Stonehaven Queen Elizabeth Park Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

What a surprise!

This was our first visit to Stonehaven. It appeared to me that the site was a stepping off point for Aberdeen. The site staff were new so could offer no advice. What a surprise to find a delightful town. There is no promenade instead a boardwalk takes you from the site along the beach, to the harbour. Enjoy fresh lobster, straight off the boat! The town has a good selection of shops, a town hall in the main square and some beautiful buildings just back from the sea front. Aberdeen is a bus ride away as the park and rides have a height restrictions for Motorhomes. A nice city but disappointingly quiet. The Covid restrictions have had quite an effect on what should be a vibrant city. Plenty of lovely coastal walks straight off the site. Pretty good cycling as long as you are ok with some steep hills! A well located site and a surprising nice area to explore. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

jkwallis

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/08/2020 21:44

90 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site, another great relaxing weekend

Said it all before,a lovely well run and kept CMHC site. New wardens this year, I didnt catch their names, but very pleasant and friendly. In the current climate we can only congractulate them on how good the site was looking and cleanliness can not be faulted. As a previous reviewer pointed out there are seagulls! We certainly on any of our visits have never been particularly aware of them causing problems on site, but we were on the east coast of Scotland and I suppose they can be an issue, having said that on the west cost of Scotland we get midgies. I dont think we can blame wardens on the west cost of Scotland for that really. Well done wardens on keeping a lovely very popular and busy site to the standard that you do. Graeme & Anne.

Graeme Hobbs

from Angus/Forfarshire

Reviewed on 03/08/2020 17:54

10 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Seagulls and Long Grass

If you fancy having uninvited visitors in to your awning, helping themselves to your BBQ whilst cooking, covering your car, caravan and wife in poo (not just a little splat)then this is the place for you as you won’t be disappointed! I don’t normally write reviews but given the towns issues with the Seagulls I thought I would make you aware. Just type in Seagulls along with Stonehaven and you will be presented with the facts, they are a total pest and need sorting as driving visitors away. Positive site facts: Toilet facilities were very clean Easy Access for large vans/vehicles Negative site facts: Bins we’re overflowing and didn’t get emptied until late afternoon. Long grass, it was long throughout the entire site and didn’t get mown the time we were here!

PDK

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/08/2020 09:08

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site and lovely wardens

We booked for 30th December as a first night away in our new outfit. Nowhere had hogmanay available so we chose Stonehaven as somewhere we could go on from. We arrived just after 4pm and had a lovely welcome from Anne. She suggested a good route round the site to avoid any problems with manoeuvring which was very helpful. We found a nice pitch and set up fine. The site is just a stone’s throw from the beach and a very popular fish and chip shop. We asked abou the possibility of a second night and were told to pop back in at around 9am the following day. Sure enough there had been a cancellation and we were able to stay for the fireballs to see in the new year. It was an easy walk into the town along the sea front and, as it was such a crisp sunny day, we carried on up to Dunnottar castle (said to be the setting for Disney’s “Brave”) along the coastal footpath. Heading back in the afternoon we were invited for mulled wine and shortbread in the office with other members. Anne and Brent were very friendly and we met other folks who had made this a regular stop/occasion. We would highly recommend the site and will definitely be back.

Miffy driver

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/01/2020 22:18

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site, another great relaxing weekend

Said it all before, just can not be faulted as a site. Superbly clean and tidy. I give location as a 4 star only because my own preference is West Coast, Scotland, but that`s just me. Site filled up quite a bit even though the weather was not great (blooming awfull), but still never feels cramped or busy. Pitches have loads of space and the drying room was made full use of. Winter wardens were still out and about as usual doing their bit`s n pieces and always have time to stop and have a bit `yak` about something. Being right on the East Coast you do always get a bit of a breeze blowing off the North Sea, but some stunning sea views and photos enjoyed. Great for us for just a couple of nights away as it is only 40miles from home so wont be long before we are back again. Thanks again QE Stoney.

Graeme Hobbs

from Angus/Forfarshire

Reviewed on 19/12/2019 10:09

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Immaculate as usual

Just returned home after a 2 night stay at Queen Elizabeth Club Site, Stonehaven. We can only repeat what we have said before, a lovely well kept site. Val and Pete continuously working on site to keep it looking great and well maintained. Plenty of space on all pitches and on hardstanding, which at this time of year means not tramping muck and grass through the Motorhome which is a bonus. Early evening Mrs H was at the ladies shower block and noticed the internal handle on outside door had worked loose. I went over and reported it to Pete who before I had returned to Motorhome and put the kettle on was already at the door re-fitting the handle. I should add that it was horrendous weather at the time. Always loads of hot water for showering and in dish washing room. We got a couple of good soakings out walking so the drying room was made full use of. It`s just always a 10/10 for the site with regard to its upkeep, cleanliness, facilities and the warm friendly welcome that is generated from V&P. Enjoy your winter break guys, after 9 months of hard work I think you deserve it. Graeme & Anne

Graeme Hobbs

from Angus/Forfarshire

Reviewed on 07/11/2019 16:04

10 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Last Stop

Our Highland coastal tour ended in Stonehaven, after 10 days. We, without knowing it, saved the best site for last. We picked Stonehaven for the fish and chip shop there, they do fabulous fish! After a very friendly greeting, we found the facilities to be fantastic both in layout and cleanliness. A short stroll along the promenade, we saw dolphins leaping out of the water in the bay, takes you into town. Next time, we go to Stonehaven, it will be for the fish and chips plus the SQEP!

Scottish Crafter

Campervanner

Reviewed on 07/11/2019 10:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Thank you

Thank you to Val and Pete who were so very kind to me recently when my husband took ill on holiday. We will be back up to see you next year when we can enjoy your campsite properly.

Barnards on tour

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/11/2019 17:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site

Arrived one night to very friendly wardens who explained everything about the site. What these wardens have achieved on site regarding the excellent standard of ground maintenance and first class cleaning standard of toilet block. It’s rare to come across this on a club site. Thanks to the wardens. Then we stepped outside the gate and what a mess. Everything was littered everywhere. All bins flowing full of takeaway cartons. Seagulls hauling all the rubbish out of bins. Notices telling you to clean up after dogs. Bag and bin it. Yeh we bagged it but no room in bins. Took it till we found a bin. The place was disgusting and filthy. Site great will only use as stopover.

scottie dog

Reviewed on 26/09/2019 10:42

16 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect and wonderful in every way

  • I marvel at the reviewer below who thought this site “soulless” and who “won’t be back”, but human nature is unpredictable and disparate points of view must be tolerated even if he is in a minority – quite possibly a minority of one!
  • Everyone I spoke to at this wonderful site thought it lovely in every way and I certainly could not dissent from that. It is well kept, neat, open, bright, cheerful, in a fantastic location and all in all is a very happy place to be.
  • It is true that there are a lot of pitches in a relatively small space. The pitches are spacious and well-spaced and there’s no sense of feeling hemmed in, but there’s no spare space, very little unused green space, and perhaps this accounts for the car park comment from the aforementioned negative reviewer.
  • This notwithstanding, the fact that it is one of the very few sites free of the usual boundary of high trees means that it does not have the enclosed feel common to so many sites. I like the fact that there are houses close too, mostly pretty little Scottish cottages and villas, overlooking two sides of the site with one larger home in an almost Art-deco design in the corner. As my friends who live close by said, it makes you feel part of the community and so much the better for that. It is a community with warmth and great friendliness.
  • I even had a sea view from my pitch (63) and, in the other direction, I had a great aspect overlooking the whole site from a slightly raised position. I really felt I had struck lucky with my pitch choice.
  • Planting more trees here would be the absolute worst of misadventures in my view.
  • The nearby, award-winning Bay fish and chips are second to none, and the confectioners and ice creamery next door serves the best vanilla ice cream I have had in years. Expect very long queues at both establishments.
  • There are lots of interesting walks, the town is a delightful little place, the harbour most attractive and the closeness to the sea makes this almost perfect.
  • For motorhomers wanting public transport, the fast X7 bus gets you to Aberdeen quickly in 35 minutes or there is the train too (for Dundee perhaps), although note that the station is an up-hill mile and a half walk.
  • This was without doubt my favourite site stayed at in a very long time and I am struggling to remember anywhere better.

Graydjames

Motorhomer from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 16/09/2019 18:29

39 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer