Wood Farm Caravan Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Our favourite place to stay in Charmouth

My husband and I visit Wood Farm often as it so convenient for visiting Charmouth and Lyme Regis and accessing all the great walking in the area. We like the premium pitches which are all flat and have great views. And it is a bonus to be able to swim and have breakfast at the cafe on the site.

jane bremner

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/08/2017 13:03

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Never again

We arrived and could not choose our spot we were shoved into what I can only describe as a forecourt of caravans. The pitches were so closed together and small that cars had to be parked in front and there was no room for an fresco dining. Having said that al fresco dining would have been like dining in a Tesco car park. The noise although it is no fault if the site is horrendous constant traffic noise and helicopters throughout the day and night. My little boy was washing up and got his t shirt caught on a nail .. the t shirt ripped but it could have really hurt him. We were given a succinct sorry and the nail was removed x the cafe and swimming pool redeemed the site and staff were lovely and warm and friendly. Lyme Regis was lovely too so 10 days on site were not totally ruined x

Dannyboy1

Reviewed on 13/08/2017 11:59

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Never again

I think it was our pitch that spoilt our stay right on top of a mound as you enter the site felt like we was on display as everyone went buy , this should be a pitch it's just money making squeezing ever last but if land to make another £25 a night . You shouldn't have to pay to use the pool you have paid to stay there . Noisy site busy road . Was glad to leave.

RichAnn

Reviewed on 05/08/2017 12:16

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed

Several other reviews referred to the traffic noise and we did not take it seriously but oh my. Being positioned right against the boundary on the A35 roundabout, traffic started about 4 in the morning and went on till 2 the next morning. Other parts of the site were possibly quieter but beware of position when you book if you want peace. I am not really a fan of hard standings and gravel spaces they are uncomfortable and are getting away from the basis of camping that we like but the staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were very good and the swimming pool was excellent but all the sports/ entertainment were at additional costs, not big sums but with children it could prove expensive if they want to do something every day. Bus service from just outside the site was super so you do not need to take the car everywhere. Overall we had a nice holiday because the weather was good although our pitch was completely overshadowed by trees but I have to honest and say it is unlikely that we will go back to this site as there are better options locally.

Mikebrewster

Campervanner from Norfolk

Reviewed on 08/07/2017 11:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great touring base with excellent facilities and good countryside views

The site is one of best we have visited for ease of access via a wide road off the main road. The facilities are excellent and most of the pitches are of a good size. Some of the pitches are also serviced with water tap and drain. Charmouth is a relatively easy walk for local pubs and restaurants. Good bus service. Lyme Regis Golf Club is only a couple of miles away and does a very good Sunday carvery. Other reviews have mentioned that the pitches nearer the entrance can be noisier. That is true but we were on such a pitch but my wife who is a relatively light sleeper was not troubled.

john thorn

Reviewed on 06/06/2017 11:54

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Thoroughly recommended

Having promised ourselves a break in the Lyme Regis area we booked a stay at Wood Farm. I have to say this is a wonderful site with very helpful staff, very clean and ample facilities for all pitches. Although close to the A35 we found on our pitch it to be a quiet site as regards traffic noise. This may not be the case when pitched near the entrance. The site also has a lovely warm swimming pool and adjoining café serving nice snacks and wonderful coffee! Catering services call at the site including a Curry chef which met with our approval. Lyme Regis is only two miles away and a similar distance to Charmouth. Absolutely no problems here at all and we hope to pay another visit in the future.

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site with excellent facilities and staff

Wood Farm is in our opinion, one of the best. It is a large but very well maintained sloping site but all pitches are on tiered levels and are large and level and overlook the beautiful Dorset countryside. Many have fully serviced pitches. The toilets/showers are spotlessly clean and many shower rooms include w/c shower & sink. There is a lovely play area with childrens play equipment and a tennis court, very large and secure dog field, fishing lake, indoor pool, an excellent cafe, games room and a small shop on site. You are guaranteed a warm, friendly welcome and all of the staff, without exeption are pleasant and helpful. There is only a 10amp power supply on site so you need to restrict the use of multiple appliances as it will trip (but can be reset easily). There is a lot of traffic noise from the adjacent A35 which at times sounds like Silverstone on race day but if you ignore this, this excellent site is well worth a visit. The lovely seaside town of Lyme Regis is 3 miles, Charmouth 1.5 miles. One of our favourite sites and we will certainly visit again soon.

41 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Location

Very nice site but still room for improvement. I would like to see a number for each pitch so we can give an idea as to where we might like to pitch up next time. Very close to the A35 so plenty of noisy traffic. Well kept grounds, hot showers, indoor swimming pool, Café. Close to a few lovely beaches. Helpful Staff and booklet on arrival. Some pitches need a number of levelling blocks. Unable to get BBC channels. May visit again.

nettybond

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/04/2017 21:58

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Super site

Lovely location with great views. Close proximity to lovely Lyme Regis and walking distance to Charmouth. Great facilities, friendly staff and a small shop with essentials and excellent local ales and ciders.

Janlane

Motorhomer from Mid Glamorgan

Reviewed on 03/11/2016 17:39

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Charming Charmouth

This well-kept camp site, in a fantastic location with superb views, is a real gem. Surrounded by trees, the lay out means that, from the top of the camp, you can clearly see all the pitches, neatly arranged but when you look up, all you can see is green grass, bushes and trees. The facility blocks are very clean and the disabled toilets easily accessible by wheelchair users. The site is very near Charmouth beach, 20/30 minutes on foot and 5 minutes with the car (there is plenty of parking by the beach) and fossils hunters will not have to work very hard to be rewarded. However, beware of the cliffs, very unstable, they crumble. The Jurassic Coast bites back! We were impressed by all the staff, being in the restaurant (catering for people with allergies – I’m lactose intolerant), at the office or on the ground. All the wardens were very friendly, cheerful, full of welcoming advice and hands-on help … bless them! We loved Wood Farm and we will be back.

Pumphers

Reviewed on 22/10/2016 17:28

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer