Southland Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Jewel of a site from which to explore the Isle of Wight.

This is a superbly maintained site with friendly and helpful staff. The amenity block is immaculate - clean as a whistle! The site is characterised by dense and high hedges which perform the function of windbreaks. These hedges often define the boundaries of a pitch or a number of pitches. Our stay saw consistently high winds which shook the van, and we would therefore suggest the selection of a well shielded pitch if strong winds are expected. Although there are bus routes nearby, you may find that the frequency of buses prompts you to use your car for most visits. The site and ferry package offered by the club is a good deal. One tip - if using the Red Funnel line don't try to check in earlier than 45 minutes before the time of your booked return crossing. We were a little early and were asked to do a tight U turn with the outfit and return later. Fortunately there is a large lay-by about 2 miles south of East Cowes on A3021 (west side) - a welcome refuge in which to wait for the critical moment to leave for the ferry.

Bill Keeble

Reviewed on 08/11/2021 18:57

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A few tips for those going to Southland!

Just back from a 3 week stay at this site. Used the club to book the ferry at a bargain 60 pounds each way. Started on grass pitch but as end of season many were a bit bald due to groundsheets not being lifted! Moved a couple of times as people left. As we have a motorhome we walk and cycle. There are no footpaths outside the main gate BUT there is a pedestrian gate in the site just after the serviced pitches at the side of a building, which leads to Wackland Lane Bridleway and then on to the road nearer to the village where drives offer some refuge when walking to the pub etc. As others have stated the hill up from the Red Squirrel trail is 16% and no footpath. If you are walking you can find a gate and a path down by walking across past the church, metal gate in the wall at the end. Dirt track with steps not really for bikes. The trail to Sandown was closed in parts when we went. Ignore the first 'closed' sign and keep going until the fenced area is reached, then follow the detour signs. The earlier signage dumped us on to a main road! The weather was amazing and we rode to every corner of the island. The site is well kept and varied with plenty of dog areas. Some parts can be a bit noisy near the road or the safari tents. Having a car is a plus here as walking from site is a bit hairy as drivers seem to ignore the speed limits. If going out in your MH do read the signs carefully and not trust the sat nav as whilst cycling we met a MH coming up a narrow lane with hedges either side and a 6 foot width limit!! Keep to the main roads. Hope you enjoy your visit as much as we did.

TonyBack

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/09/2021 14:48

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site,will use again.

2nd visit to Southland this year as so impressed last time,did not disappoint this time,great staff,spotlessly clean and nicely laid out pitches,just wish it was on the mainland as could use it more. Good location for Island and much better than other sites we have used on IOW.

ScreenName6EFF8552C0

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/09/2021 16:33

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

2 week stay 21st Aug - 4th Sept...

A lovely site with a mix of grass & H/S. We were on Pitch 15 & despite the many rabbit holes by parking nose in we had the benefit of a large additional area & even pitched a 3 man tent for our daughter & son. Wardens very friendly, always interacting with people on site. The Pointer Inn serves great food from their Main Menu but we were disappointed with the Sunday Roast although it didn't stop us going back. Dale & his team were brilliant. Unfortunately, we found the IOW generally very tired & it did not meet our expectations. Most places were not insistent on wearing a mask (yes now a personal choice) but the way people were packed on the slow boat at the Needles did not look comfortable..... obviously didn't do it!! We went to Robin Hill, expected more for the kids to do & the Hot Air Balloon night show really was an anti climax which was billed as the highlight..... Sandown beach much better than Ryde or Bembridge but the town looks tired & in need of some tlc...... We were told by locals that the council just won't spend & invest. It cost us £400 for a motorhome & a car just for the ferry, which could have been much better spent on the mainland. Unlike Arnie, we won't be back!!!

Kasspa

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 23:05

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

We stayed here for 8 nights in August. The site was immaculately clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. The dog walk is fairly small but good enough for a short walk. We walked our dog’s in the woods at the back of the Pointer Inn which is fantastic. We had the fish and chips from the mobile van that came on site not part of the club. The chips were lovely but the fish was grey and horrible. It was 7.00pm close to finishing time but not acceptable. There is the Red Squirrel trail for walking and cycling at the bottom of the hill past the Pointer Inn which is a great way to see the Island. Be aware the hill coming back up is very very steep but short! Not for the faint hearted! The biggest problem we had was eating out locally. The Pointer Inn is close albeit 15 mins walk on a road with no path. Due to the fighting Cock being closed as staff had Covid, the Pointer Inn was extremely busy and hard to get a table for dinner. Worth the effort though as the food was delicious.

Jill Doyle

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 21:07

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Quite possibly our favourite club site

We’ve had many happy stays here and have just returned from a 5 night August break. The site is, as ever, immaculate. The wardens are friendly and welcoming and always busy looking after guests and the facilities. The site is well placed for visits to Shanklin and Sandown, as well as other places on the island. Nothing is that far away on the island! It was helpful that arrivals were from midday as many other sites we’ve stayed on recently set arrivals after 1pm. Pitches are well spaced with lots of manoeuvring space. I’m sure we will be back again!

HeidiVan

Reviewed on 20/08/2021 17:08

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A lovely site

Spent 3 nights here earlier this year when covid measures were still in place. Very helpful and friendly site staff, wonderful site layout with spacious grass pitches nicely divided by high hedges. Excellent site facilities very well maintained. There is a basic dog-walk around the site but if you want to venture any further afield on foot you have no choice but to walk along the road, which some may not find ideal. Some nice pubs and cafes nearby. I do think that the new Safari tents will change the character of this lovely site, as other people's reviews have suggested.

ZeroG

Reviewed on 16/08/2021 09:14

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

The site has changed

We have stayed here lots of times over the years and always enjoyed the location of this site. The hardstandings are good, clean and very tidy areas. The grass pitches can sometimes be a little close, especially towards the back of the site. Whilst we were here, it was still using the 'dip your hand in Milton solution' for using the toilet block, which didn't always work, as the toilet block could till be empty yet the bands did not reflect this. Using caravans and staying on the Caravan club sites has always been the preference for us as opposed to commercial sites. The Caravan Club is changing.......approx 6 pitches have been removed and replaced with some Experience Freedom safari tents and associated parking, whilst some members may appreciate that family/friends can stay at the site whilst they are there, this is not the reason I joined the caravan club, if I wanted to stay with safari tents (and probably statics in the future), then I would stay at a commercial site. The caravan club has always been a 'club' for those with motorhomes. tents and caravans having a shared interest in the outdoors and being mobile with the outfit they chose. It may be that more pitches are replaced with the type of accommodation, meaning less pitches for others.

idpnc cc

Reviewed on 08/08/2021 22:37

20 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Immaculate site with wonderful wardens

We stayed at Southlands as a family with two teenagers during July. The site is well laid out with a range of grass and hard standing pitches. We were on a pretty corner pitch under the trees , lovely quite spot with a little road noise at night. The facilities were spotless and as the band system was lifted while we were there there was never any waiting in line. The wardens were fantastic, highly knowledgeable about local attractions and so helpful when I need some help with ear ache! We ate at The Pointer inn in Newchurch ,about a 10min walk, the food was excellent and definitely worth booking a table. We used the local buses to get around which was great value and very easy to use, the bus stop is about 10 mins walk down a busy road from the site. Would highly recommend and we will be back.

ScreenNameA83DCB7DF9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/08/2021 12:03

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Back to the IOW

During mid July we spent a week at the Southland site. We have been a couple of times before so knew what to expect. It is quite a peaceful site except perhaps from a little light aircraft noise from the nearby airfield. The site has predominantly grass pitches but we were lucky enough to get one of the hardstandings. Should there be more hardstandings? We used our own facilities so can't really comment on the toilet block. I was pleased to see that the motorhome service point has an open grill waste water disposal point. The only issue is one of positioning as anyone coming from the hardstanding section has to turn round in order to get the waste point over the drain! We took advantage of the Club deal with Enterprise to hire a car for a few days. All well organised, the hire company pick you up from the site and drop you back on the day of return. Our experience was that whilst it was handy to have our own transport we did find the popular resorts on the Island very busy and in some cases impossible to find a parking place. Inland was easier and we had interesting visits to Carisbrooke Castle and the Miniature Village at Godshill. The car was also useful for shopping. The bus stop is about a half mile away and in some ways using the bus might be easier to get to many of the popular places on the Island!

62 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer