Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Concern

We have recently returned from a wonderful few days at this lovely site. The Wardens were excellent, friendly and extremely helpful. We did try to get a Service Pitch but were told none were available, which is fair enough as they are becoming very popular. We had a great pitch which was very handy for the toilet block and the service point. However, I did become somewhat frustrated to find five Service Pitches being used by Motorhomes, which were only connected to the Electric Hook Up. I hear what you say that if they wish to spend the extra money so be it. But is this fair? When members like us would like to be able to use the full facilities of a Service Pitch, but prevented from doing so. This is not the first time I have seen this happening.

Reviewed on

8 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Justus2 replied on 07/05/2019 06:00

Posted on 07/05/2019 06:00

A motor-home member may well book a service pitch to guarantee a hard-standing, and so might a caravan member. That practice could continue for as long as this club doesn't allow members to choose a HS at the time of booking. A motor-home may not need to have a hose connected all the time to a tap, and so might a caravan, but it can be handy to have a tap nearby so as to fill with water as required. You ask if that is fair ? Any member can book any pitch type, serviced or not, awning or not, at the time of booking, any other practice would be discriminatory.

EasyT replied on 07/05/2019 06:56

Posted on 07/05/2019 06:56

When members like us would like to be able to use the full facilities of a Service Pitch

If members like you want a service pitch then they need to book sooner. laughing

Tinwheeler replied on 07/05/2019 08:58

Posted on 07/05/2019 08:58

J2 has said it all. People book and use services pitches for various reasons. It’s their business how they use them and not really for the rest of us to question. 

Dawn F replied on 07/05/2019 14:26

Posted on 07/05/2019 14:26

Don't really see your point, every member has the same choice.  We stayed at Tewkesbury at Easter on a service point, used the tap to fill up when we arrived.  For us the benefit is being able to get straight on the pitch when we arrive, saves time going to the MH point to fill up.  We also prefer hard standing so as previously stated a service pitch is our only guarantee of getting one

If you want something it is always worth trying to pre book early enough to get your 1st choice.

Our biggest problem at Tewkesbury was people walking across our pitch to save 20 steps going around

Fis replied on 14/05/2019 12:01

Posted on 14/05/2019 12:01

As stated above I don't see why motorhomes should not use fully serviced pitches.

You pay your money and make your choice.

Just book earlier if you're so particular.🤓

Hollydays replied on 18/05/2019 15:22

Posted on 07/05/2019 06:00 by Justus2

A motor-home member may well book a service pitch to guarantee a hard-standing, and so might a caravan member. That practice could continue for as long as this club doesn't allow members to choose a HS at the time of booking. A motor-home may not need to have a hose connected all the time to a tap, and so might a caravan, but it can be handy to have a tap nearby so as to fill with water as required. You ask if that is fair ? Any member can book any pitch type, serviced or not, awning or not, at the time of booking, any other practice would be discriminatory.

Posted on 18/05/2019 15:22

Well said