door for the extent of the travellers stay & consequently, the two village pubs closed. The campsite advised that all Rutland pubs were closed, but this was incorrect as we visited a pub in Rutland just 3 miles down the road. When returning from our visit to the pub at 8:45pm we could not enter the site as the barriers were barricaded with heavy machinery. We phoned the emergency contact number and after much discussion the barricades were reluctantly removed. The employee Fred’s attitude was unapologetic as apparently everyone on site knew of the deadline of 9pm (we returned at 8.45pm!). At no point did any staff advise us of the deadline. It is unacceptable to expect holidaymakers to have to return to site before a reasonable time in the evening. We appreciate that an increased level of security is desirable, but this should not be to the detriment of the guests. We were told by Fred to leave our car outside of the site until morning. Given the site’s security concern, then surely any cars left outside the site would be equally at risk. We certainly won’t be visiting here again. Having reads the latest reviews on the Caravan Club site, clearly, we are not alone. in our assessment.

Derek Marney

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/06/2021 15:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Not sure about this site

I read the previous reviews for this site & normally like to make my own mind up, wish I hadn't. The site is definitely very unkempt, weeds and overgrown shrubbery everywhere. The facilities were OK, clean and efficient, but the noise from the neighbours starting at 8.00am is a bit excessive, as is the smoke from their heavyweight wood burner, which was absolutely awful. I know you cant choose your neighbours, but this is not good. Another gripe is the waste pipe, it doesn't work well, mainly because they are expecting you to run water uphill!! On the plus side the dog walk is excellent and the staff were lovely and welcoming. Sorry, but we wont be back, I am just glad we only had 3 nights there.

Long dogs

Reviewed on 22/06/2021 21:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Neglected

We have been visiting this site for the past 12 years. Sadly, in August 2020 we noticed the site was very unkempt compared to its usual standards. We thought it may be due to a lack of staff; maybe furloughed, but it seems not as it’s the same now. Hard standing pitches full of weeds and large thistles, nettles almost a metre high at the rear of the pitch, hedges remain in-trimmed and all grass areas need cutting too. It’s a shame as it was always so well kept previously. Bathroom areas are very clean. Cafe served fish & chips at £11.50, not worth the price for frozen chips and a very small fish, most probably also boxed & frozen.

Esteban64

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/05/2021 16:00

9 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site

I spent the weekend at the site and loved it. We hired the swimming pool and this was lovely and warm and clean. The toilets and showers are warm and clean, the site is well presented. My son and his partner also spent a weekend there and loved every minute of the break.

ScreenNameCF304CE877

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/10/2020 17:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing

This is our second and definitely last visit. We were allocated a pitch right next to the bins etc. which was noisy because of people dropping bottles into the recycling container. The pitches were small and so when the people next to us had their mates round in the evening For two nights it was very noisy. The 11pm cut off time for quiet is too late and wasn’t adhered to. We asked to move pitches but were told no as they were full even though there were a few vacant pitches. There were no efforts to encourage wearing masks during the COVID pandemic, you’d have thought nothing was happening. A few signs up but sanitiser bottles were empty and no measures in place to stop too many people using facilities. Don’t attempt to leave before 7:30am, I left my car in the visitor’s car park so that I could leave early for work only to find there was a barrier across the main farm road. On enquiry we were told that it does say in the brochure but it is NOT clear enough!

Robin Neighbour

Reviewed on 16/09/2020 06:30

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A lovely site

I am also glad I didn't take notice of previous reviews. Nearly cancelled at last minute. Stayed for 3 nights good sized pitches fully serviced which we weren't expecting but that seems the norm. Placed near to excellent dog walk, pitch 19 adults only side. Facilities seemed new and very clean and warm. Yes the clock chimes throughout the night but it didn't keep us awake. 5 mins into village with 2 pubs. Overall a good site for walking and relaxing with plenty to see and do. Will definitely visit again.

Jackalan

Reviewed on 06/10/2019 20:59

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Glad I don’t always read reviews!

What a great site, and am glad that I don’t always read previous reviews. It was easy to find off the A1, and although we only had one night, and we would certainly call again. We were allocated a pitch, which is what happens at “the other club”. Nice big pitches with its own water supply. The facilities were very clean, and lovely big showers, with proper hot water controls, none of the push button stuff, and there was even a shower for the dogs, which ours used. There was a big dog walk, and the village of Greetham, with a shop and pubs, was less than 2 minutes away. The church bells chimed, although we didn’t hear them after midnight, probably asleep. Finally the staff, lovely and cheery. We couldn’t have asked for anymore.

mrscthe3rd

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/10/2019 18:28

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

disappointed

Booked on this site just for 4 nights for a last trip before putting van in storage for winter, and was considering leaving after the first. Was allocated a pitch opposite the toilet block, I am in a trailer tent with just cotton curtains so the lights shining into the van made it like daytime (lights are all around the side of building not just on corner posts like most sites) the church clock chimed every hour all through the night and when the dogs woke me at 5 couldn't go for a walk outside as the 'barriers' are not opened till 7.30 swimming pool is £4 for half an hour! wifi was £8 for 3 days, and only 10amp hook up and the whole site tripping. Will stick to club sites in future and wont be back here

sternmags

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2019 15:08

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer