Huttopia Saumur

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

We'll go back

A delightful campsite. They feel like very new facilities with spacious and plentiful showers etc. The staff could not have been more helpful. We had a super pizza with a very reasonable bottle of wine one evening as well as using the bar for pre-dinners drinks, coffee and ice creams. We had a standard pitch which gave us ample room for the motor home, awning, laundry drier and still space to BBQ, sit and eat, sunbathe. The couple next to us had a comfort plus pitch where they parked caravan and car sideways on and had the picnic bench (provided) and ample room in front. There are loads of free activities (especially for for the kids although we enjoyed the crazy golf) and two super swimming pools - like everything else they were spotless. Our only negative comment is it's a long way out - you could cycle into Saumur but it's quite a trek. The shop doesn't stock much so make sure to bring everything you need with you except bread which was delivered to the site each morning (although needed pre-ordering). The comment by a previous reviewer about the chemical toilet situation was explained as their facility was out of order so it was just a temporary arrangement.

jond52

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2019 14:24

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A lovely stay

We booked this site for five nights in August and were a little apprehensive about our stay having read some of the posted reviews. However, we had a very enjoyable stay and would happily have stayed longer. The site certainly doesn’t have manicured grass and gravelled access roads, it has a wilder, forest feel to it. We found it to be clean and tidy, and in the middle of August we expected the grass to be showing a little wear and tear which it was. Our pitch overlooked the Loire, which we did pay a premium for, but it was worth it for the views, the sunrises and the sunsets. The access roads around the site were tight, but manageable for our large caravan, but this is typical of many French sites. We had to use the motor mover to get the caravan onto and off the pitch which was spacious and reasonably private. The tap closest to us was not working, but there was another a short walk away. EHU was on the pitch and was reliable throughout our stay. The showers and toilets were spotless whenever we used them and there were plenty of them. The chemical toilet disposal is a regular toilet in the main toilet block which we thought was a bit unusual, bit it was clean and functional. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and the staff we met were helpful and friendly. There was an eclectic range of onsite entertainment if you wanted it, including wine tasting, an astronomy evening, medieval workshop, kayaking trips, yoga, outdoor cinema and a local craft and produce market. We didn’t use the bar or restaurant as we thought the prices were far too high for pizza and burger meals; far pleasanter to cook al fresco on your pitch! Maybe we were just lucky with our stay, but we certainly didn’t encounter any of the problems we read about in older reviews.

Bishopade

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2018 18:34

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Overpriced and unwelcoming

Having read reviews after booking and paying for this site, we were very anxious. At around £34 a night, I expected better. The site lacks care, it's dusty and very tightly packed in. Electricity is not great, my husband had to reset several times after it tripped out, there is one tap between numerous pitches, and pressure is poor, it took ten minutes to fill our 40ltr aquaroll. The views from our pitch were certainly good, however everyone else on the site came to look at the views, through our pitch. It was very noisy, with some very badly behaved children. A group of Dutch boys, armed with hammers, sat and dug huge holes in the middle of an already unkempt road. Deciding to use the laundry, I went to buy a token. There are two washing machines, one was broken for the 4 nights we were there. They only had one token for the other. So anyone needing to wash had to wait for the machine to be emptied and the token collected. I question the receptionist who gave a typically Gallic shrug. There is a restaurant on site, selling mainly pizza, chips and burgers. We paid around £30 for two pizzas and a carton of fries. The fries were inedible and the pizzas very disappointing. My husband went to empty the toilet cassette on our last day, it was full to the brim and swarming in flies. Again, reception showed no concern. It was dry whilst we were there, but we could see ruts in several pitches. It's a good base for exploring Saumur and the Loire valley but I'm sure there are better, cleaner, cheaper and friendlier sites.

Comment from the Site Owner:

Thank you for leaving a review. We made the acquisition from this campsite during the season 2016. It took us about 2 years to make and create the improvements we’ve planned for this campsite.

We finally could open the season 2018 with all the renovations done and complete.

Camping Huttopia Saumur is offering now a full renovated campsite with new sanitary blocks, new reception, new space and lounge room for the bar/restaurant, all kind of new facilities…

We are planning to create nice Nature environments across and around the campsite.

I hope you can visit again to enjoy all these improvements and hope to welcom you the next seasons.

Furryfen

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/08/2017 08:35

20 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Surviving on past reputation!!!

Surprised the CC are still sending member to this site. Huttopia Saumur, formerly Camping Chantepie, ( which I understand in the past, was family run and beautiful). On arrival, (late June, for 2 weeks) my heart sank, your initial view is one of a barren, un-cared for site - patchy dry grass and dusty tracks. The photographs you find on the website (both the "old" Chantepie site and new Huttopia site) and google images, flatter and were taken in bygone times. On various sources; adverts and publications, and signage as you approach, you will see the site rated as either 4 or 5*. - it is not a 5* site and really only 4* by way of the facilities and not quality. The emplacements lack maintenance, patchy dry grass and unkept hedging. The grass on our "premium" pitch had not been cut since the "last time", (sometime in 2016?), it was long and untidy. The pitches though are very large, quite private, mostly with some shade and some further back from the river have water supply (for an extra charge). Some taps on site are of the "press and hold" type, useless for filling an aquaroll, find a twist tap, there are some! We had booked a premium pitch with view of la Loire, the hedging though obscured "the view", we chose another pitch with no hedging. There are 11 pitches with "la Loire views", 10, 11, 12 and 14 (there is no 13) do not have hedges and offer uninterrupted views, (15 has a river view at a long stretch). The hedges (on pitches 4-9, these also overlook 3 "permanent" tents) were cut to "view height" whilst we were there, at the request of a camper I guess, rather than through necessity. Read my full review at: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g187199-d2216511-r499612214-Camping_Huttopia_Saumur-Saumur_Maine_et_Loire_Pays_de_la_Loire.html#

mickandmike

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 05/08/2017 22:41

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Caravans not welcome. Beware of Huttopia

Formally known as Chantepie, Huttopia Saumur is a Gite site and does NOT readily welcome caravans or motorhomes. Huttopia as you will notice from the latest CC brochures and web site have purchased many older and welknown caravanning and motor homing French sites. This site has many new Gites in place (most of which to be honest are empty - This is high season). Caravan pitches are no longer flat, are dirty and have not been mown or generally looked after for many months. The site is VERY EXPENSIVE. Many complaints whilst we were here. A system of chicanes on the site roads have been put in place, the only reason as we could see was to make it difficult to navigate large rigs. This morning I had to empty our toilet cassette and was told the emptying complex is now at the other end of the site used as part of the motorhome emptying point. It was dirty, had no top to it and the water pressure was low. I told the reception who were just not interested. We are leaving and will be writing to the Caravan club. Again, please be awre of this mighty company and steer clear of this site.

Margarita

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 18/07/2017 10:42

54 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Oh Dear. What has happened

When Peter Teboul and his family owned and operated Chantepie Camping and Caravanning site it was first class. A little rustic, but clean, quiet when appropriate and most of all well run. A European corporate company called Huttopia has now taken over and nothing I have to say is the same. Last year we visited when the site was within its transition period and we like many others let things go by. Staff were being changed and systems were up in the air. This year it is completely Huttopia. I should have guessed something was wrong when I made the booking a year in advance to gain our favourite Loire view pitch and nothing was at all correct. The site now is almost completely Gite orientated. I would guess by next year it will not take any caravans, motorhomes or even tents. We found the site in such a mess. No grass cut, no leaves from last year cleaned up. Pitches were uneven. Power was sporadic and water pressure low. Our beloved Loire view pitches are now blotted by three new very cheap canvas Gite buildings. We were glad to leave and we will never return whilst these clowns are in control. Its such a shame. Such a chance lost. The site with the best view pitches in France has now I think gone. The Caravan Club should have nothing to do with the. I shall be writing to CC telling them just so. Zero out of ten. Horrible, horrible site.

Margarita

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 17/07/2017 16:12

54 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Oh Dear. What has happened

When Peter Teboul and his family owned and operated Chantepie Camping and Caravanning site it was first class. A little rustic, but clean, quiet when appropriate and most of all well run. A European corporate company called Huttopia has now taken over and nothing I have to say is the same. Last year we visited when the site was within its transition period and we like many others let things go by. Staff were being changed and systems were up in the air. This year it is completely Huttopia. I should have guessed something was wrong when I made the booking a year in advance to gain our favourite Loire view pitch and nothing was at all correct. The site now is almost completely Gite orientated. I would guess by next year it will not take any caravans, motorhomes or even tents. We found the site in such a mess. No grass cut, no leaves from last year cleaned up. Pitches were uneven. Power was sporadic and water pressure low. Our beloved Loire view pitches are now blotted by three new very cheap canvas Gite buildings. We were glad to leave and we will never return whilst these clowns are in control. Its such a shame. Such a chance lost. The site with the best view pitches in France has now I think gone. The Caravan Club should have nothing to do with the. I shall be writing to CC telling them just so. Zero out of ten. Horrible, horrible site.

Margarita

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 17/07/2017 16:12

54 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A great place to just relax

Spent four very happy nights at this lovely site. Overlooking the Loire this site have it all. The site is positioned above the valley and so is very peaceful and if, you're lucky enough to find a pitch that overlooks the Loire, the views are wonderful. The pitches are a good size and set in clearings within woodland with hedges for added privacy. There's generous provision of water taps throughout. As for facilities, the reception contains an excellent information centre and marvellous staff that are only too willing to help or offer advice. There's a shop for essentials and local specialities, some supplies can be ordered for the following day at reception, a fitness room, two swimming pools, laundry room, bar and grill (high season), plenty of showers, toilets and wash facilities all of which are spotless as is the entire site which has and is undergoing discreet but continuous improvements. We couldn't recommend this site more than to say we'd love to come back. A word of wording, DON'T RELY ON YOUR CLUB OR OTHER SATNAV on your final approach to the site, use the written instructions from the site.

firefly580

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 14/07/2017 22:01

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Sad to see a well loved site so changed for the worse

In the past we have spent 10 days + on this site usually on the front Loire facing pitches. However a few years away and what a disappointing return. We decided to book one night as a stopover to see if the reviews were true and must say that as a whole the site standard is very poor. We checked in and were told which pitch to use but all the pitch numbers have been removed and we ended going up the wrong site road to be confronted with a dead end filled with mobile homes. After finally turning the caravan around we eventually located the correct pitch but as we were only there one night it seems an odd choice of pitch to place us on when there were others more accessible. The pitches themselves were mostly untidy with the grass uncut and in our particular pitch a large tree stump just visible above the long grass but potentially could have caused damage to the van if not seen when reversing. We had a wander down to the front pitches where you were able to pitch and look out over the river with an uninterrupted view, for which you pay a premium, to find that where there was just a bench on the grass terrace below you is now a placement of "glamping" tents! Hardly the peaceful situation where all could take a seat and admire what I have always considered to be one of the prettiest outlooks one could find on a site anywhere. Admittedly the shower blocks have been revamped but I am unable to comment on the pool which we did not use but which looked the same as our last visit. We visited in the middle of June and whilst I remember it as a peaceful pleasant site with a good scattering of people around at this time of year on previous visits this time it seemed to be very empty & devoid of any holiday atmosphere. I sincerely hope that Huttopia can restore the sense of peace & tranquility and the high standards of before on this site but have a feeling that we will not look to return in the near future

SallyD

Caravanner from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 12/07/2017 20:10

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing Site

The site has changed its name, but all direction signs still refer to Le Chantepie. We visited when it was hot and dry so the unmade roads were very dusty ( and when it rains will be very muddy) so car and van were covered in dust. There is no restriction on vehicle access so cars were coming back on site well after midnight to the numerous statics. On the plus side the showers etc appear to have been refurbished and the pool area was clean. The pitches were as mentioned in previous reviews, but a downside was that the newly installed electrical points did not work and had to use 50m of cable to reach a point. Despite reporting to reception it took 5 days for the supply to be connected. Although not affecting us they obviously accepted a booking of a coach load of students for one night and because of the heat they of course were keen to use the pool facilities. We have visited many sites in France and this is in need of some attention. It was only on arrival that we were informed that there was no wi-fi anywhere on site. The staff we saw were all very pleasant.

bigglesmorton

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 30/06/2017 20:04

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer