Scarborough West Ayton Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Don't hesitate

Our favourite site, it's closing for refurb (I can't see how it will get better ) and we are impatient to book for next season. We are lucky to live within 90 mins drive of this site, but if we lived hours away we would still visit. The team are brilliant and the site is awesome 🙂

ScreenNameB56B172B39

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/09/2021 17:33

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfection

We were fortunate enough to stay on this site before it closes for refurbishment at the end of September. I personally thought it was perfect as it is. The site layout is varied and interested, lots of different sections. Team are very helpful and friendly and the site is well maintained and spotless. The way it was laid out didn't indicate just how large this site is. Our children are grown up but they would have loved the kids area. The dog was very impressed with the dog walk. Brilliant location for visiting Pickering and Whitby and you could easily visit York. I would like to give special mention to one of team, Graham who came to our rescue when we were hitching up. What a lovely chap went above and beyond. Thanks so much Graham. We are sad that we will not be able to see you until next June when you re-open we will be regulars.

ScreenName2B38642424

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/09/2021 18:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

West Ayton nr Scarborough a pleasant surprise

We were pleasantly surprised by this, rather large, site, because it was nice and green and peaceful. Probably thanks to the (8 shaped) lay-out it didn't feel as large as the site actually is, which is really pleasant. Lots of grass and trees in sight: lovely! For us Dutch the site was also very convenient to get to the (night)boat in Hull in time. We were even allowed to stay on site until 14.00 pm, which was great. All in all a very good site, eventhough the toilet-/showerfacilities do need (and probably will get) a face lift! Did miss the stools too, but they are probably removed because of Covid? Thanks for our short stay! René and Lideke Van Gool, Leiderdorp, Holland

Rene1 Lideke2

Reviewed on 04/09/2021 11:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Site for a family holiday

We spent a week here in the summer holidays, this is a lovely site. Welcoming staff as we expect who couldn't do enough for us and a tidy and well maintained site. The facilities, while a little dated were always spotlessly clean and the showers were both powerful and HOT!! The kids loved the play park and the table tennis went down a treat with them - and us. The pub nearby - Olde Forge Valley Inn was absolutely great for food - the pizzas are HUGE - don't have a starter if you want to even make a dent in them, although they will box up any leftovers for you. We explored for the week, within an hours drive of the site we visited Scarborough, Whitby, Filey, Robin Hoods Bay, Bridlington and York. Filey was an absolute favourite as always - try rock pooling at the Brigg and Bridlington was the best for crabbing by far. We ate our body weight in fish and chips and ice cream and despite the not so great British weather we had a fab week - this site is perfectly placed and has a lovely feel to it. I'm sure we'll be back.

ScreenNameF9EB215BD1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/09/2021 19:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

9th summer holiday and we're still not bored with it

Having spent the last nine summer holidays on this site I have always felt that we would one day get sick of the site but it still hasn't happened yet. The site was extremely friendly this year with a good mixture of seasoned caravaners as well as welcoming some new caravaners who have only recently taken up the hobby. I rarely used my car during the week as everything we wanted was close by. West Ayton has a great shop which is well stocked, a petrol station, a fantastic chip shop and an equally fantastic pub called the Forge Inn which serves good food and cracking hand-pulled beer. The walks up High Yedmandale and the Forge we brilliant as I caught my first site of two Peregrine Falcons, a female Sparrowhawk and a Tawny Owl which likes to hunt around the caravan park at nights. The site was a sun trap and when it did come out we knew about it and the first few days were glorious leaving me and the family with nice tans. Trips to the North York Moors Railway at Pickering and Grosmont were great and I even enjoyed a near heart attack as I plunged into Wykeham Lakes when my son persuaded me to go to the Wykeham Aqua Park across the road from the site. My only complaint is that my son beat me every day at table tennis and I only hope all the proposed modernisation in the winter will be ready in time for me to seek revenge (although I am prepared to wait). Special thanks to the wardens who all worked hard and were fantastic yet again.

GeordieK

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 14:22

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

What a fantastic find

We booked this site for our first week of our 2 week holiday and wasn’t disappointed. Would especially like to say a big thankyou to Debbie and her husband who were very approachable and helpful during our stay, which was more than could be said about one of the other wardens who I believe wasn’t a regular warden she was quite rude and offhandish with me when I went to reception with a question, I know we all have off days but her attitude was not acceptable. As a family with 3 children the play areas were very well received and our children spent many hours on the new climbing tower. They made lots of friends and many happy memories. Although the campsite was full I must say it didn’t feel that way as you were still able to get some peace and quiet. My only criticism of the site would be the toilet/shower facilities they are very old and need updating, something I believe is being addressed the later part of this year, Needless to say this definitely wouldn’t stop visiting the site again when we’re back up north.

DollyDimple

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2021 13:09

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Full site but enjoyable stay

Just returned from 10 days at this site - our first time in this part of the country. Site very full but were lucky to get a nice level pitch (many are sloping, we noticed). Despite being very full we weren't bothered too much by noise. Used our own facilities so can't comment on shower blocks. Spa down the road very convenient for stocking up. Above all, though, it was an ideal location for exploring west (Pickering, North Yorks Railway, Rievaulx Abbey, Scampston gardens), north (Whitby, Ravenscar) and south (Filey, Bempton Cliffs RSPB).

Venus13

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 14/08/2021 19:46

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely, peaceful site

We stayed here at the beginning of August having been here many times before - I always combine our break here with getting my sewing machine serviced at Scarborough sewing centre - its a lovely excuse! Despite it being fuller than we have ever seen it, and there being a lot of families, the peace and tranquility was not compromised. Our pitch was lovely and level, we remembered to choose one so we had the sun for most of the day and certainly made the most of it. The wardens work so hard to keep everything looking beautiful and they should be commended for keeping a ready smile, a cheerful comment - even when people were in the wrong [emptying/filling the motorhome while facing the wrong way!] and taking time out to chat and help in their very busy schedule. They deserve a medal. The wash rooms were always clean - apart from when other campers hadn't used the toilet brush - and have been pleased that the club has got rid of the shower curtains - hope they never return. Didn't do our usual trip to Whitby but hopefully once the pandemic has calmed we will get back to our usual habits. Can't recommend this site enough; a lovely spot with lovely wardens. Well done and a big thank you to them.

Tammysmum

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/08/2021 17:24

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

excellent site

My goto site in all the UK. Perfectly placed to get the best of the Yorkshire coast. But also travel inland for the perfect little villages and towns. Great pitches , both grass and hard standing. Facilities could do with updates , but nothing wrong with them functionally. Two great play areas for the kids. Dog lovers well catered for with a field and great walks. Make sure to visit and walk along the stream on Forge Valley and see the old castle.

B Kirsopp

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2021 21:41

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Return visit

This site is lovely. The wardens are very helpful, one of the wardens gave us a lesson in changing the cylinder couldn't have been more helpful if he tried. There was another warden again very nice and helpful yes as another reviewer has already said she was a bit stressed when we arrived but I'm sure it was because she wanted the payments to be done correctly nothing wrong with that in my opinion. We did some lovely walks straight from the site and found some deer on our walk. The shop on site is well stocked (cash only) so if you don't feel like going into the local garage Spar then you can lots of nice things from the site shop instead. Support the wardens they do a great job. There is YET AGAIN ONE THING THE CLUB NEEDS TO SORT OUT SOONER RATHER THAN LATER THE SPEED LIMIT ON SITE IT SAYS 5MPH FOR A REASON PLEASE STICK TO IT. THE CLUB HAVE SENT EMAILS AND MEMBERS SHOULD STICK TO THE RULES IF NOT DON'T BE A MEMBER. All this said we will definitely come back. Hopefully the club can find a way of getting people stick to the rules. Maybe have a number plate sign and stick the registration numbers on of people who are going more than 5MPH this way everyone will know who to avoid.

MP4

Reviewed on 08/08/2021 21:18

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer