Scarborough West Ayton Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site

Lovely well kept site. Wardens are mostly friendly. Unfortunately my husband drove at 6 miles an hour to get over a ramp and was told to slow down even though the car in front was driving far faster as was the hygiene management van that shot past our van later that day. Unfortunately the lovely child's play area was not used most of the time as children were constantly riding their scooters and bikes past our van till late at night even though the site clearly stated no riding of scooters was aloud. We understand children do love to play but maybe the rules on bikes should be enforced as a lady in a caravan near us was nearly knocked over as she did not here the bike coming and the tranquility of the site was spoiled. 
Caravanner from Cumberland

Reviewed on

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

A lovely site and the wardens are excellent.  Stayed over Easter and were fortunate to have lovely weather. Good play area for kids and brilliant field for dog walk.  Needed to be near service point and the wardens were really helpful to put us on a pitch that was only yards away from sp.  thank you for your kindness

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Easter sunshine

Booked  a Mon-Fri many weeks ago and held our breath for the weather.  It was perfect.  High pressure calm and sunshine and not a breath of wind to even gently flap an open awning door. I have been before ad that s why I returned.  My 10 year old Son enjoys the open playing field with ping-pong, pool and general lolling.  He was having such fun one day we agreed it would be selfish to leave the site so we relaxed with a book and a chat.  He returned rosy cheeked and freckly.  Amazing what fresh air can do to your complexion. He has always made friends with some lovely children on every visit.  This year it was Ben from Kent and the measure of friendship was the heartbreaking wrench on the day we had to leave for home. I am a birdwatcher so really enjoy this site's peace.  The birdsong was a delight, but the relentless chiffchaff chiff-chaffing dawn to dusk really tested my resolve. Goshawk, dipper, buzzard, peregrine are not far away and Forge Valley is an ancient habitat with oak woodland full of life.  Lapwings displaying on the arable fields adjacent to the site were a bonus. The Site is so well kept it makes returning to my own garden a little embarrassing!! The wardens were helpful at every turn and I even got a shove to help me position my van on arrival. I returned with a tan on my face, a chiffchaff in my heart and a smile to last me until my next visit.

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Easter Break

Well kept site with friendly wardens together with good weather made for an enjoyable short break. Very good walking directly from the site kept our days fully occupied.

Reviewed on

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

March 2015 first ever Club Site

As new members, we were very impressed with the whole experience! Date of stay was 26th to 29th March. Very good facilities, helpful wardens, clean and tidy throughout. Worth mentioning the excellent Valley Forge Inn just 10 minutes walk down the hill, although we were not informed about their 10% discount on meals for Club Members, for which you need a card apparently available on request from the site office. Will certainly be visiting again, to take advantage of the local walks and easy access to Scarborough on the bus.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Easter weekend

Stayed here easter weekend wardens very friendly and helpful we booked for two nights and managed to get a cancellation so we could stay another night toilets and showers  clean it was not our first visit to this site and won't be our last 
from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First Time for This Year!

We love this site having visited a few times in previous years, so our third outing of 2015 had to be back to West Ayton as it had just opened again for the new season. The wardens have been working hard to get the site ready and it was in great condition and surprisingly busy! Facilities are good with an easy walk in to the village where there is a good Spar supermarket and two pubs both dog friendly - try the Dennison Arms for some lovely food or the takeaway fish & chips shop - great quality. We've booked another 4 visits for later in the year so it must be good!!!!

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wild week

The wardens are very friendly and the caravan site is clean and well maintained. Good volume of toilet flush unlike some sites and the showers have been refurbished. Two complaints. Firstly there were caravans being allowed onto the site at 11.45 when we left on Thursday 2nd. This made it very difficult for us leaving the site as we had to negotiate parked caravans and somebody was waiting to get on our pitch as we left. It states quite clearly that members should not arrive before 12.00. If wardens allow members on the site before 12.00 it will only encourage this practice. Wardens and members should be reminded of this. Secondly children on the pitch next to us were playing ball games on the road and grassed areas. Cars and caravans are expensive items and balls do cause damage if they hit vehicles, Again wardens should be reminded to patrol this with more vigour.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic weekend

We visited this site over the weekend and was greeted in the best possible way the wardens were perfect in every way ,welcoming ,pleasant and would go out of there way to help were ever they couldwe have been on this site several times now and will be carry on going as we have never had a bad warden yet the play areas are good for young children as well as the older child ,the dog walk is ok to

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A site with dog showers!

The foot high fences all over the place spoil the site otherwise I'd give it a 5 ticks. The dog showers by the bins is a great idea and I wonder if other sites will be installing them also.

Reviewed on

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer