White House Beach Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant wardens

Arrived on site shortly after finding out my mum had been taken into hospital. Wardens very sympathetic and understanding that our we may need to be more versatile with our booking. Yet again the wardens are an important part of the whole site experience. Pleased to say mum now back home. Generally found the site tired in appearance but all facilities very clean. Good location for visiting such places as Minsmere, Southwold, Aldeburgh and Sutton Hoo

Clive and Pat

Reviewed on 29/10/2021 12:27

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing by the coast

Our first visit to this site, and we were delighted: right on the coast, you can start walking and exploring from the site gate. Miles of shingle, interesting geology, birdwatching and botany, or just relax, or fish, listening to the waves. Note: it is not ideal for swimming or water sports here, because the beach shelves dramatically and there are strong currents. We found the site staff friendly and helpful, very busy keeping everything clean and tidy. The shore side of the site is sheltered and mixed grass/hard standing, and the laundry block is here. However, we preferred the beach side. Facility block here is a little more basic, salt and damp winds batter everything, make the vegetation a bit sparse, and the exposed site means it’s risky to put up awnings or leave items out, but we loved being out in the elements. It could be quite bleak if you are not lucky with the weather! Supplies usually available from the big commercial campsite next door, the village has busy chip shop, pub with marquee and live music, and a posher restaurant if you can book ahead. Bus stop in village Lowestoft/Southwold with basic service if you want a day out. Hesitate to recommend as we’d like to keep it to ourselves, but enjoy!

Vavavoom

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/09/2021 12:21

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice site in good location

There is good access to the shingle beach and you can walk into Lowestoft along the beach (about 3 miles). Bus stop about a mile walk with regular buses to Lowestoft, Norwich and Southwold. Only 1 showerblock on site which is fairly basic. Also information room rather basic . TV reception with aerial booster cable excellent and wifi good on site. Sailor Inn next door which is good for basic food and drink but did have live music sessions on Sat and Sun evenings which some may love and some may hate (this may be summer season only but there was no information about it). Do be aware that site opens at 13.00. Don't understand this inconsistency in different sites which only leads to confusion and frustration for all concerned.

Berma

Reviewed on 26/09/2021 19:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

First time staying at White House Beach

This is a peaceful site in a beautiful area. Contrary to other comments we thought the grounds were well kept. The toilets were clean but dated. Our main gripe is the size of our pitch which was very small Unfortunately we only realised how small once we had set up the awning and our ‘neighbour’ parked his car. We had very little room to the side and front of the pitch to sit out with a table and the neighbours car was very close even though he had parked correctly. I spoke to the warden as I thought that the distances were not within the clubs legal requirements. Although he said he would come and look and speak to us nothing happened. We could have moved but the site was very busy and we would have to take the awning down and put up again. This marred what other wise was a lovely holiday. The information room was quite basic and better information about the area would have been helpful. On a positive note the area is beautiful with so much to see, great walks and excellent food. Most pubs / restaurants were dog friendly although some beaches other than Kessingland were not. Highly recommend visiting Southwold, Aldeburgh any Horsey Bay to see the seals. Excellent fish and chip shop in the village. Good food at the Waterfront restaurant but very difficult to get a table, book ahead if you want to go there, only outside is dog friendly though. Local pub wasn’t serving food most nights due to staff shortage. Only found out about Nisa store on neighbouring static caravan site day before we left.

TraceyD

Reviewed on 15/09/2021 17:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

First time

Nice peaceful site in a good location. Toilet showers need upgrading as there is only two hooks to put your clothes on every thing else has to go on the floor and as there is no shower curtain everything gets wet, Good idea is to take your washing powder with you and wash your clothes while your there. Main problem is with new arrivals being at the barrier from 12-00 noon some days and as time goes on the entrance gets blocked and some inconsiderate people think this is ok. Its about time the wardens turned them around and tell them to come back at 13-00hrs. To be fare to the wardens some days they were letting them in ten minutes early, The road to the site does get narrow through the village the last bit being room for one vehicle only, but don't worry if you are on the narrow bit coming out those arriving will speed through and try to get you to reverse a hundred yards or more, I had a few crapping them selfs, The idea is to know you're vehicle size and look and forward plan ahead not barge through as if you're a Sherman tank.

Kizer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/09/2021 09:50

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

First time at White House beach

Just returned from a few days away here. Site little bit scruffy as nearly handstand pitches had weeds growing and tidying up needed . As others stated shower block needs makeover, was clean but in need of renovation. Site very quiet and good spacing. Wardens we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Waterfront restaurant just outside gate is amazing, but book in advance of your arrival as very busy. The local fish and chip shop further up the road has small restaurant and is very clean, fish was superb well worth a visit. Sailors Home pub is next to the Waterfront, good local beers, we didn’t eat here but typical pub food. Beach is mainly pebbles, good walk to Lowestoft along beach. Lowestoft is a typical tired fishing port,however Southwold is superb ( plus Adnams brewery is in the town with tours available) We will definitely go again suits us but family may struggle to entertain the children unless you have car to take them further afield

fostersbooth

from Warwickshire

Reviewed on 07/09/2021 12:06

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

So peaceful and quiet!

This was the fourth site we have visited since joining the club last year. The location was great for our 2 boys and the dog. They loved being so close to the sea. Yes, the toilet block is slightly dated and tired, but everything worked and was clean. The site is so quiet. The wi-fi was good enough for me to be able to work from the van whilst the wife and kids went off to Africa Alive and Lowestoft on their bikes. We really enjoyed the fish and chips from the Beach chippy. Like many towns and cities both Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft were looking a bit tired. On the other hand, Southwold was vibrant and full of life. We particularly enjoyed the beach. We also loved the ice creams, including the dog who had his own doggy friendly one. The wardens were particularly helpful when a couple of pitches were flooded during a particularly heavy downpour, moving those affected onto other pitches. All in all we had a great week here. Would we come back? Probably. But as we are trying to visit as many parts of the UK as possible, and with so many Clubs sites to go at, it may take a while.

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

The " beach" is off in the distance .... Dunes and shingle . Nice wardens though

We stayed here on 20 Aug 2021 . This is an unusual C&MHC site layout with about 20 pitches ( sort of over the road ) from the main site with a public road between feeding into a few houses and Park Dean Resorts Holiday static site. We asked to go on the beach front part and it has separate toilet block and barrier etc . On reflection we wish we had pitched on the main site as a sea view was nothing special and the area was swarming with little flies crawling all over everywhere, Hook up points with TV booster all ok . A walk down to the sea edge was about 200 yards through sand dunes onto a very pebbly beach . Only stayed one night but next time would pitch on the main site . Needed some milk and bread but. no store in the village which had one pub and a cafe. Luckily we ventured a short walk to the Park Dean Resort which has a small NISA supermarket plus fish and chip shop large entertainment centre bar etc so we spent a bit of time there . Although the site name sounds great the beach is a real let down compared to golden sands ones we see in Northumberland but the site is well run . Nice staff and very quiet at night . We would stay again if in the area though

TB22

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/08/2021 20:53

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Abbey's favorite site

Abbey has been here over 20 times, over the last 5 years and says it is the best site and best life ever....! Abbey is now 7... Great hosts too...

Clive Proctor

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2021 10:05

44 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Take flip flops

Lovely site let down only by the fact that the shower cubicles have no seats or stools and there are only two hooks on the door. It's a struggle to keep clothes from getting wet and getting shoes and socks back on, hence, take some flips flops. Otherwise it's a perfect little site.

Ken Renshaw

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2021 17:25

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer