Wood Farm Caravan Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good location

Wood Farm is a quite large mixed holiday site with chalets, tent camping facilities, caravans and motorhomes. It has an indoor pool, cafe/bar, games room and info centre with books and magazines on exchange or borrow. There's also a small play area with swing/slide/climbing stuff. Due to the nature of the countryside this is sloping site. The reception point really has only got room for one van / car+van so at peak times you may need to queue up in the long (dead end) slip road that goes past the site entry. This is not on the main road itself so not a problem. The staff at the site are all very helpful and a good source of local information. After checkin you're invited to turn into the MH service point and fill up with water. This gave us the opportunity to test out flow rate into jerry can and Whale pump rate out - actually very good!!! You park over a very long grill for grey waste at the same time - big plus point there, no fiddly manhole covers!!! Did I say the site is on a slope? Once watered you're escorted to your pitch by one of the staff on an electric quad bike - got to get one of those - big boy's toys! The standard pitches - hard standing with EHU are concrete and level, but not very generous in width so you are on grass when you step out of the door, OK in the dry, muddy when wet. The better pitches are fully serviced EHU, water, grey and are wider and gravelled. The sloping site means pitches are terraced all over the place which makes for a nice appearance and views. I saw some longer M/Hs struggling to get wheels onto the gravel before the back end hit the bank up to the next terrace. If in doubt ask when booking. This site does slope - did I mention that? So, bikes, skateboards etc and not permitted, and I can quite see why. There are toilet/shower/washup/black waste blocks dotted around. These also have vegetable wash and prep areas which is really good. Numerous fresh/grey water points. The washroom facilities are a little unusual. They consist of a small number of individual bathrooms, each with a basin, toilet and shower plus shaver point and wired in hair drier. There are no soap dispensers in the toilets which I consider to be a bad move. After use you have to go round to the end of the block to a single washbasin with soap and hand drier – often ignored! A sign at the entrance points out that this is a countryside site. Rabbits - oh yes there's lots of rabbits. Still, I was pleased when opened the door around 10.30 at night and saw a hedgehog bumbling around. There are buses along to Dorchester, Bridport etc one way or as far as Exeter the other. We had planned on walking down into Lyme Regis and getting the bus back, but some bus services were off, so it was a very steep walk back up the hill!! It's probably no more than 2.5 miles but it's a long long climb.....I think we'll go back again for a longer visit simply because it is a good location for exploring.

rambling robin

Reviewed on 13/10/2015 13:34

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic holiday

Just had the best 5 day break in our little motor. Home. This is a superb site. Road noise was minimal, we were out most of the day and nights were quiet. Shower/toilet block immaculate. I prefer " the soapy mop" better than just pushing dirt around with a rubber mop. Staff always smiling and so helpful. Lovely cafe and amazing pool, so clean and only £2 for as long as you want. We had no prob with electric, had heater, television and kettle on at one point! Thanks everyone it was great, see you soon.

Fi53

Motorhomer from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 07/10/2015 00:11

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A marvellous site, won't stay again.

If only this site were not next to next to that major trunk road and roundabout.  The staff are so friendly, the facilities are clean and in good order and the views are great. But the 24/7 road noise made sleeping at night virtually impossible. A great shame, I would loved to have stayed here again. Oh, one other little quibble, if you have Club year long wi-fi, it does not work at this site and you have to buy their access, £15 for seven days.

doberman2

Reviewed on 14/09/2015 15:45

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Outstanding rural views

Make no mistake this is a great site with very good facilities.  I get somewhat frustrated with negative CC reviews that are not factual and focus on any slight issue rather than celebrate the positives.  Brilliant location for this beautiful coastline, very friendly site staff and great pop up restaurant.  Very spacious shower rooms. Would definitely return and recommend without reservation.

Mendip Grit

Reviewed on 01/09/2015 17:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good site

Have just returned from 8 days stay on this site. Scary getting the van level on a steep hill side, but the views were amazing. We had a good sized pitch unlike some others we saw. Some road noise but quietened down at night. Very helpful staff, even when having to keep asking to reset electric. Couldn't have water heater on and use kettle etc. bit of a pain. Pool good although could get expensive if used a lot. Small suggestion for the showers, a squeegee mop as used in most club sites would be a good purchase as the dirty cloth mop left in the shower block was not very nice! Overall a lovely holiday.

DavidandJanet

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/08/2015 09:42

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

This was a great site in a great location a short walk into the village where there are a few pubs with good food if you are up to it it's a good walk into Lyme Regis across a golf course good position to get all over in Dorset as the main road is right outside good facilities on site very quite even though it's a large site definitely go again.

chrism

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/08/2015 19:48

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Dirty Toilets!!! :(

We stayed at this site for 14 nights from 26th July-9th August. We paid for a fully serviced premium pitch and the views were great. We happened to be quite close to the single shower/family rooms so got to see a few things that maybe we shouldn't have. We witnessed some people taking their DOGS into the room whilst going to the toilet at night (Yes, you know who you are!!) YUCK. Decided not to use them after that! We also watched the wardens going in to clean the rooms taking all of 10 minutes, they were not cleaned properly- no soap to wash hands, no toilet brushes were left until the last few days of our stay. We also watched one of the wardens use the SAME MOP AND BUCKET TO CLEAN THE CHEMICAL WASTE ROOM. Some of the toilets in the main shower block were left dirty just after them supposed to have been cleaned. We will be sticking to caravan club sites only from now on as cleanliness is always guaranteed. Its such a shame because the site is in a  great location. 

MrsFPboro1

Reviewed on 15/08/2015 20:28

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very happy campers!

Stayed at Wood Farm with two grandchildren for 5 nights last week. The pool was a key factor in choosing this site and we were not disappointed. In fact, almost every aspect of Wood Farm met or exceeded our expectations. No issues with electrics. Having prebooked well ahead, our camper/ motorhome pitch was close to a shower block with five self contained rooms plus communal kitchen etc. Ideal for us. Not many motorhomes on site and that surprised me. Not sure where we would be sited if we arrived at short notice. One issue: there is a pool attendant but not trained in emergency life saving, I was told. The safety rules in place require parents to be in the pool or at least by the poolside in swimwear. Regular buses to Charmouth, Lyme Regis and beyond. To summarise, yes there is always scope for improvements, but the staff seem genuinely keen to help and to ensure visitors will want to return. I fully expect our brood to demand we go back next summer!

emarpe

Reviewed on 10/08/2015 14:35

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Electrical nightmare

Just returned from 2 weeks at this site.  It is supposed to be 10 amps but there were constant problems with the electric tripping.  A number of campers complained about it.  We set our van to 10 amps and it still tripped.  We came to the conclusion that it was either set below 10 amps, or the wiring was in dire need of replacement.  Make sure your gas bottles are full - you are going to need them! The cleanliness of the site also leaves something to be desired.  The shower blocks are of an age, which is no excuse for them not being cleaned properly.  There was no soap for hand washing for over a week in one of the shower blocks and despite repeated reminders, we were told that it was being sorted.  This is not acceptable, nor is the lack of toilet brushes.  I only witnessed a 'proper' cleaning taking place on the last day of our holiday, coupled with the arrival of new toilet brushes.  Don't know if an inspection was in the offing?? The views at the site itself are without doubt stunning.  It needs some money spending on the electrics and shower blocks and a proper daily cleaning regime implementing. 

snapesrus

Reviewed on 09/08/2015 18:12

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Hills and fossils

Wood Farm AS Stayed here in the middle of July on a service pitch, which meant we were able to use the shower in our van without constantly fetching water or queuing for the shower rooms in the block nearest to us. However, we still got plenty of exercise walking around this steeply sloping site to visit the laundry room etc! Some folk have mentioned the traffic noise but we were only aware of a background 'hum' and were able to ignore it. We found the staff welcoming and friendly and were escorted to our pitch on one of the terraces. We were happy with our pitch but noticed that other people were given other options if not happy with the first offered. One word of warning, this site only offers 10amps rather than CC 16, so care is needed when using such things as microwaves! The walk into Charmouth is down the road, however if you watch out for signs you can turn off through back lanes, find your way to the beach and try your hand at fossil hunting, we found a cute little one. We enjoyed our stay at Wood Farm and would probably go back again. Would say it was a good site for families too, despite the slopes, as there is a swimming pool, a games room, tennis court and a large play area, as well as a fishing lake. Spoilt for choice really.

SteveL

Motorhomer from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 24/07/2015 11:06

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer