Wharfedale Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A great site in a beautiful location

We stayed here as part of a Dales tour for walking. Finding the site easy easy and it's well signposted. Looking at the details beforehand you don't quite get the fact it's next door to a large leisure site with a lot of static holiday homes but you don't hear of feel them plus you get to walk up to the pub on that site and enjoy the good food (Gamekeeper's Inn). The welcome was great - straight out to see us, a quick book in and then off the find a pitch. Once parked up its back up to the office to pay and get the local information. The site is well laid-out, plenty of space with the services roughly in the middle. A handy footpath entrance at the bottom of the site takes you quickly onto a lane and then into Threshfield - only 10 minutes walk from the site for a good local shop and a pub (Old Hall Inn). Continuing from there it's only a 20 minute walk down into the Wharfe dale and then up into Grassington - such a beautiful little town. We left the van parked up and spent most of our time walking out across several days, following the Wharf down to Hebden Bridge and up onto Thorpe Fell and Grassington Moor. We did have a main meal out a few times at the some great places in Grassington - The Devonshire for a cracking Sunday lunch and the Black Horse in the hotel bar. Sitting at the van in the late afternoons with a cup of tea and a spot of wine was super as the site was so quiet but full of wildlife, especially the rabbits that come our each evening to nibble on the grass verges. While the site full and very busy it did not feel crowded at all. The usual good welcome and chat with member's was a treat too. There is so much to see and do on the doorstep of the site. We'll be back.

CheltenhamCamper

Campervanner

Reviewed on 13/06/2022 18:44

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Our "Happy Place"

We have visited the Wharfdale Club campsite on a good few occasions. It is well located for travel to various parts of North Yorkshire and is a beautifully kept site. The facilities are immaculate and well kept. The Wharfdale staff are friendly and helpful and make you feel welcome. The area around the site is beautiful and Grassington is only a short (ish) walk away from the site. Kettlewell is also well worth a visit and this (three pub) beautiful little Yorkshire village is only a short drive away from the site. Burnsall is another village well worth a visit situated right next to the river with a lovely pub serving meals throughout the day. We would certainly recommend this site, TV and phone reception is good too, if that is important to you.

RoyVal

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/06/2022 10:04

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Spring Visit April 2022

Had a lovely 8 night stay here. Facilities spotless and not at all busy. Wardens very friendly. Handy for a 20 minute walk into Grassington. We particularly enjoyed a gentle stroll to Burnsall to visit the Red Lion for a beer and fish and chips. If you follow the river it is about 5 miles each way. The Spar and petrol station 10 minutes walk away is very well stocked at reasonable prices. My only gripe is way do members have to travel around the site so fast. Surely it’s not too much to adhere to the 5mph rule. Sometimes it seemed like Wacky Races with cars going so fast and caravans bouncing over the speed bumps behind them.

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic site

Great site and brilliant wardens plenty to do in the locality.The site is a credit to the wardens. However people do go too fast round the site in cars and bikes,whilst there children were going round like it was a velodrome,an accident waiting to happen in my own opinion

kbrad

Caravanner from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 01/05/2022 14:27

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely weekend stay

We stayed with our child age 7 and had a great time at this site. The set up and pitches is as you would expect from C&MH - nice big pitches and spread apart. The toilets / showers were clean and seemed plenty for the site. Only critism would be the shower angle came right to the end of the cubicle and my shoes got wet first time but soon learnt from this. Also the shower spray was quite spread out so wasn't as powerful as I would of liked. There was a playground which my boy enjoyed visiting and making friends there. There is a footpath from the site taking you to the side of the Spar at Threshfield. And then onwards paths to Grassington. We did a good 10k round trip walk along the river playing on the stepping stones to enjoy cakes at the Old School tearoom in Hebdon. We ate at the Old Hall Inn which was nice, the closest one Game Keeper seems to get busy so try book ahead if you can.

ScreenNameFDBE256611

Campervanner

Reviewed on 27/04/2022 21:55

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful Wharfedale

Absolutely wonderful site. Its one of our favourites and we make sure we have a couple of visits a year. Always immaculate facilities. Well kept site. Warm welcome from 2 new wardens when we arrived at 7pm. Beautifully located site, within an easy walk to the famous Dale's village of Grassington. Lovely cafes and pubs, quirky shops & book shop. Something for everyone. The Devonshire Arms of All Creatures Great & Small fame, complete with film set photos around the snug does a very tasty sunday lunch! Lovely walks to Linton Falls & Burnsall. We did the Burnsall walk this visit, stunning in spring with sparkling waterfalls,gorges,wild flowers, new lambs and plenty of bird and wildlife. We enjoyed watching mandarin ducks, dippers,goosanders and saw our first swallows of 2022 skimming the river! Our spaniel loves all the walks! Gorgeous area. If you haven't visited Wharfdale you must! Make some Yorkshire memories. Thankyou CMC.

Tilly836

Campervanner

Reviewed on 27/04/2022 19:33

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

2 Children (age 5 & 2) + 2 Adults - Highly Recommend!

What an amazing site! We stayed 5 nights (first week of Easter holidays 2022). This place had everything. Baby and toddler bathroom with bath (ask for key at office) the cleanliness was unbelievable as was the huge shower block and toilets in the ladies. Friendly staff who did regular checks of rubbish area to make sure standards were high, bike spray down area (I mean wow), the area for water/waste/rubbbish and recycling was amazingly clean, clearly labelled and set out. We were so impressed. The enclosed park for the children was perfect and really safe. There was a fairy garden near the front entrance and a pond just down the road from the entrance to the site too. There was a little walk round the site sgain perfect for little ones just to have a little stroll. A field full of lambs not far away from where we were pitched which our two loved to admire while they were being fed at night. On arrival we got a warm welcome and were blown away with the size of the entrance to the site, it was enormous and we were told that if we needed to turn round with the caravan we could easily. This was great to hear as we are still building our confidence with towing the caravan. The pitch itself was fab, gravel ground with a side grass patch. Hubby seemed to manage fine putting the pegs in. They had posters in the shower block that were really informative even an on site mini tourist information centre with leaflets. I could go on. Despite the amount of children including ours it felt peaceful and serene. We will definately be going back! Big thank you to the site for having us.

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great Site but .......

Great site good wardens but of course the wardens work for us the members! The rules are not always followed, for example dogs are frequently on very long leads - longer than the two meters specified amd some members allow them to run round in the toilet block. Not everyone enjoys a dog on a long lead bounding up to them with muddy paws! The 5mph speed limit is rarely observed, brisk walking pace is not difficult to understand so just do it - don't ignore it. This applies to most sites.

Jono44

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 11/04/2022 11:20

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful

We arrived at this site in the sunshine, over the two weeks we were there it snowed, hailed or rained every day! But we were still happy bunnies. The greeting by the staff was amazingly friendly and we felt at ease immediately. The views from the site are beautiful and the walks directly from the site go on for miles. Dogs will not get bored. There’s a shop just a short walk from the site with absolutely everything you could need. We didn’t visit the pub and spa just a stones throw from the site but it looked very nice. It was very peaceful and we often saw the odd deer or two wander through as we explored the area. Definitely one of our favourites so far.

HaveYouZena

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/04/2022 16:26

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer