Wood Farm Caravan Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Beware of road noise

Based on previous excellent reviews we booked a week in September and had wonderful weather. Be warned that the site is off a roundabout on the A35 and we were closest to the road, enduring speeding motorbikes day and night. Go when it's cold and keep your windows firmly shut! The site has a swimming pool which was clean and well maintained and the overall atmosphere is not of a typical CAMC site. The static caravan holiday park is the core business of the owners. There are a number of keen club supporters who come back year after year but for me it was not value for money.

Xerxses1957

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/09/2021 12:50

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing return visit

This is the third year we have visited Wood Farm and it has definitely gone rapidly down hill in terms of cleanliness. We booked a premium pitch and discovered the drain was blocked to the brim and overflowing and the ptich was full of debris and cigarette ends.. The drain was cleared as soon as we notified staff but was lef in a disgusting state. The shower block near us was disgraceful. It looked as if he had not seen a clean in weeks and debris and old filth and dust was collected in corners and behind doors. We saw no evidence of cleaning over the Bank holiday weekend . The showers were mouldy and filthy and needless to say we used our own facilities! This has been reported to the Caravan Club with photos and I hope they make a speedy visit to the site! This was extremely disappointing as we have been stayimg at Wood farm over previous years as a treat for our grandson. Will sadly not be returning.

Elmcrest

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2021 13:25

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good location

Stayed here two nights in our motorhome. Good facilities, clean and well maintained. Excellent staff all of whom were very pleasant, helpful and efficient. We would not normally stay at sites like this but chose this one for the location as its possible to walk into Lyme and Charmouth (although hilly). It was clear from the map that it was near a main road but even so the noise levels from road were fine and otherwise all very quiet and not busy.

hymerinneedofacamp

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2021 09:28

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing site

Disappointing site not up to the usual club standards. From information I was able to get and from general observation and the greeting pack it appears that this site was bought by Park holidays ln November 2020. They appear to be building up the static part of the site and not looking after the touring side of the park. We noticed that the wc/shower blocks including the disabled room were not cleaned for our first 3 days, the same stains in toilet bowls along with dirty floors with the same bits of paper and leaves being there for the same length. When I used the squeeze to dry the floor the water turned to a dirty colour. For the rest of our stay we used our own facilities in our caravan. We reported this to reception and was told that they are cleaned every day, when we pointed out about the paper leaves etc the receptionist backed down and admitted they had been let down by the cleaner and that the Site manager was cleaning them at that moment. The site has the main A35 running past on the other side of a hedge which is very noisy, Must admit that the site cannot do much about that. The one good thing was that we were at the top and had fantastic views.

daveandwendy

Reviewed on 28/06/2021 16:52

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First stay at Wood Farm

We spent five nights at Wood Farm as part of a longer stay in Devon and Dorset. We received a warm welcome at reception. We were given an information pack and someone showed us to our allocated fully serviced pitch. We were a bit disappointed at first as it was right opposite the toilet block but it was fine as we were pitched so that that our door opened on the other side and the block was not busy. The site is tiered so there is some uphill walking to do and it is just off the main dual carriageway so there is some road noise, particularly if you are at the top of the site. We found that the site is not as well maintained as the CAMC sites we have visited and the atmosphere was not as good. The facilities are in separate cubicles with toilet, sink and shower all in one which was fine as there was lots of space but they did need updating. There was a brush to sweep the floor after your shower but you had to sweep the water out of the door onto the path outside which I found a bit strange. We did not use any of the but theamenities but they are good for families as there is a swimming pool (using a booking system), tennis court and playground. The location was good for us as motorhomers as you could walk into Charmouth and also there is a bus stop a few minutes walk from the site. We used the bus service (the Jurassic Coaster) to visit Lyme Regis, Seaton and Bridport. We also did a couple of walks: Seaton to Beer (a lovely place) along the coast path and Bridport to West Bay and Burton Bradstock using public footpaths. We also had an excellent meal at the Millside restaurant in Lyme Regis. Great seafood but you will need to book as they are very busy.

BettyS

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/06/2021 09:57

12 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wood Farm gets a thumbs up from us!

We had 5 nights at this lovely site and would highly recommend it. We had some Caravan and Motorhome Cub vouchers to use and this park kindly accepted them when a different affiliated site would not.....so first good point! The site is well laid out and while big, does not feel so owing to the different areas and terracing. Views were great from most pitches of far reaching countryside. We had a standard unserviced pitch which was generous and well kept. The toilet/shower facilities were fantastic, each large room having a toilet, shower, wash basin, heater and hair drier. So much room to move around in and keep everything dry!They were extremely clean and perfect for the current social distancing! Two blocks meant no queues either. The shop was adequate for most basics including a daily newspaper and the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. We did not use the indoor pool but it looked great, as did the indoor play area which was currently closed. Unfortunately the visiting curry van had problems during our stay so did not appear but we were told of this to enable alternative food arrangements (an Indain takeaway delivered from Lyme Regis!) We did make use of the fish and chip van and the meal was superb. Plenty of walks from the site, both Charmouth and Lyme Regis reachable. We also made use of the bus service to Bridport and West Bay, the stop being a short walk from the site entrance. This obviously means that background road noise can be heard from this site but we did not find it at all obtrusive and the advantages outweigh this easily. We highly recommend this site and found it perfect for our short break and it was also extremely good value for money!

Dave Rolfe

Motorhomer from Hampshire

Reviewed on 26/10/2020 15:26

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

5 nights at Half Term

For personal reasons we had to cancel at the very last minute, that luckily rectified themselves by the following morning, the site has thoughtfully kept our booking open for us when we called back to see if we were still able to go. On arrive we were given a very warm welcome, despite being 15 mins after normal closing and escorted to our pitch. The pitch had a lovely view, there was no noticeable noise from the main A35 and the toilets were immaculately kept despite heavy rain over one night and another day. Overall I would recommend this site, perfect for kids and the seaside, with friendly helpful staff. I will book again next time we are headed to the area.

mordred1973

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/10/2020 16:00

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Very clean and well looked after site

We stayed at Wood Farm recently and found it to be very well run with helpful staff and exceptionally clean toilet blocks. Our pitch was down at the bottom end of the site so we heard little noise from the main road but we did miss out on the views from the upper pitches nearer the road had of the countryside. I can see why this site is so popular and would stay again if we are visiting the area again.

Dryarch

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2020 00:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A well run, clean & tidy site.

We booked as an alternative to Bingham Grange (whilst they’re having their facilities refurbished). The check in & staff were very helpful. Our pitch was allocated on arrival & we were on the higher part of the terraced area of the site...the views across to the sea in the distance were fabulous. Our pitch had lovely sunshine for most of the day but we lost it behind the trees around 4:30pm The site has good toilets & showers, though the push operated timed off showers are always a minor frustration. The proximity to Charmouth is walkable & the hill back not too much trouble. This site is equidistant between West Bay/Bridport & Lyme Regis...all worth a visit. If I were to visit the area again I would happily book here, but be prepared for the hilly region which is Dorset & Jurassic Coast.

SharonSmith1970

from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 25/07/2019 21:10

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful Grounds, close to seaside

Stayed here in June for 4 nights on a premium serviced pitch. While a bit more expensive, this suited us as we could top up water halfway through our stay without having to move the motorhome. Pitch was allocated on arrival and we were guided to our pitch by one of the friendly and helpful members of staff, who also explained the facilities. The grounds are beautiful with a lovely walk down to the lake, with a secure enclosed dog walk area, with plenty of room to exercise the pooch. Charmouth beach is about 20 minutes walk, but a bit of a hill back to the site. Charmouth is pretty although not a huge amount there, a pub and a few shops. Helpful for stocking up the supplies. Lyme Regis is about 50 minutes walk, but 20 minutes on the bus, which has an hourly service and is a short walk from the site. Lyme Regis is definitely worth a visit for the beach and eating establishments. The site has regular visits from a takeaway fish & chip van and curry van. Very useful. My only criticism is the shower block. Each block has one toilet and 6 separate shower rooms which are a small bathroom with toilet, shower and basin. The problem is they tend to get used as a toilet, as only one separate toilet is available. They also get very steamed up because 1. The pre-set shower temperature is too hot and can’t be adjusted. 2. The ventilation is poor. They need better extractor fans. There is a window, but didn’t like to leave open while in the shower as people could see in. The shower is also on a spring load button, but only gives 12 seconds of flow before it needs pushing again (I timed it). That’s not enough time to even rinse your hair. By the time I’d dried my hair, I felt like I’d had a sauna, despite propping the door open. The site is close to the A35 so you do get traffic noise if you are close to the entrance, however that did not spoil our stay. Overall, we had a lovely stay and found the staff very friendly and helpful.

KPCBP

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/07/2019 21:46

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer