Beau Rivage

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Charming Site

Stayed 25 nights in May 2019. Very helpful English speaking staff. Beautifully laid-out site with trees,shrubs & grasses. Level pitches.All big enough for car,caravan & awning.Some pitches with plenty of extra. space. Some pitches hard standing,some pitches grass. Sanitaires always clean.Toilet seats.Toilet paper provided. Open-air unheated swimming pool. No road noise or other similar disturbances. Site convenient for access to small historic town. About 50% of customers British. Richard makes excellent pizzas on site for take-away or join other campers in the marquee.Low season Friday evening.High season six nights a week.

ID1

Reviewed on 21/05/2019 08:44

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Charming site with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff

My wife and I stayed here for six days towards the end of September. Our holiday had been severely mucked up as my wife had a broken foot in plaster and was very immobile, but the welcome, practical help, advice and support from Richard and Wendy, and Alydia and Chris, was simply outstanding. The pitch we were given was the closest to the toilet and showers, if a bit awkward to access, and the landscaping, trees, shrubs and woods below the site, all made for a very pleasant overall location. In addition the very close proximity of the bastide of delightful Navarrenx, and virtually on the level (a blessing for the pushchair we rented from the local pharmacy), meant we were able to access the cafes, restaurants and most of the other facilities in the town centre. On Sunday the owners provide a superb Coq au Vin lunch in the marquee, with an aperitif, wine and dessert - very jolly and excellent quality. I think this is one of the very best campsites we have visited in France or Spain, despite its modest size and no on site cafe. But the charm, friendliness, character and location all justify the very high rating. We will be back.

Peter1952

Motorhomer from Cornwall

Reviewed on 02/10/2018 12:59

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Simply Beautiful

A wonderful site, friendly from the offset, next to a lovely walled town with great facilities. Great pitches and setting. Will definitely return. White water rafting in the river from the company just outside the site. Terrific!

CraigPowell

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 28/09/2018 17:23

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice stop off

We stopped here for a night when touring France in our motorhome. The site is nice, although the pitches were on the small side compared to others. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. The on-site pizza cabin was excellent - just the deal after a long drive - 5 stars for that Hopefully we will return and have time to look round the area, which was certainly nice to drive through If using a C&M satnav, in common with most sites we visited on our tour it was hopeless, with this being one of the worst - beware that it will try and send you up a dead end with a path to the camp site, which is fine if you are hiking, but useless if you are in a motorhome or towing a caravan. Follow the walls of the town round until you see yellow signposts for the site and it is a doddle to find

HambletonRam

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/08/2018 22:36

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very friendly

We stayed here for two nights on the way to Spain and one night on the way back, we have stopped here a few times in the past and I have to say that we love it. The staff here are nothing short of bloody brilliant and very friendly every time we have stayed they have been very helpful, the site is easy to find and well located for the Pyrenees Mountains it is clean and well appointed, small pool but very clean and usable, toilet blocks are a little dated but always clean, all in all a great little site that’s well worth visiting

Davec45855

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 23/09/2017 16:38

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Flowers, trees and grass

Our first site in France and we were not disappointed. Very pretty site, well maintained and good size pitches. Lovely clean swimming pool as were the showers and washing up facilities. Good area for cycling, quiet flat roads especially if following the river. Some challenging hills slightly further afield. Friendly and very helpful site owners. 'Delicious pizza's made on site by Richard. Navarrenx is a very old interesting town and the site is just outside the walls. Easy walk to small supermarket and restaurants in town.

Spokes010

Reviewed on 09/08/2017 22:43

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Site

Beau Rivage is a beautifully kept site tucked right up against the walls of the ancient town of Navarrenx. The facilities are excellent and the welcome and attention from the staff are beyond equal. Good free wifi, once it had been restored following a storm outage. The site is owned by an English couple and, during our visit, was mainly occupied by the UK outfits, so has more of the atmosphere of a home site than a typical French camp. DO NOT follow the Avtex (CC) sat nav on the approaching Navarrenx, it will try to take you up a footpath!

Stevesie

Motorhomer from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 26/09/2016 12:53

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect site

I suppose no site is 100% perfect for everyone, but I feel this one is as good as it gets. The general location of the site is perfect, within a stroll of boulangerie, and also small supermarket (Carrefour) which also has a filling station, and also the small town of Navarrenx. There is a surprising list of things to do in Navarrenx considering its small size - tourist information office has a good audio-visual history (available in English) and there is a museum along the street. Everyone should visit the Bastide and the Theatre of Echos within it (all free). Unless a claustrophobia sufferer take a torch and explore the two long tunnels within the Bastide. The roofs are high but one is slightly tricky underfoot. Plenty of bats !! The other huge asset of this site is the people - Wendy, Richard (who makes wonderful pizzas), Alydia and Chris. No-one could be more helpful. The quiet lanes are road cycling heaven, especially the back way to Oleron. (Oleron itself is busy.) I enjoyed going on from Oleron along the back way to Escot and then up the quite steep Col de Marie-Blanque (as regularly used in TdF and Vuelta). It isn't far to drive to Ossau valley and then cycle the classic Col d'Aubisque (summit finish of 2016 Vuelta stage 14). Everyone should make sure they see the Pic du Midi D'Ossau. For running there are numerous offroad trails starting close to the site - Wendy can advise. The site facilities are excellent, and of course there is a lovely 15 m pool which seemed very under-used during our visit. Any downside? None really except the wifi can be unusable at busy times. (It is free.) Also this site is very popular with British visitors and the majority of those staying are British - one hears a lot more English than French. Many return year after year. And many use Richard and Wendy's undercover caravan storage facility very close by so when site is closed for winter their vans stay. I hope I have managed to convey in part why it is so popular and why it deserves all its success.

henrypurcell

Motorhomer from Cleveland

Reviewed on 26/09/2016 10:53

36 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great site!

What a great site. Location is good being able to walk into town. Site is well kept and facilities spotless. Wendy and Richard and the others are so helpful with both onsite issues and their local knowledge. There is so muck to see and do from the site - we only saw a fraction of it! We will be back next to join many others who return each year!

Huggybear

Caravanner from Cleveland

Reviewed on 29/08/2016 19:50

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Very enjoyable experience.

Loved everything about this site. The young lady at reception is definitely a huge asset to the owners. She couldn't have been more helpful and works very hard to make sure you are happy. Spotless facilities throughout in a very lovely area with lots to see and lovely cycling. Would love to return one day.  Free wifi and lovely village shops nearby. 

BriaryBeetles

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/10/2015 10:35

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer